June 20, 2015: Quilting updates; more vacation pics; 3 years of blogging!!

Greetings!  This month marks the 3rd anniversary of my blog.  I’m averaging almost one post per week which I think is quite an accomplishment considering that I had no idea whether I would like doing this or would continue for any length of time after I started.  My readership is  small but I can see that it has doubled in the past year or so.  I like doing the blog mostly as a way to think about, organize, and express my thoughts about the creative process, making quilts, and occasionally about other things, such as interesting literature or music.  I like to throw in occasional family or vacation pictures.   Thanks to those who follow me – I hope you enjoy my words and pictures and I welcome any comments, including suggestions for improvement!

This past Thursday evening I presented a trunk show of 37 of my quilts for the Merrimack Valley Quilt Guild.  3 years ago I did a similar presentation at the Images quilt show which was part of the Lowell Quilt Festival but that seemed like a long time ago.  I remember being somewhat nervous for that as it was my first time doing a quilt related presentation.  This time around I actually had fun and wasn’t nervous at all.  It felt like a privilege to be able to share my quilts and my quilting journey.  The guild had a great turnout for me and I had a lot of positive comments afterward.   I’m so happy it went well and was enjoyed.   My contact in the guild was great to work with throughout the planning process and it was fun talking with guild members while I was there.  Thank you Merrimack Valley Quilt Guild!!!!!!

The star factory is up and running again!  I missed 3 weeks while on vacation so had some catching up to do.  The type stars featured while I was gone were: 1. “Eccentric designs” which have small geometric wavy designs,  2. “Neat stripes” (as opposed to border stripes, and 3. “white ground chintz” fabrics.  (If interested in more details about the types of stars, go to Barbara Brachman’s blog, “Civil War Quilts” where she goes into great detail  each week on the history of these historic fabric patterns.)

I didn’t have a lot of fabrics with “eccentric” designs but found a few and made the following 3 stars:

62015 Eccentric star#1 62015 Eccentric star #2

62015 Eccentric star #3BETTER

I had already used “neat stripes in several blocks previously made, but took the opportunity to make one more out of a favorite stripe with “corn” in it; the points are also neat stripes:

62015 Stripe star

I only had one “authentic” white background chintz in my collection; it’s Dutch.  I had Dutch chintzes in blue and mustard as well so used the blue for the background of the white one and made another block using the mustard colored chintz:

62015 Chintz star#1 62015 Chintz star#2

This week’s star is “blotched-ground chintz.”  This means the edges of the designs in the fabric are outlined with white.  I managed to find ONE fabric in my stash that is an “authentic” blotched-ground chintz, albeit a reproduction, not an original.  Haven’t had time to make the star yet, but here’s the fabric.  If you click on it for closeup you can better see the “white” outlines on the design elements:

62015 Chintz for newest star

 

I made enough of the 4 inch stars so complete what I need for my crib size star quilt:

62015 Crib quilt stars done!

This means that from now on I will only be making the 6 inch stars in the quilt along.  For this quilt, I know I want to have the stars on point so I need to decide what to use for setting triangles – ? all the same fabric, ? different fabrics for each triangle.  I need to design an applique vine border and decide on the background fabric color for the border, then the colors for the applique design elements.  This project is a high priority for this summer.

I finished the first in doll quilt in this year’s “Trio of Doll Quilts:

62015 Dollquilt#1 done! 62015 Dollquilt close front

And the back (hand quilted, of course!):

62015 Dollquilt close back

I’ve started quilting the second doll quilt – the one with the 3 1/2 inch stars.  Will share a picture next time.  Also high on my priority list for the summer is designing and making the third doll quilt which I haven’t started yet.  I need all 3 to be done by October for our show.

