July 26, 2015: Garment sewing; Doll quilt complete!; Crib quilt borders; More Vermont Quilt Festival pictures

Greetings!  Our 2 grandkids (Dmitri, age 10 and Sveta, age 7) spent most of last week with us, which was wonderful, but quilting took a back seat to enjoying them.  Sewing, however, was part of the mix.   Last summer when they had an extended visit, both grandkids sewed sixteen 4 inch patches together to make pillows and learned the basics of pinning and sewing on a machine.  This year Dmitri wasn’t interested in sewing, but Sveta and I made a simple dress for her.  She chose from 2 Simplicity patterns I had picked out ahead of time.  Then we went shopping for fabric and notions.  She really enjoyed looking at all the fabric choices!   Sveta helped me with all the pinning and sewing of any relatively straight seams.  I did the more detailed work and hand stitched the hem.  Here she is modeling the dress:

72515 Sveta in dress

We had a great time!  I hope we can keep going with projects that increase her sewing skills in the future.  Here is Dmitri with a favorite activity  – he loves to read and is a very advanced reader for his age:

72515 Dmitri reading

We had a wonderful evening with our good friends Craig and Liz Werth and Craig played violin as Dmitri played viola:

72515 Craig+Dmitri music

Sveta, who has been taking dance lessons for a couple years, dance to their music.

While the kids were visiting, in between swimming in the ocean, swimming in a lake, going to see the play “Peter Pan” and playing miniature golf as well as board games, I managed to steal a few moments in the evenings to sew leaves onto the border of the stars crib quilt.  After the 4th border of leaves is finished, I will need to work out a design for the corners.

72515 crib quilt

And I managed to finish the second doll quilt in this year’s “trio” just before the grandkids arrived.  I hand embroidered a row of gold stitching just inside the binding and like how that accent looks (click for enlargement):

72515 dollquilt#172515 dollquilt#2

 

Now I need to design and make a third doll quilt so I can enter this year’s “Trio of Doll Quilts” into our guild’s show in October.  I’m thinking of doing an Amish style quilt and will keep you posted!

This week’s Star features use of the color indigo with white or cream.  This combination was common in the early 1800’s and often featured large floral designs.  I managed to find ONE fabric in my collection that fits this description, but haven’t had time to make the star yet:

72515 indigo fabric

The selvedge on the left above indicates this is a reproduction from around 1840.  I keep wondering if/when the weekly quilt along will feature a fabric that I can’t find at all in my stash! So far, I’ve been able to find at least one good example (or, if not perfect, very close) of everything.

I have some more pictures from the Vermont Quilt Festival to share (I think this is the last of them).  The few are from the show and then there are a few more antique quilts.  This first one was an appealing traditional graphic pattern and featured very nice hand quilting, which I thought was perfect for it (enlarge to see the quilting):

72515 EnglishIvy#1 72515 EnglishIvy#2

 

The next quilt won the award for best long arm machine quilting and was attractive, though very simple in design:

72515 curvedBliss#1 72515 curvedBliss#2 72515 curvedBliss#3

This wonderfully graphic quilt was by Linda Bevins who has done machine quilting for me on a few of my pieces.  Congratulations, Linda, on your blue ribbon!

72515 LindaBevinsquilt

Here are a couple of my favorites from one of the special exhibits featuring a group of quilters. The first is a very interesting and eye catching landscape from Jo Diggs:

72515 JoDiggs#1 72515 JoDiggs#2

And here is a wonderful portrait of a dog by Susan Carlson (whom I have wanted to take a class from for years, but can’t seem to ever be available when they occur!);

72515 Dog#172515 Dog#2

More antique quilts – this was such a wonderful exhibit!

In this first quilt, an Irish Chain, if you look closely at the closeup, you can see the maker appliqued the 4 red squares into the corners of the alternating white blocks rather than piecing them in.  That way there are fewer seams to quilt through.  Great idea, though extra work!!

72515 AntiqueIC#1 72515 AntiqueIC#2

 

I like the hexagonal shapes in this log cabin variation.  I could see myself doing a quilt like this!

72515 AntiqueLC#1 72515 AntiqueLC#2

 

Here are a couple of wonderful antique red and white quilts:

72515 AntiqueRed+Whitestar 72515 Graphic red+white#1 72515 Graphic red+white#2

A couple more antiques that caught my eye:

72515 Antiquevases#1 72515 Antiquevases#2 72515 AntiqueStarwithcheddaar

I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing these wonderful quilts!  Thanks for reading my blog.  Gladi

4 thoughts on “July 26, 2015: Garment sewing; Doll quilt complete!; Crib quilt borders; More Vermont Quilt Festival pictures

  1. Cynthia

    It’s a thrill to teach a young loved one how to sew;). Your doll quilts are beautiful – lovely and vibrant. What a great idea to make a trio. Thanks for all the snapshots from the Vermont festival. I have never been! One of these years I must make the trip.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed the Vermont show photos. I haven’t missed going for, I think, 17 years now, and it never disappoints. Definitely try to get there some time! Gladi

      Reply
  2. Dawn

    I love your doll quilts. The Pat L. Nickols blue is wonderful and very hard to find. Thanks for sharing the Vermont Quilt Show photos. Lovely!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you! Doll quilts are fun because they can be made in a reasonable amount of time and they are a nice way to try out different patterns without committing to a larger project. Gladi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

