World Quilt Show, Part 4 – more machine work

Last entry I had some trouble with slow downloading of pictures and couldn’t show many of the mostly machine made quilts that I like from the show.  I’m going to try again and we’ll see how it goes.

First are 2 pieces by Maya Chaimowvich from Israel.  These are very well done art quilts, interesting looked at from a distance and close-up.  The first is called “Bud” and the second one “To Be Free.”  ‘Bud” is her 7 y.o. granddaughter’s name and a symbol, of course, and won the award for best quilt from Israel.  The yellow quilt refers to yellow balloons that were released to remember a young soldier who had been captured, in hopes of his freedom.

Wqsmayafull
Wqsmayaclose
Wqsmayayellowfull
Wqsmaya2yellowclose

Next is Judy Leslie’s quilt, “Winds of Time” which won the award for best quilt from Canada.  Beautiful work!!

Wqslesliefull
Wqsleslieclose1
Wqsleslieclose2

Still having some computer issues – it just took me 50 minutes to get those 7 pictures into this post so something isn’t right!

I still have several quilts from this show that I plan to share, but they will have to wait for another post.  I hope you’ll return to have a look!

Meanwhile, I’m busy hand quilting “Feathers, Flowers, and Leaves” so it will be ready for the annual Cocheco Quilters Guild show the second weekend in October.  The border is a little more than half done and I still have the background quilting in one of the 9 blocks to do plus the binding and a hanging sleeve to add.  The borders always take longer than you think!  

In addition, I am trying to complete a quilt for our guild’s annual challenge.  This year it was to make a quilted item inspired by a poem.  I can’t show it until after the challenge night at the quild which is the second Tuesday in October.  That’s because the identity of the makers is hidden and there is voting by member for their favorites in different categories.  I’ll share the quilt and poem after that night.  I think I’ll be able to finish, but now that I’m back to work full time, it could be tough!

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

