December 30, 2014: Looking back; looking ahead

Greetings!  There is little more than a day left of 2014.  I have worked in an organization for the past 30 years for which annual performance evaluations are required.  This includes setting new goals for the upcoming year and looking back to see if goals set for the previous year were accomplished.  There is merit to doing this.  This carries over into my personal life and I do believe that this is a great time of year to look back and reflect on the year that has just passed and to look ahead to what I’d like the coming year to be.

In order help with this, I went back to my blog post at the end of last year to see what my quilting goals were.  I’m happy to say that I accomplished several of them!  I completed my “Challenge” quilt and made the third “Trio of Doll Quilts.”  I completed the top of “Spirit of Japan #3: The Wheel” and it is basted and ready for quilting.  I made Sveta’s quilt and completed it just in time for Christmas!  She loves it!!!:

123014 SgettingQ

I made great progress quilting Spring Sonata, but did not meet my goal of finishing in time for the Cocheco show in October.  I did not try trapunto, not did I hand piece a sunflower block.  Instead of these things, I was flexible enough to take the time to start 2 new projects (not anticipated a year ago) when inspiration hit.  I have 40 blocks so far for “Joyful Noise.”  A year ago I listed using the fabrics I am currently using in this quilt as a future goal, but didn’t think it would be this year.  I also mentioned using 2 special fabrics I’ve had for a long time as another project I would like to do but wasn’t sure it would be this year.  I was, however, inspired to start “Sweet Journeys” with these special fabrics and I now am starting the 4th of 12 blocks for this classic applique quilt with the added challenge to myself of drafting my own blocks.

Here is block # 3, finally with the bird appliqued in the middle:

123014 SJ block#3done!

And here is the pattern and the first pieces basted for the 4th block:

123014 SW block#4

123014 SW block#4 real (not just pattern)

 

In my non-quilting life, I was recognized for 30 years of work as a physician and medical director of University of New Hampshire Health Services.  Al and I had a fabulous trip to France and we also traveled to Pennsylvania to visit relatives and old friends.  I spent a lot of time with my grandchildren and taught them how to sew!  I read a lot of great books, I played my accordian pretty regularly, and I continued to blog – 2 1/2 years of blogging so far!  I enjoyed participating in my quilt guild and DLM quilt group meetings.  I cherish continued long time friendships and social gatherings and activities with them.

In the coming year, I see no need to veer from the same “guiding principles” that I mentioned last year – serve, enjoy, create, preserve.  Serving means giving to others and making sure it’s not all about me; this needs to be my daily mantra.  My work as a physician is a perfect way to achieve this.  In June I will have practiced medicine for 40 years!  I am pretty sure I am going to retire one year from now.  I want to be mindful and cherish each day of this last year of my working life.  “Enjoy” means to maintain a sense of wonder and awe for the beauty and the mystery of all aspects of life.  “Create” means to be creative in all aspects of my life, including my quilting.  Try new things, think “outside the box,” be open to new experiences.  And “preserve” means to do my part to preserve the planet and to preserve the best and most worthy traditions from the past.

So what are my quilting goals for the coming year?  My new goal for Spring Sonata is to complete the quilting in time for it to be exhibited at the Vermont Quilt Festival in late June.  I will then hand quilt Spirit of Japan – I don’t think I will know if this can be done for the October Cocheco show until some time this summer.  I will do a fourth Trio of Doll Quilts.   I would like to complete the “Joyful Noise” top – at least the center.  I am not yet sure if I am going to do an elaborate time consuming border or not.  I would like to complete several more blocks for Sweet Journeys – I’m now starting #4 of 12.  I would like to retain the flexibility to start a  new project or two if the inspiration is strong.  I am a “finisher” with very few unfinished projects lying in the closet so I feel comfortable allowing myself to start something new now and then, even as I work to finish other projects.  I have an idea in mind for another in my Spirit of Japan series, I still have a basket of Dutch Chintz fabrics whispering to me to make something with them, and I would love to make an all silk quilt, having seen several beautiful ones at shows this past year.

Here are some “non-quilting” pictures for family and friends;

My daughter Ingrid playing Christmas carols:

123014 I playing carols

 

My grandson Dmitri reading “The Fellowship of the Ring”, the first book of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, one of his Christmas presents, at age 10 – he is an advanced reader!!

123014 D reading

Dmitri playing viola with our good friend Craig on violin:

123014 D and C playing music

 

One final note:  I just completed my 7th set of place mats for Christmas gifts!  Although I am glad to have done these, they took up an entire month of my sewing time and I am so done with them!!!  Here is the last group, reversible:

123014 7th set of PMs! fronts

 

123014 PM's other side

These are Australian aboriginal fabrics.  The recipients have been to Australia and the place holds a special place in their hearts so I think they will like these!

Many thanks to you for reading my blog!  Another goal for the coming year is to continue to find interesting things to write about and share.  If you have any suggestions for how I can do better, please let me know – I’m open to feedback.  Here’s wishing everyone a healthy, creative, and soul-satisfying year in 2015!

4 thoughts on “December 30, 2014: Looking back; looking ahead

  1. Marie Tymrak

    Thanks for sharing which quilt shows in which you plan to participate. I hope to visit a non-quilting friend in Vermont, this summer. It will be fun to visit a local show and perhaps see one of your entries, in person! Also, thanks for explaining what the term “preserve” means to you…..I especially appreciate everyone who helps preserve the planet!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thanks for commenting! I hope you get to the Vermont Quilt Festival as it is always an excellent show! Gladi

      Reply
  2. gladiporsche Post author

    I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks for reading. Wishing you a great new year as well! Gladi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

