August 13, 2016: Project updates plus AQS Syracuse show pictures, Part 4

Greetings!  I’ve been working on the third doll quilt and the first baby quilt.  Here’s the doll quilt with the 2 side borders appliqued (click on any pictures for enlargements for details):

81316 dq#1 81316 dq#2

I plan to add similar stems on the top and bottom and am not yet sure what will go in the corners as I’m waiting to see what this will look like first with those borders on.  I’ve been doing the applique while I watch the olympics and am happy with my progress!

I’ve started sewing the blocks together for the first baby quilt and have the horizontal rows all sewn together.  Here’s a picture of them so far.  The second picture shows half the circles laid out along 2 borders so you get an idea what this will look like.  I’ll eventually add a one inch wide strip of fabric to separate the borders from the center:

81316 babyq#1 81316 babyq#2

One goal for me at the Syracuse AQS show was to find a border fabric for my UFO project.  I used a lot of shot cottons in it and was looking for a shot cotton border.  I was looking for a darker blue – but not too dark – to represent an evening sky and found what I think is the perfect color in Pepper Cory’s “peppered cottons” line of fabrics:

81316 twinkle#1 81316 twinkle#2

I am planning an applique border – of course!!!!  It will contain gold stars, but I’m not sure of the exact design yet – creating a design is on my “to do” list!!!!  I’ll be calling this quilt “Twinkle” from now on to identify it, but am not sure if that will be the final title.

A reader asked me about the construction of the blocks in this quilt.  The individual blocks, after being sewn are 6 inches tall by 3 1/2 inches wide.  I cut strips of 30’s fabrics one inch wide and sewed 5 of them together.  This gave me pieces, as illustrated below, 5 1/2 inches tall:

81316 twinkle#3 strips

I then cut one inch wide strips from these.  I cut strips one inch wide and 5 1/2 inches tall from the shot cotton fabrics and cut some strips one inch wide and 4 inches long from them as well for the tops and bottoms of the blocks.  Here are the pieces laid out, ready to be sewn together.  Obviously the top and bottom horizontal strips are sewn on after the center strips are sewn together:

81316 twinkle#4 block layout

If you are interested in making these blocks and have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact me!

I still have so many quilts to share from the AQS and Maine shows!  Here are some more from AQS.

First is this beautiful log cabin made from 30’s fabrics.  I absolutely love the border!!  It is machine quilted; I think the simple cross hatching and cables are perfect for it.  Just to show you how different judging can be from show to show, this quilt won first place in the home machine quilted category at Paducah and did not get a ribbon in this show.

81316 logcabin#1 81316 logcabin#2 81316 logcabin#3 81316 logcabin#4 81316 logcabin#5

I was particularly drawn to this wonderful quilt by Ann Horton who has had works in lots of shows and won awards in the past.  I just loved her use of fabric in this quilt.  Look at the hair!  And I love the dress fabric – just perfect!  And the workmanship was excellent:

81316 daydream#1 81316 daydream#2

Oops!  I have just run into a problem with downloading any other photos to my blog at this time so I am going to have to work on this.  I hope to return later today – or soon! – with the rest of the pictures I’d hoped to share!!  Thanks for bearing with me!

I wanted to share this quote I read earlier today in “Our Mutual Friend” by Charles Dickens:

“No one is useless in this world who lightens the burden of it for anyone else.”

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,   Gladi

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “August 13, 2016: Project updates plus AQS Syracuse show pictures, Part 4

  1. Rose Orr

    You took pictures of the same quilts I did I think! I attended a couple of Bonnie Browning’s lectures, and she was asked about why some quilts win big awards at one show, and nothing at the next. Her answer was: “We like to spread our money around.” I for one would not be interested in attending multiple shows if they were showing the exact same quilts. Can’t wait to see what you post on Maine Quilts as I didn’t get to that show.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Hi Rose. I think I took pictures of almost all the quilts in the show!!! I would say that Bonnie Brownings’s answer to your question is a “loaded” one as it implies the judging might not be impartial. On the other hand, since much of the judging is subjective, maybe it makes sense to spread the wealth among the several best quilts that show up each year. I don’t know…. I agree that there is a downside to having so many of the same quilts in various shows throughout the year; it takes away some of the excitement of going to a show if you’ve already seen many of them before. But the AQS shows are so spread out across the country that it’s not likely the same folks are going to multiple ones. Maybe I’ll jump ahead to the Maine show for pictures in my next post and take a break from the AQS one! Gladi

      Reply
  2. Wendy C. Reed

    Great quilts. I too am confused by a lot of the judging that goes on. Like you, it is just an observation. I will never complain about it because it is a job that I would never be willing to do! I love your “Twinkle” quilt. I have seen a quilt like this somewhere in one of my antique books, but I think it had a white background. Yours just “sings” with those shot cottons. Can’t wait to see what you do with the border. And finally, I quote Dickens from time to time, but I don’t recall this one and I adore it. Thanks for sharing it.

    Reply
  3. gladiporsche Post author

    Thanks, Wendy! I love the shimmery effect of shot cottons with colors that change a little in different lights. I agree with you that judging quilts has to be tough! I don’t think I will ever do it though the thought has crossed my mind because it would be great to see all those quilts, close up. By the way, I’ve been wanting to let you know that I love, love, love your feed sack circles for the Quilty 365 sew along! Also, I truly enjoyed the Maine show and am so glad I made it there; I loved seeing the pictures of the antique quilts and their re-makes that you posted because I didn’t get many pics of them myself since I was too busy meeting you! Gladi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

