May 6, 2014: Quick Updates and 30 years at UNH!

Greetings!

I was recognized today for 30 years of service to UNH at their annual recognition award program:

5514 Staff Recognition Award

When I started as a staff physician at UNH Health Services 30 years ago, it was because the work hours allowed me to spend more time with my then 1 and 4  year old children than any other job I could find.  I knew I would regret it if I wasn’t around a lot for their growing up because I knew it would go fast.   My training was in Internal Medicine and I wasn’t sure this would be a job I would be doing long term.   However, taking this job has turned out to be a wonderful decision for me.  I quickly realized I loved working with adolescents and young adults, which are the bulk of my patients at a college health service.  Over the years I have been privileged to hear intimate details of the lives of tens of thousands of patients.  Anyone who thinks students are all “healthy” and don’t need “health care” doesn’t have a clue.  I have diagnosed serious medical problems such as cancer, diabetes, meningitis, acute appendicitis, and pulmonary emboli and I regularly see students for depression, anxiety, eating disorders, and other mental health concerns.  Sexually transmitted infections are a big problem as are concussions, numerous injuries, substance abuse, and other issues too numerous to mention.  It has been amazingly challenging and rewarding!

Then 19 years ago I became the Medical Director of the health service and along with that came many, many more challenges in terms of “management” for which I had no training and had to learn on the job.  Luckily I am part of a fabulous leadership team the other members of which have been my mentors over the years.  I have learned how to handle all kinds of people problems, conflict in the workplace, etc.  All of this has enriched my life tremendously.  It has all gone so fast.  I am looking at possibly retiring in 1-2 years.  I don’t think I’m going to make it to the 35 year award ceremony!

So….with all the pressures I have at work on a daily basis, is it any wonder that quilting provides me with a wonderful way to relax during my time away from work?   Here’s what I’m working on:

I am working on block #61 of the 98 blocks in the center of Spring Sonata – more than half way through the center!

5514 In the Hoop

Here is a picture of the vinca minor in my garden which was one of the things that inspired the colors in this quilt:

5514 Vinca Minor

Here is the applique block for the quilt with the bird border.  There will eventually be 4 fabric birds and some berries; the 2 birds patterns I have cut out are just laid on to show you where the birds are going to be:

5514 Applique block

That’s all I’ve had time for since the last post.

What I’m reading:  Just finished “The Autistic Brain” by Temple Grandin because one of my goals for work this year was to learn more about autism; we are seeing more students with autism spectrum disorders.  This is an excellent book for anyone wanting to know more about some of the latest science on autism and written so the lay person can easily understand it.  Also reading the recent Pulitzer prize winner for nonfiction, “Tom’s River” about the chemical pollution of the Tom’s River in NJ and the medical consequences and how the problems evolved and were discovered.  Fascinating and well written; highly recommended!

Am loving the new green on the trees the past few days – another inspiration for the green colors in Spring Sonata.  Take time to enjoy spring!

Thanks for visiting!

2 thoughts on “May 6, 2014: Quick Updates and 30 years at UNH!

  1. Marie Tymrak

    Thanks for your inspiration both with nature and quilts and healthcare. I am way opposite of the east coast weather and flora in the Sonoran Desert, but quite in agreement about the necessity of a comprehensive medical service for the college community.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thanks for your nice comments and encouragement! Good healthcare is important at any age and that includes adolescents and young adults who have their share of issues. My working life has been dedicated to providing that care. My quilting life is a great avocation, allowing me to explore my “artistically creative” tendencies. Thanks again!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

