July 1, 2013: Best Hand Quilting Award!!

Greetings!

Great news!  I won a blue ribbon and the award for Best Hand Quilting at the Vermont Quilt Festival this past weekend for my quilt “Feathering My Nest (The Right Way!).” Here’s a picture of me with the quilt:

Image

And a close up of the ribbons!

Image

 

 I’m very pleased with this award because it helps to validate all my uncountable hours of hard work on this quilt, but I would have been fine without it, too.   While cleaning out my sewing room recently, I came across a notebook with a list of “10 Commandments for Quilting” that I had compiled in preparation for a presentation, but ended up not using in the end.  In a future blog I’ll share these, but one of them is to quilt for your own pleasure, for the sheer love of it, (particularly if quilting is not a business for you) and don’t make quilts just to please judges.  Every project I work on is something I make because I love the process and I hope that the aesthetics of the final object match my artistic vision.  Awards are nice, but they are just “icing on the cake” and not something I specifically work for.

Attending the Festival was very enjoyable!  The Best of Show this year was a very nice and technically superb quilt with outstanding long arm quilting on it, however, unlike last year, the BOS was not my favorite quilt in the show.  Here’s the BOS by Margaret Solomon Gunn:

Image

And here’s a close-up showing some of the amazing quilting:

Image

However, MY award for Best of Show would have gone to Megan Farkas for Sakura II:Picnic at Narubo.  This quilt is totally amazing and all hand done.  She won the award for best applique and her ribbon for “exceptional merit” indicates she almost won best of show.  Megan made a similar quilt a couple of years ago which is also amazing but this one has even more detail in it.  I don’t know if she teaches any classes, but I’d love to know her process for the design and applique.  Here’s the full quilt (you can’t see the hand quilted black border very well because of the black backdrop curtains) followed by several close -ups:

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

I really enjoyed some of the geometric quilts that used color to great effect.  A quilter I have noticed over the past few years is Ann Feitelson.  She does wonderful things with color and shape.  She gets lots of fabric from used plaid and striped shirts and overdyes them with color.  The effect, put together with her artistic eye, is wonderful.  Here is here quilt “Basket Weave II: See Saw”, in full, followed by a close-up.  I’d like to challenge myself to make something like this!!!

Image

Image

 

Another quilter on my radar screen the past couple years is Timna Tarr.  She also has a wonderful way with color.  Her previous quilts have often featured circles, but this one, which won the award for best pieced quilt, uses the maple leaf shape and is called “Mass Maples.”  It’s gorgeous!  Here is a full view and a couple of close-ups:
Image

Image

Image

 

Another one of my favorites from the show was another “Bee” quilt by Hope Johnson.  She has made at least 2, and maybe 3 or 4 other quilts in the past featuring bees and hexagons.  They are always in shades of blue and gold and always so much fun to look at!!  Here is a full view of her most recent one with several close -ups:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

I have a few more quilts from the show to share, but will save those for another posting.  Before ending this one, however, I want to share a picture of the Bed and Breakfast that Al and I stayed in during our couple days in Burlington.  It is the Willard Street Inn and I highly recommend it if you are planning to spend any time in Burlington, VT or surrounding area.  It is a fabulous place.   There is incredible attention to detail and everything is done perfectly.  There is a beautiful flower garden in the back and you can see Lake Champlain from many of the rooms.

Image

Image

 

Thanks for stopping by!!!

 

Leave a Reply

