August 19,2013: World Quilt Show Pictures (Part 1)Here

Greetings!

Today I will show some quilts that I liked from the “World Quilt Show” I attended last week.  The first one is an example of what I talked about on my post yesterday – a traditional quilt that is original and fine enough – in both design and workmanship – to be called “art” – at least in my opinion!  It is “Redbud Ramble” by Linda Roy.  Linda, even though I have never met her, is one of my quilting idols.  She does incredible hand work and, even though her quilts are clearly “traditional”, her work is always original and beautiful.  She never merely copies a traditional pattern.  She uses traditional designs to create her own entirely unique creations.  This quilt won the award for “best traditional quilt”; I’ve included a couple of closeups so you can see the quilting, but I don’t include more here because I showed this quilt on my blog a year ago when it won Best of Show at the Lowell Festival.  (You can go back to one of my posts from August 2012 to see it if you wish.):

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

The next group of quilts are from the Japanese portion of the exhibit.  I adore most Japanese quilts and am in awe of their design skills.  The first one is called “When the Sunset Crowns Mt. Fuji in my Fascinating Dream” by Mihoko Tanaka.  Image seeing this at the entrance to one of the two rooms in which quilts were displayed at the show!

Image

 

Here’s a closeup of the mountain – amazing how she crinkled the fabric to create interesting texture!:

Image

 

Next is “My Favorite Flower is the Lily” by Kazue Tsukayama:

Image

 

She created interest by not having the bottom border straight.  Here’s a closeup of the wonderful hand work:

Image

 

Next is “My Favorite Town, New York” by Natsami Ohara:

Image

 

And some close ups:

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

What fun to see King Kong and Spiderman and what a great idea to use some “New York Beauty” blocks in the corners.

Next is “Let’s Go Party!” by Keiko Ike.  This quilt won “Best of Country” as the best quilt from Japan:

Image

 

And a couple of closeups:

Image

 

Image

 

Interesting edge treatment in the photo above.  I really liked the unique graphic nature of this quilt.  This same quiltmaker had a second quilt in the show which was also an award winner.  This one is called “Evolution” and won second place in the “Innovative” category:

Image

 

Closeups:

Image

 

Image

 

I love trees and love to see them in portrayed artistically in any medium.  There’s a long history of trees being portrayed in numerous ways on quilts.  Here’s an excellent one from the show.  It’s called “In Russet Mantle Clad” by Catherine Miller:

Image

 

And a closeup of some of the thread work:

Image

 

Here is one of my favorite traditional quilts at the show, even though this one is all machine done.  It’s called “On Green Pond” by Judith Wilson of the UK and I just love the birds on the borders – these are so beautifully done!  She won an honorable mention award.

Image

 

Closeups:

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Next is a highly original and unique quilt by Pam Bowles of the UK, called “Flying By the Moon.”  This won “Best of Country” award for the UK.  It is made of silks and shiny fabrics and it was hard to fully capture to shininess of the material, but I think I did a decent job.  It’s also hard to capture a really good likeness for fabrics in black.  This is certainly an art quilt and a wonderful one!:

Image

 

Image

 

The texture of the waves and the shape of the birds are captured by her quilting thread work – there’s no applique.  I believe the colors were painted on.  More closeups:

Image

 

Image

 

The next quilt was the winner of the Best Hand Workmanship award in the “Innovative” category.  It’s by Marlene Shea of the USA and is called “Sunflower Serenade.”:

Image

 

A closer look at some of the hand work:

Image

 

Image

 

The next quilt was the winner of “Best of Country” for the USA.  It’s by Meri Henriquis Vahl and is called ” The Basket Makers of Axoum, Ethiopia.”  This is an example of a fabulous pictorial quilt with lots of amazing detail.  What great use of the Guatemalan fabrics for the baskets!

Image

 

Some closeups:

Image

 

Image

 

Nice border detail, above!

Image

 

I’m going to stop here for today and will continue with some more pictures in another post.

Thanks for stopping by!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

