July 18, 2015: One big decision made, one more to go; More Vermont Quilt Festival antiques; star updates

Greetings!

July 1st was the 40th anniversary of my first day of work as a physician!  I graduated from medical school in June 1975 and started my internship on 7/1/75.  I can hardly believe it’s been 40 years.  After 3 years of internship and residency, training to become a primary care internist, I worked at the first HMO in Pittsburgh, PA for 5 years before taking a job at the University of New Hampshire Health Services.  After 11 years as a staff physician, I became the Medical Director and have been doing a combination of management and practicing medicine for almost 21 years.  It’s been a wonderful career.  Our major work is taking care of the UNH students and I have LOVED working with this population of mostly adolescents and young adults.  This group has their share of  health problems, including lots of mental health issues, injuries, infections, acute pain, some chronic illnesses, and much more.  Managing a clinical staff of 22 including MD’s, NP’s, RN’s, and LPN’s has sometimes been even more challenging than practicing medicine!  But it all has been tremendously satisfying.

After much careful thought, I recently handed in my letter announcing that I would retire at the end of December.  My boss made a counter offer – they will pay for my malpractice insurance ( a huge expense) if I will continue working as a staff physician (no more Medical Director duties – yay!  I’m definitely ready to give those up!) per diem for 2-3 days a week.  What to do???  Am I ready to be completely done with the practice of medicine or would this be a nice transition to full retirement within the next couple years?  I have until the end of next month to make the decision.  There are plenty of pluses and minuses on each side, which I won’t get into, but any advice is welcome.  I’ll keep you posted!  By the way, if I haven’t said this before, quilting has helped keep me sane over these past 20 years by functioning as a fabulous stress reliever!

I finished appliqueing the leaves on the second border of the crib quilt and continue to be happy with how it looks:

71815 crib quilt 71815 crib quilt#2a

This week’s star features the color “quercitron.”  This is kind of a mustardy yellowish brown, often paired with drab or olive green and brown.  I actually already made 2 stars previously that featured quercitron, but hadn’t been aware at the time.  Here they are:

71815 quercitron olderblocks

I decided to make another block with the “bird” fabric on the upper rt. picture, but chose a different area of the print to show:

71815 drab#1

Then I went through my stash and found some mustard and olive colored fabrics to use to make a couple more blocks:

71815 drab#2 71815 drab#3

The background fabric ( a Jo Morton) in the above rt. block matches the color of the mustard background in the bird block almost perfectly.

I have hand quilted over half the border of the star doll quilt and am hoping by next post I might even have the binding on and can show it completed!

Last post I showed 3 of the 6 books that I bought from Quiltmania at Vermont.  Here are the other 3:

71815 NYB book 71815 Yeo book 71815 konig book

The New York Beauty book is full of wonderful pictures of the quilts in Bill Volkening’s collection – lots of inspiration!  NYB is near the top of my list of quilts I want to make.  The Michelle Yeo book also is full of wonderful quilts and patterns that I would someday love to make.  Here’s a sample:

71815 yeo#1 71815 yeo#2 71815 yeo#3 71815 yeo#4

 

I’m going to finish this post by showing several more antique quilts from the exhibit of antique quilts at the Vermont Quilt Festival.  Again, what a great exhibit this was!  Lots of inspiration!! (Click for enlargements):

71815 antique#1 71815 antique#2 71815 antique#3 71815 antique#4

71815 antique#5 71815 antique#6 71815 antique#7 71815 antique#8

 

71815 antique#9 71815 antique#10 71815 antique#11 71815 antique#12

71815 antique#13 71815 antique#14

That’s all for today!  We have the grandkids coming to stay with us next week so am not sure how much, if any, quilting I will get done.  I recently bought a pattern for a sundress that will fit my granddaughter and am looking forward to us possibly making this together while she is here!

Cherish each day and be grateful!   Gladi

 

8 thoughts on “July 18, 2015: One big decision made, one more to go; More Vermont Quilt Festival antiques; star updates

  1. Darcie Russell

    You will never regret retirement. The freedom it allows is one of the greatest gifts I have ever recieved. Part time work at least for me is still not on my radar. I live being able to pickup and travel, go off for the day with friends and pursue my interests fulltime.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Hi Darcie. I’m glad you are enjoying your retirement! I know I will also like that freedom, but staying on for another semester or 2 or 3 working only a couple days a week might be nice too since being a doctor has been such a huge part of my identity for so many years. Not an easy decision! Thanks for commenting, Gladi

      Reply
  2. Kathy buteau

    I too worked for 35 years at a high pressure job and I have often thought that the extra 5years that I worked just 2or 3days a week allowed me a smooth transition into full retirement. My transition included not only more sewing but volunteer activities. Love being retired with all the freedom to do as I please. Good luck and enjoy whatever you choose.
    Kathy

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thanks, Kathy. There are definite pluses to not just abruptly ending my career and that may be my choice. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts! Gladi

      Reply
  3. Rose

    I still remember my first day of retirement. I woke up saying to myself: “You gotta get up! You can’t waste any time! This is YOUR time now!” Three years later, I’m still enjoying every day.

    Reply
  4. Janet Ann

    In June I finished up 15 years as a school nurse – not sure I’ll noticed my “retirement” until September 1st when the alarm clock doesn’t go off at 5:30am!! Prior to school nursing I ran a home based business for for 10 years and before that a labor and delivery nurse for ten years … for those in medicine … it just never seems leaves you! My main reason for “retiring” was to be home to care for my 90 year old mom – so there was a purpose. Find your purpose. Your life has been so structured that full retirement may not give you the structure you might require. Or it could be exactly what your craving! Try the 2-3 days (I would recommend T-W-Th! the old 3 days on 4 days off routine!) for the spring semester if you like great! Keep it up for a while! If you find it bothersome, well there is a light at the end of the tunnel – the semester ends in May!!! But find a purpose! Your quilting is phenomenal and that could be your purpose! Can only imagine how much more you could create with more time! This is just my humble opinion! What ever your decision is …. do what will make you the happiest! That’s the bottom line! I wish you strength to make the best decision for You! and Happy Quilting!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you, Janet Ann, for your very thoughtful response! I love making quilts – the process is a great creative outlet and the mental activity is a wonderful diversion from the stresses of my work. I wonder sometimes if I would love it as much if I made it an even more important part of my life – perhaps not just making more quilts but doing trunk shows and maybe even trying teaching. Would that be too much of a good thing?
      Being of service to others has been an integral part of who I am, hence my satisfaction with medicine. Although I think I will enjoy having more time for quilting, I think I need to continue to do some type of activity that serves others and is not focused on “me,” at least part of the time. That could be volunteer work, but for now it could be continuing to see patients for 2-3 days per week. I also hope to have more time with the grandchildren who live about an hour away! I agree that it makes a lot of sense to try the part time work for at least one semester! Thanks again, Gladi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

