May 28, 2016: New doll quilt top done; baby quilts; vacation planning

Greetings!  Many thanks to those of you who sent congratulations on the announcement of my upcoming quilt exhibit at the New England Quilt Museum.  I apologize that I didn’t respond to everyone individually, but I got sidetracked this past week getting ready for our vacation.  It’s very hard to pack appropriately when one is going to places with widely varying temperatures.  We expect moderate temps in the 60’s along the mid California coast but it is going to be in the 50’s -perhaps even in the 40’s at night – in Sequoia National Park (this past week it was in the 30’s and it snowed so I think we are lucky to have missed that!) and in the wine country just north of and inland from Santa Barbara it will likely be in the 80’s during the day.  I’m trying to think “layers” for clothes, but it’s not easy!!!  Footwear is especially problematic – I need shoes for the beach, for eating out in nice restaurants, and for hiking and I’m not taking more than one suitcase!

I did manage to get a little quilting done in stolen moments here and there.  I finished the second doll quilt top.  Here it is on my design wall (on the left) along side this year’s first doll quilt (click to enlarge):

52816 doll quilts

I appliqued little squares on point at the intersections of the blocks because I thought these added a “pop” of color and therefore more interest.  Of course, I used this technique on my Japanese circles quilt top to add interest as well as I discussed in recent posts.  For the first doll quilt on the right, I have folded in the border by about half and am trying to decide if I want the border this thin – I thought it was too wide before.  I’ll study it for a while…  Here’s a closer view of the squares I appliqued on doll quilt #2:

52816 doll quilts closer

I mentioned in a previous post that 2 of my close friends are becoming grandmothers for the first time later this year and I know the children well who are soon to become parents so this week I started a quilt for each baby.  I am making them the same so needed to cut enough fabric to make 2 of each block.  I’m using the same pattern I’ve used previously for baby quilts because I love it!  It’s from a Kaffe Fassett book:

52816 babyq #6 book

Here is the back cover, the inside covers, and a picture from within the book of the pattern I’m using:

52816 babyq #7 book back 52816 babyq #8 inside book covers 52816 babyq #9 inside book

I’m making 36 blocks for each quilt (6X6) and will add a border to bring the size up to 48 inches square.  I’m paper piecing.  Here are all my fabrics cut (this was may major accomplishment the past few days!!):

52816 babyq fabrics#1

I was able to entirely use fabrics on hand and didn’t need to buy any!  I used the Kaffe shot cottons to match the printed fabrics.  His shot cottons are thin, but I love the colors and they go exceedingly well with his (and other similar) printed fabrics.  I cut pieces of fabric 4 inches wide and 7 inches tall, 3 prints and 3 solids, which gives me enough to make 2 identical blocks, e.g.:

52816 babyq #2

I’ll cut each piece diagonally starting 3/4 of an inch in from the edge:

52816 babyq #3

This is the paper piecing pattern, 6 inches square:

52816 babyq #4

And here is how a block looks when complete:

52816 babyq #5

When I get back from vacation I’ll be ready to start sewing in earnest!

Speaking of vacation, I plan to bring one of the borders for “We Are Stardust” to work on when I get a chance:

51516 stardust borders#1

Although you don’t see it above, I have all the leaves basted onto border #3 ready for applique.  I’m using gray and taupe silk thread for the applique and it doesn’t show at all so I don’t need to worry about taking multiple colors of thread with me.

We leave tomorrow and will be away for 2 weeks.  I don’t plan to post during our time away so next time you hear from me will be mid June.   I’ll be sharing photos from the trip when next I write.  Also, the next post will mark the 4th anniversary of my blog!!!  I truly can hardly believe I’ve been blogging for 4 years – I started mid June 2012.  When I began I had no idea if I would like this or would continue, whether I would find enough of interest to say and/or share or even if anyone would ever read my musings.  Turns out I have enjoyed doing this and have made some wonderful connections with other quilters in the “quilting community.”  Thank you to my readers for participating in my journey!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,   Gladi

 

Leave a Reply

