September 1, 2013: 1. Updates and thoughts 2. Vermont Quilt Festival Antique Quilt Pidtures

Greetings!

After 12 straight days of working at Health Services (I work one weekend a month during the academic year and started this year with the first one!), I decided to gift myself a very quiet 3-day Labor Day weekend at home – no parties, no grandkids, no travel.  I realized a long time ago that I am a person who periodically needs some solitude and quiet for rest and rejuvenation and I needed this!  I’ve spent the last 2 days reading and working on my quilt projects.  I finally finished Charles Dickens’ “Little Dorrit” – 844 pages!!!  I think I’ve been reading it for a month and have loved it.  I’ve now read 5 of the major Dickens’ novels – not sure how many more I’ll get to, but have thoroughly enjoyed them.  As for my quilt projects, I finished quilting and put the binding on the first of the newest doll quilts; now this year’s “Trio of Doll Quilts #2 ” is complete and ready for the Cocheco show which is only  weeks away!  Here are the 3 quilts, each fully complete except for a label:

“Charmed Circles” (since it is a charm quilt):

Image

“Four Patch”:

Image

 

“Hexagon Fun” (I still can’t get a proper picture – the true colors are darker and richer than show up in the picture; come to the Cocheco show to see it!):

Image

 

The “Trio” all together:

Image

 

I have also been working on paper piecing the “fans” for Spirit of Japan #3 whenever I have a few free moments and feel like using the sewing machine.  Here’s an idea of how they look so far (of course, without the inner circle, the sashing, and the backgrounds):

Image

 

It is going to be a really fun design challenge to fill these in, eventually!

I also prepared the “sleeve” for the Baltimore Album and will sew it on at this week’s meeting of my quilt group.  Tomorrow I want to prepare the binding for the Friendship Quilt so it will be ready when the quilt is returned to me and I’m going to refresh my memory re how to make and apply piping along the edge of the binding and possible get the piping ready too.  It’s been great to have these 3 days for this!

If you take a look at my last post, you will see a comment by Pam Bowles of the UK.  I showed pictures of her quilt which won a “Best of Country” award on my post of 8/19.  I thought she had painted on the surface of the quilt, but she corrected me and told me “the waves were cut from colored fabric, layered in place, and covered with black organza and quilted into place.”  Very impressive!  What a  beautiful and original piece!

On my last post, I believe I typed the web address of the World of Quilts Festival incorrectly.  It should be http://www.worldofthreadsfestival.com.  Sorry about that!  This AM I read the interview with Pilar Sans Coover.  She makes fantastical needlepoint canvases and tapestries.  She has been very influenced by Hieronymus Bosch and William Blake and her work is amazing!!  Nothing at all like the typical needlepoint one usually thinks of.  Take a look!  One comment by her resonated with me.  She mentions that she has a “preference for complexity and color” in her work.  I do too!  She also mentions the “warmth” of textiles and their “textural richness.”  These are qualities of working with textiles that differentiate it from working with paint.

Finally, I am getting around to showing some of the antique quilts that captured my attention at the Vermont Quilt Festival this year.  Enjoy!!

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

A close up;

Image

Image

 

A close-up (love the bird!!):

Image

 

 

Image

 

Another close up of a bird!:

Image

 

Thanks for stopping by!!

Leave a Reply

