August 30, 2015: Work decision; World Quilt Show, Part 3

Greetings!  I finally made my decision to continue working part time, 16-20 hours per week after December until the end of second semester in mid-May.  At that time I can decide whether to continue after that, semester by semester, until either I don’t want to work anymore or they can’t use me anymore.  As long as I continue working I will have summers off and a month off around the Christmas holidays, meshing with the academic calendar at UNH.  I decided that I should take the opportunity to see what a reduced work schedule with no administrative duties feels like, especially because I can quit in May if I don’t like it.  I’ve been blessed to have challenging, meaningful, and engaging work and I’m not yet tired of seeing patients.  In addition, my colleagues at work, several of whom I’ve worked with for15-20+ years (and one who has been at Health Services longer than me!) are a big part of my daily social life and I think I’m going to miss that when I fully retire.  I’m also used to being “useful” and I think it might be a bit of a shock to stop all at once.  There are, of course, some financial benefits to continuing.   The only down side, for now,  is that Al and I can’t go away in the winter for a prolonged period of time, but that’s not enough to make me decide differently at this time.  Meanwhile, I’m still working full time through December and I already have some challenges to deal with!

Good-bye to Oliver Saks, one of my medical heroes, who died today.  He often was referred to as the medical poet laureate because he was such a wonderful writer in addition to being a very smart, very compassionate physician.  I enjoyed reading some of his books through the years.  In February he wrote a commentary for the New York Times announcing his terminal cancer.  In it he said, “I cannot pretend I am without fear.  But my predominant feeling is one of gratitude.  I have loved and been loved; I have been given much and I have given something in return; I have read and traveled and thought and written.  I have had intercourse with the world, the special intercourse of writers and readers.  Above all, I have been a sentient being, a thinking animal, on this beautiful planet, and that in itself has been an enormous privilege and adventure.”  In other words, he has led “the good life.”  I hope to be able to say the same when my end comes.

I don’t have any pictures of my projects to share today because my husband is on a little back-packing trip with our grandson this weekend and they took the camera!  We can catch up on those things next post.  Today I am sharing several more pictures from the World Quilt Show.

Here is the Best of Show.  The creator did an amazing job with realistically depicting the scene and I love her border (click on any of the pictures for enlargements):

82315 bos#1 82315 bos#2 82315 bos#3 82315 bos#4 82315 bos#5

The applique on this next one was wonderful and was all outlined with metallic embroidery threads!

82315 ABC quilt#1 82315 ABC quilt#2 82315 ABC quilt#3

I enjoyed the graphic impact of this medallion style quilt and, of course, my favorite color red!:

82315 medallion#1 82315 medallion#2

On the next one, if you squint and stare at it, it really does look like a bonfire!  The machine quilting on it was quite nice, too.

83015 bonfire#1 83015 bonfire#2 83015 bonfire#3

The next quilt won the award for the best quilt from Australia.  It is more of a modern style which is not my favorite, but it has some graphic appeal and the machine quilting was nicely done:

83015 bestAustralia#1 83015 bestAustralia#2 83015 bestAustralia#3 83015 bestAustralia#4

I’m always on the lookout for how quilters, and any artists for that matter, use circles because I like them so much and the following quilt appealed to me:

83015 Circles#1 83015 Circles#2 83015 Circles#3

Many of the quilts depicting flowers close up these days are done by machine.  I really liked the fact that the one below was hand quilted!

83015 flowers#1 83015 flowers#2 83015 flowers#3

Another excellent quilt by Denise Havlan who specializes in depicting people, especially faces, and does great thread painting:  (This won first place in the innovative category.)

83015 havlan#1 83015 havlan#2 83015 havlan#3 83015 havlan#4

This is one of the more traditional quilts that was appealing (oops – I cut off her name):

83015 northstar#1 83015 northstar#2 83015 northstar#3

And here is another of the Japanese quilts that was pretty amazing with her use of the Cathedral Windows pattern:

83015 Yukai#1 83015 Yukai#2 83015 Yukai#3 83015 Yukai#4

I think that’s enough for today, but I still have more to share in at least a couple more future posts!

One of the nice things about summer and early fall is that the square footage available in my home increases significantly.  We have a wonderful deck and screened porch off the back of our house and I frequently sit on either one stitching happily while listening to birds and watching butterflies, dragonflies, hummingbirds, etc.  I’m very lucky and I’m grateful!

83015 DECK82315 screened porch

Exciting news!  My “webmaster” Craig Werth is updating my web site.  Within the next 2-3 weeks, there should be some new additions to the quilt gallery and there will be a whole new category of Doll Quilts there as well!  It’s been 3 years since the site has been updated so it really needed this!

Cherish each day and be grateful!  Gladi

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

