May 21, 2016: Very exciting news!!

Greetings!  I have very exciting news!  I have just signed an agreement to have an exhibit of my quilts at the New England Quilt Museum starting in January 2018!!!!!  This is an amazing honor and opportunity for me to share my quilts!  I am very excited and still can hardly believe this is going to happen!  I’ll have plenty of time to plan the details and get ready for this since it’s a year and a half away.  My husband has already joked that we need to go away that winter because we won’t have any quilts for the beds and our walls in our home will be bare  :):)!

I have other good news as well.  I just received notice that “Spring Sonata” was juried into the AQS (American Quilters Society) show in Syracuse at the end of this July.  It’s always an honor to be accepted into an AQS show.   Some time ago Al and I made reservations to stay in a hotel in Syracuse during the show, hoping my quilt would get in, so it looks like we will be going!  Here she is at our local show last year (click to enlarge):

101915 SS winner!

Meanwhile, I spent all my quilting hours since my last post appliqueing down the stems for another border of “We Are Stardust,” cutting out all the leaves for the last 2 borders, and starting to baste leaves next to the stems.  I plan to take one border with me on our trip to California and applique leaves whenever I get a chance, e.g. in airports, on the plane, or while relaxing some evenings after trekking all day or in the early AM before we get out and about.

52116 stardust border#1 52116 stardust border#2

I am continuing to do needle turn “without” the paper on top for these leaves – I like not having the paper!!  (Though I do like having the paper edge for the small berries.)

I completed the other 6 blocks for the new doll quilt.  All 12 blocks are done and need to be sewn together.  I will need to plan a border as well:

52116 doll quilt

I had a lot of fun picking out the blue and yellow/gold fabrics for this one and arranging the blocks so they look best.  I don’t think I will put any sashing in but might cut a few blue strips and see how that looks…

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day!   Gladi

5 thoughts on “May 21, 2016: Very exciting news!!

  1. Susan Ainscough

    Wonderful news, Congratulations, I just wish I was in America and able to see it. Your quilts are amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

