October 27, 2013: Delicious Autumn!

Greetings!

My title for this post comes from a quote from one of my favorite authors, George Eliot.  “Delicious autumn!  My very soul is wedded to it and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.”

I love warm autumn colors; they have inspired many of the quilts I’ve made and I’ve decided to show some of them in this post.  I hope you will savor the colors as much as I do.

First, here are a few pictures of some of the glorious autumn colors around my home recently:

Autumn#1

 

Autumn#2

 

Autumn #3

 

Autumn#4

 

And here are some of my “autumn” quilts.  I’ll start with some shots of “Keeping Autumn With Me” which I completed in 2003.  It won a prize at the American Quilters’ Society show when there was only one show a year and it was chosen to be on the cover of Quilters Newsletter in 2004.  Here are a few close ups:

1027#1KAWM

 

1027#2KAWM

 

1027#3KAWM

 

1027#4KAWMcorner

 

The above is one of the corner blocks.   You can go to my web site for a picture of the whole quilt and more closeups.  I’m showing the corner block because the next picture will show I used that block design and the border to design tiles for the fireplace in the room where the quilt hangs.

1027#5 FP corner

 

1027#6 FP full

 

The quilt is on the wall facing the fireplace in my dining room.  A shot of the quilt in it’s place on the wall is on the main page of my web site.

Here are more autumn themed quilts.  This next one is “Autumn Returns”, made with many of the fabrics left over from “Keeping Autumn With Me.”  This won Best of Show at the 2008 Vermont Quilt Festival.  Both quilts are, of course, hand quilted and hand appliqued.

1027#7AR

 

1027#8AR

 

Next is a quilt challenge and is called “Late Bloomers.”

1027#9LB

 

1027#10LB

 

This was a quilt I made in a class on how to make a feathered star:

1027#11FS

 

This is a large bed quilt which I made so that I would have a quilt large enough to cover our king sized bed and be able to display “Autumn Returns” on top of it.  This is one of the few quilts I’ve had machine quilted (beautifully by Sue Foster).  It has a wool batting and is nice and warm in the winter!!

1027#12ABQ

 

1027#13ABQ

 

And finally, this is another guild challenge several years ago.  We were given 4 different fabrics and a small size constraint.

1027#14Tree

 

You can click on any of the pictures to look close up.

I hope you have enjoyed my show of autumn colors!  By now at least half the trees are bare and probably by my next post most will be gone.  A different, more stark beauty, will be visible.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

