August 12, 2013: First place blue ribbon at Lowell “Images” quilt show!

Greetings!

I was pleased to win a first place blue ribbon in the “bed size, mixed techniques” category at the “Images” show at the Lowell Quilt Festival last week for “Feathering My Nest”.  Of the major winners, mine was the only one that was hand quilted.

Image

 

Here are some of the winners and quilts that “caught my eye” at the show.

Image

 

This quilt, “Zen Garden” by Margaret Gunn was Best of Show.  I first saw this quilt at the Vermont Quilt Festival 2012; it’s lovely and very deserving of the award.  Her piecing and machine quilting are perfect and her color choices are wonderful!!  Here are a couple of closeups:

Image

 

Image

 

The next quilt won first place in the “pieced, wall hanging” category and is another quilt I saw at Vermont in 2012.  The machine quilting is spectacular and even though I showed pictures of it on my blog last year, I’m going to post a few again:

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Just amazing machine quilting on that quilt and the silk fabric shows it off beautifully!

The quilt that won the award for best overall workmanship was “Green Miles” by  Peggy Kragnes.  Again, the machine quilting was exquisite:

Image

 

I’m sorry I don’t have any close ups available but perhaps if you enlarge the picture you can get a sense of how lovely it is.

Another green and white quilt I liked was “Sound of the Universe” by the Monadnock Quilters Guild, part of an exhibit of “Best of Guilds Quilts”.  I’ve seen and loved this design in red and white and dream of doing one some day:

Image

 

Rosemary Braun is well known for her Boston Red Sox quilts and she contributed a moving quilt about the marathon bombing this year:

Image

 

Image

 

The Best of Show winner, Margaret Gunn had another perfectly pieced and machine quilted quilt in the show in the small wall quilt category:

Image

 

Image

 

No wonder Margaret is getting a lot of national coverage for her work this year!!

There wasn’t a lot of hand quilting in the show, but I loved the special exhibit of Wendy Caton Reed’s quilts.  She is a beautiful hand quilter and I really like her style of quilting and the fabrics and colors she chooses.  I couldn’t get very many good pictures of her quilts because the lighting in the auditorium wasn’t great where her quilts were exhibited and we were not supposed to use flash for pictures.  The large one I’m showing features use of cheddar color which I really like; Wendy favors the Pennsylvania Dutch colors and reproduction fabrics.  The first one is called “The Grapes of Bath” – Wendy is from Bath, ME.  The second one is Happy Hexagons:

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Another hand quilted quilt I enjoyed was “Dreamweaver” by Suzanne Knapp.  She is a volunteer for the show and had 2 quilts in it as a volunteer, not as part of the competition:

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Nice flow to that curved quilting and it complements the piecing nicely!

The Lowell Festival is nice in that, besides the “Images” juried show, there is the exhibit at the New England Quilt Museum and art quilts at the Brush Gallery and the Whistler Gallery.  I went back to the museum and took pictures of my favorite quilts in the “Slice of Cheddar” exhibit, however, I’m not allowed to share the pictures on my blog without permission and I don’t plan to try to get it.   I’ll have the pictures as inspiration and encourage folks to go see the exhibit!  I do plan to show some of the art quilts from the other venues in another post and perhaps a few more from “Images”, however, I will be going to the “World Quilt Show” in Manchester this Thursday and will have lots of quilts to show from that.  This Mancuso run show has been one of my favorites for several years and I’m really, really looking forward to going!!

As for my own work, let’s just say that “I have my work cut out for me” in the truest sense of those words!!  I have the upper and lower borders of the “Spring Sonata” quilt to complete.  I sewed 7 crossing stems on each.  Then I cut out 64 leaves and 56 berries and basted them on those borders.  Now I have to applique all of these on by hand and it will take a while as my summer work schedule comes to a close and I get back to full time work.  I’ll show a picture on the next post!

Thanks for stopping by!!

 

Leave a Reply