Here are a few more pictures from our vacation.  All of these were taken on the drive out of the part from the Eastern Entrance/Exit of Yellowstone.  Yellowstone has 4 entrances/exits, one on each of it’s 4 sides, i.e. north, south, east, and west.  We entered from the south since we were coming up from the Grand Tetons.  We went in and out of the north entrance during the trip because we stayed a night in Montana.  We never experienced the west entrance, but we left the park by way of the east entrance since we were traveling east to get to Boulder, CO.  The drive toward the east exit is about 40 miles long and is spectacular!  Here are a few scenes:

62015 Incred scenery leaving YS 62015 Leaving YS #2

62015 Leaving YS #3 62015 Leaving YS #4

In the middle of Wyoming on the way to Boulder we drove through the spectacular Wind River Canyon:

62015 WindRiverCanyondrive

Next I would like to share with you my pictures from the Gwen Marston exhibit at the Rocky Mountain Quilt Museum in Golden, CO.  These are some of her improvisational quilts.  I love that they are hand quilted.  The hand quilting adds a lot and is something that I hadn’t appreciated before about these quilts (click for enlargements and a closer look):

62015 GwenM exhibit#1 62015 GM#2 62015 GM#3 62015 GM#4

62015 GM#5 62015 GM#6 62015 GM#7 62015 GM#8

 

62015 GM#9 62015 GM#10 62015 GM#11 62015 GM#12

62015 GM#13 62015 GM#14

Seeing Gwen’s quilts makes my want to try making something in this style – maybe I’ll have more time for experimenting when I’m retired.

That’s all for today!  I’ll be back soon with more vacation pictures and pictures from the Vermont Quilt Festival which I’ll be attending 6 days from now along with more thoughts about quilts and the quiltmaking process.

Thanks for visiting and I’d love to hear from you!  Cherish each day and be grateful.  Gladi

11 thoughts on “June 20, 2015: Quilting updates; more vacation pics; 3 years of blogging!!

  1. Marie Tymrak

    The close ups of Gwen Marston’s quilts are especially clear. I love seeing the hand quilting. Thanks.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      I’m happy to share them. Am definitely inspired to do something improvisational like this with solid fabrics (? would silk work) at some point. Gladi

      Reply
  2. Rose

    Yikes, it really is only 6 days away, and dropoff is tomorrow. My entry sits on the other end of the table. Love your
    Yellowstone pics. Have been several times and have yet to see the NE entrance. I’ll have to correct that next time.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      My wonderful husband is currently delivering my quilt for the show – a 2 1/2 hour drive each way (in the rain, today!)! I’m so lucky to have such a supportive partner! Gladi

      Reply
  3. Janet

    Love your blog and your quilts! Your presentation at the Images show was fabulous! I remember being in awe of your work and all you do with your busy schedule! Keep blogging, quilting and creating!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you so much! I enjoy your blog as well and congratulations on your recent win at Paducah!! Gladi

      Reply
  4. crafter1

    Don & I drove through the Wind River Canyon yesterday!!! We left home 3 weeks ago with the motorhome. Have been to Mount Rushmore, Yellowstone, are on our way to Arches National Park, then Grand Canyon, then will be heading home. We’ve stopped at a few other places along the way. Our first trip “Out West”. We’re calling it “Our Bucket List Trip”. Glad your vacation was wonderful. Marie

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Isn’t the western landscape gorgeous! We’ve been to Arches and the GC twice, along with Zion and Bryce Canyon and sections of Colorado and loved them all. This was our first time in Wyoming. Enjoy the rest of your trip and have a safe trip home. Will maybe see you next summer! Gladi

      Reply
  5. ramblingrosebud

    Thank You Gladi for the wonderful lecture at Merrimack Valley Quilters. I know I might have talked you into coming, but based on everyones comments we would highly recommend you to any Guild for a first rate, professional, and informative Lecture. YES! Your work is magnificent! Hope to hear you are planning a workshop or two soon. Enjoying both your vacation pictures AND Gwen Marston’s show, a nice find. Lyn

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you, Lyn! I totally enjoyed doing the presentation and am so happy you recruited me! You were wonderful to work with re the planning. I hope I can do more guild presentations when I retire and I appreciate your endorsement. Doing workshops is a whole different ballgame, but I’m considering it! Gladi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

