Quilt Retreat and Progress on “Palm Leaf” project

Greetings!

I am now enjoying the last remaining hours of a 5 day break from work for the Thanksgiving holiday. Both children, the grandchildren and my daughter’s partner and his daughter were able to be with us and a good time was had by all.  Guests stayed overnight for 2 nights so once everyone was finally gone Friday afternoon, I spent the rest of this weekend working on making Christmas gifts.  I show the results in a future blog post.

I also spent some time making more of the “palm leaf” blocks for the new quilt.  Here’s a picture of the blocks on my design wall:

25

This is not the finished size yet.  I’m pretty sure there will be at least 2 more rows on the bottom, horizontally.It may be as wide as I want it now; again, not certain yet.  There are other design challenges awaiting as well.  I will have to decide if I am going to put half palm leaf blocks along the sides in those emply triangular spaces and I have to decide what to fill in those spaces on the top and bottom as well.  After that I have to decide what to do for a border.  I love these challenges; these are where I get to be creative.

Here are a couple of pictures showing my “process.”  I cut 2 1/2 inch wide strips of varying lengths to fit the paper “temple” and then paper piece the blocks.  Each block has 2 sections that must be sewn together down the middle at the end.  I chain piece several blocks at once.  When I’m cutting out the strips I put all the pieces, including the paper pattern, for a block in a plastic baggie to keep things in order.

Plmlf_piecing_process1
Plmlf_piecing2

As briefly mentioned in my previous post, I was very fortunate to be able to go on a quilt retreat in Kennebunkport, ME with a wonderful group of fellow quilters earlier this month.  Here are some pictures from that retreat.

A couple of shots of the large room we had in which to work:

 

Quiltretreat_room1
Quiltretreat_room2

That’s my spot right in front in the second picture.

Retreat_pat_bloomin_9patch

Pat worked on her Blooming Nine Patch – it’s going to be gorgeous!

Retreat_lindas_kaleidoscope

Linda worked on her “kaleidoscope” quilt which is stunning!

Retreat_kathys_bag

Several folks worked on bags; the above was made by Kathy who is a whiz at making beautiful bags!

Retreat_jeans_sampler

Jean was working on a civil war sampler.

Retreat_sallys_turq

Sally worked on a bed size quilt in lovely turquoise colors.

Retreat_nancys_placematns

Nancy worked on several placemats that she eventually donated to her church’s holiday craft sale.

Unfortunately I missed getting pictures of some wonderful quilts made by other women on the retreat.  A great time was had by all – what a great way to socialize and spend time with friends!

I’ll close this post with a picture of family from Thanksgiving day.  It includes my son Michael, visiting from NYC, my daughter and 2 grandchildren, my husband, and Abigail who is my daughter’s partner’s daughter.  Jeff, my daughter’s partner was with us but not there for the picture.  I am truly grateful we were all together for a wonderful day!

Family_at_thanksgiving_12

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

