August 24, 2014: Summer accomplishments (re quilting); World Quilt Show, Part 2

Greetings!

Yesterday I finished the Amish doll quilt.  This means this year’s “Trio of Doll Quilts” is complete.  This “trio,” along with the Challenge quilt, are my only entries in the Cocheco Quilt Guild annual show this year. This means I can return to work this week, properly focus on medicine, and not be worried about needing to complete any quilts for the show.  I can now return to quilting Spring Sonata at a leisurely pace!  Could I have completed the quilting in the next 7 1/2 weeks before the show?  Maybe, but it would have been tight and stressful; I’m so glad I focused on finishing the smaller projects and am taking my time on the larger quilt.

So, for the Amish Roman stripes quilt, I decided to quilt a simple cable design in the borders.  My “go to” book for many hand quilting designs is:

814 adq#1

This book is wonderful and I easily refreshed my memory on how to make cables by looking at the following pages:

814 adq#2

In clear language Gwen and Joe tell you how to make the basic “football” shape and then what to do with it to create the cable design.  I made my design out of freezer paper and then ironed the template onto the fabric and traced around it with my Bohin marker:

814 adq#4

 

 

 

Here’s the final result” (click for enlargement):

814 adq#5

 

Here is a closer view:

814 adq#6

 

And here is how the back looks:

814 adq#7

 

I still need to add labels to all the doll quilts but that can be done just before the show.

Here’s what my design wall looks like right now.  It has the 3 completed doll quilts on it in addition to the 2 applique blocks I’ve worked on over the summer, 5 more blocks of Sveta’s quilt, and “Joyful Noise.”  It’s a good representation of what I’ve done over the summer, minus the Challenge quilt which I spent about 6 weeks on, and the hand quilting I completed on Spring Sonata until about early July when I set it aside:

814 DesignWall#1

Here’s a closer view of the applique blocks for what I have been referring to as the “bird Baltimore album style” quilt up until now:

814 DWapplique#1

From now on I will be calling this quilt “Sweet Journeys.”  This is the name of a song I am working on for the accordian and I think making each of the quilt blocks for this quilt is a “sweet journey” so the title is apt.  Last post I showed a drawing for the third block but it was very light; I have darkened it and here it is again:

814 DWapplique#2

I didn’t darken the flowers at the inner corners since I’m not sure I won’t change these.  When darkening the lines I noticed that only one leaf fits in the inner right stem of leaves because of the bird tail – it leaves the design with a bit of asymmetry but I’m OK with that.  Next step is to make templates and choose fabrics for the pieces.

Here’s a closer look at the latest of the blocks for Sveta’s quilt.  The sateen fabric is beautiful and I’m not sure the photos capture this:

814 Sveta quilt

I need 30 blocks; 15 are complete and another 10 are made, as above, but without the machine stitching around the leaves.  I think I should be on track to finish this as a Christmas gift.  I’ve already made arrangements for the long-arm quilting in November.

I’m almost up to 25 blocks for “Joyful Noise”:

814 Joyful Noise

 

 

Because I am using a nearly solid red for the background (it has some “linen-like” texture) the overall effect lacks the variety of texture that is in the similar design in Spring Sonata but each of the blocks in this quilt has an entirely different fabric in the palm leaves and there are no repeats; in spring sonata, fabric is repeated a handful of times throughout.  This change in fabric with each block keeps up one’s interest and , I think, makes up for using the same background.  The fabrics in this quilt are unusual and not seen often.  My initial thought was to make 25 blocks and then stop and study these for a while to see what I want to do next from a design perspective.  Do I just want to continue adding similar blocks and make a quilt much like Spring Sonata and add an original applique border, do I want to use the 25 blocks as a medallion center, or do I want to do something else I haven’t even thought of yet?

I have been reading about asymmetry in art and how it challenges both the artist and viewer and can be a really good thing because of that.  On the other hand, designing within a confined structure, e.g. a grid, can be calming and satisfying in a different way.  Perhaps, on an emotional level, at this moment in my life, I need to create using symmetry and stay within my comfort zone.  Or maybe not!!!   We’ll see where “Joyful Noise” leads me.

Here are some more quilts from the recent World Quilt Festival:

This quilt was one of my favorites.  The pictures don’t really do it justice.  The colors were vibrant and the design very interesting; use of color was fabulous:

814 wqs Skyline#1

814 wqs Skyline#2

814 wqs Skyline#3

814 wqs Skyline#4

814 wqs Skyline#5

I loved the use of color and fabric in this next quilt and the fact that it was hand pieced:

814 wqs Garden#1

814 wqs Garden#2

814 wqs Garden#3

814 wqs Gardent#4

814 wqs Garden#5

 

The next quilt was my favorite of the big winners.  Denise Havlan has won many awards at many big shows and is a master of design and use of thread.  She is particularly good at portraits:

814 wqs Peace#1

814 wqs Peace#2

814 wqs Peace#3

814 wqs Peace#4

814 wqs Peace#5

The next quilt, by Linda Roy, winner of best traditional quilt, is amazing in its construction and craftsmanship.  Normally I love her work, however, the design and color choices of this piece, didn’t connect with me.  Nevertheless, the details are wonderful:

814 wqs Jacobean#1

814 wqs Jacobean#2

814 wqs Jacobean#3

814 wqs Jacoben#4

814 wqs Jacobean#5

 

Here is the Best of Show.  This was another quilt that was constructed wonderfully, but didn’t “move” me like I would like a Best of Show to move me!!  Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that it is a painted whole-cloth quilt; this means no challenging piecing or applique is involved.

814 wqs BOS#1

814 wqs BOS#2

814 wqs BOS#3

814 wqs BOS#4

I loved the graphic nature of this next quilt by Ann Long and how the quilting transforms the surface:

814 wqs Dunes#1

814 wqs Dunes#2

814 wqs Dunes#3

814 wqs Dunes#4

The next one is a beautifully hand appliqued quilt by Anne Yeo:

814 wqs Applique#1

814 wqs Applique#2

814 wqs Applique#3

814 wqs Applique#4

814 wqs Applique#5

Please click on the photos to enlarge them and enjoy the details.  I have several more pictures from the show to share in future posts and I still have more pictures from the trip to France to share, when I get a chance!

Thank you for visiting and I love hearing from you.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “August 24, 2014: Summer accomplishments (re quilting); World Quilt Show, Part 2

  1. Marie Tymrak

    Thanks for sharing your enthusiasm for Denise Havlan’s “The Peaceful Ones”. I cannot see all of the accompanying text, but the women are probably of the Hopi tribe, in northern Arizona. Their own pueblo culture includes the well known kachina doll carvings. Many women of this community are themselves fine quilters. What a treat to see this lovely quilt so clearly respected, on your blog.

    Marie Tymrak, Phoenix, AZ

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you for commenting. I visited the Hopi villages several years ago and found them – the people, the culture, the artwork – fascinating. This quilt is spectacular! Gladi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

