February 24, 2016: Project updates; The last of the Japanese quilts

Greetings!  It’s been a busy couple of weeks.  We took the grandkids for a couple of days last week during their school vacation week.  Sveta designed her quilt.  I had cut out 30 six inch squares for her before the visit and when it became apparent that we would have some time to work on this, I cut out the other 20 squares for a total of 50 and she had fun arranging them on the design wall:

22016 sveta#1

Here is the final layout:

22016 sveta#2

And we (I!!) decided not to add sashing because it would make the sewing much more complicated for a first quilt and she decided to use solids for the setting triangles:

22016 sveta#3

That’s all we had time for during this visit, but the next time she comes she will start sewing the rows together.  She really had fun and I just love that I am helping her learn how to make quilts!  I’m enjoying seeing these delicious bright colors; I do like the Kaffee fabrics.

Meanwhile, the weekend before last I spent several hours cutting out leaf templates, ironing them onto fabrics and cutting out the leaves for the first border of We Are Stardust (click to enlarge – you’ll see there is paper on top of the leaves):

22016 stardust border

I do needle turn applique with the paper on top rather than “turned edge” applique in which the edge is usually ironed down before it is appliqued.  The disadvantage of the former method is that you don’t get to see the finished look until the applique is complete.  The advantage is that you don’t have to stand at the ironing board for hours ironing those edges under.  To me, needle turn is very easy and quick – I really don’t think I would save time doing the ironing first.  Also, I like the little surprise  of seeing how it looks when I take the paper off after I applique the piece.  Anyway – there is no right or wrong way to do this!  Choose whatever method you enjoy most and gives you the result you want.

Prepping the leaves set me behind on Stella Nova, but I’m still making progress.  I have 3 of the borders done and one of the corners:

22016 corner front 22016 corner back

It shouldn’t be long before I’m sewing on the binding!!

I completed a few more circles for the doll quilt:

22016 doll quilt

Here are the last of the Japanese quilts from the NEQM.  This group contains my least favorite quilts from the exhibit, but I still liked them and found them interesting and it is always good to see what kind of quilts are winning prizes and accolades.

I enjoyed this first one because of the use of circles, given my recent exploration of using circles in an improvisational manner in a quilt:

22016 asoul#1 22016 asoul#2 22016 asoul#3 22016 asoul#4

This is a lovely quilt – all hand done! -but seemed to pale in comparison to some of the other truly spectacular quilts in the exhibit:

22016 baskets#1 22016 baskets#2 22016 baskets#3 22016 baskets#4

The complex construction and embellishment on the next quilt were amazing.  I am pretty sure many of the fabrics were from old kimonos.  The bold border and sashing were interesting – I’m still trying to decide if I like it.  I’m not sure I’d have had the courage to use the bright blue and black geometric in this quilt.

22016 flowerceiling#1 22016 flowerceiling#2 22016 flowerceiling#3 22016 flowerceiling#4 22016 flowerceiling#5 22016 flowerceiling#6

The next one is very modern and, though I’m not a huge fan of most modern quilts, I like this one:

22016 matrix#1 22016 matrix#2 22016 matrix#3 22016 matrix#4

What I like most about the next one is the way the quilter used the simple kaleidoscope block to create an original design.  Those blocks are pretty small, too!  If you look closely enough you can see the individual blocks and how she was able to use careful fabric placement within the blocks to create the overall design.  This had to require a lot of planning!!!!

22016 recollection#1 22016 recollection#2 22016 recollection#3 22016 recollection#4 22016 recollection#5

Another modern quilt – I like the overall design and how she subtly uses circles and ovals.  I have no idea what “SYO” means!

22016 syo#1 22016 syo#2 22016 syo#3 22016 syo#4

And that is the end of my showing of the Japanese quilts at the exhibit!  If you live anywhere near Lowell, MA I strongly recommend you go these – well worth the trip.  As I said previously I am planning to go again.

I’ve mentioned before that I enjoy reading Deborah Barlow’s erudite blog – slowmuse.com, mostly on the creative process.  She is a painter.  In her most recent post I really liked what she said has helped to “steady” her and be better able to deal with the fear that artists feel about the creative process:

Stay in a state of wonder

Sit quietly and listen

Disengage from the concepts of success and failure

Surrender control

Love uncertainty and the unknown

It’s about the work, not about you

These are good points to ponder and follow!  Don’t hesitate to check out her blog.  And that’s all for today.

Be grateful, be kind, and cherish each day,   Gladi

 

2 thoughts on “February 24, 2016: Project updates; The last of the Japanese quilts

  1. Wendy Caton Reed

    How special to be able to make a quilt with your granddaughter. She has an eye already! I do hope Stella Nova will be in VT. I hope to be able to get there on Saturday of the show. I love the border on We Are Stardust thus far. What a beauty that will be!

    Reply
  2. gladiporsche Post author

    Thank you, Wendy! Since I sent my submission to Vermont on the first day, and the show is not juried, I think there is a very good chance Stella Nova will be in the show. Unfortunately, I will most likely be at the show Friday, but am not sure about Saturday. I’ll know more as the date gets closer. I’m so blessed to have a granddaughter interested in making a quilt! Gladi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

