September 13, 2016: “Sweet Journeys” progress; Trio of Doll Quilts completed

Greetings!  This computer has been in the shop for the past several days to have its operating system updated.  I am now trying to adjust to a number of changes so am hoping I can get a blog post together without too much trouble!  I’ll keep it simple today and keep my fingers crossed!

A few days ago I felt a strong need to move ahead on my Baltimore Album style quilt called “Sweet Journeys.”  The title was inspired by a piece of music I play and I thought it was a great phrase indicating that making each block of this type of quilt should and can be a “sweet journey.”  I’ve been stalled for a while.  The reason is that I was hoping to create and draft all my own original blocks inspired by album style antique quilts and I seem to be stuck without compelling ideas for new blocks.   After being in this “stuck” state for a while, I have decided to use already designed blocks to get me jump started.  It’s OK if my quilt is a combination of original and copied designs!  Below are pictures of my design wall with the 8 blocks I already have ( click on pictures for enlargements) (my Japanese circles are there too and I’m close to deciding to add a dogtooth border around this portion as the next step):

dsc03806 dsc03807

I’m lucky to have a copy of Ellie S’s very first book so looked through it for ideas and decided to make this wreath block:

dsc03811 dsc03813

Here’s the block so far:

dsc03815 dsc03816

I fussy-cut fabrics to make the center of the flower using the 2 fabrics below and am very happy with how this came out!

dsc03817

I’ve also been busy making bags – my goal was to make 3 of them and I finished them all.  I totally fell in love with the Phillip Jacobs fabric I used in the tote below – aren’t the colors absolutely gorgeous!!

dsc03818 dsc03819

I also made the purple bag below to donate to our guild’s penny sale at our show next month and then I finished up the Parisian one for myself:

dsc03820dsc03821

By the way, my bags have “heft” because I fuse the fabrics to heavy muslin before sewing.

I completed the last doll quilt in this year’s “Trio of Doll Quilts” and now all I need are labels on these and they will be ready for next month’s Cocheco Quilt Guild show.   I’m happy with the “trio” but I may take a break from doll quilts and not do them next year; I may want to explore something else like more modern quilts using solid colors or make crib quilts or smaller amish style quilts.  Doing some trapunto is also something I want to try.   It’s nice to have so many options for creativity!

dsc03808dsc03810

I think this covers the update and it looks like I’m OK with the new computer system except that I can’t figure out how to put a title on the pictures I move to my blog folder so I can identify them.  I’ll have to get my computer guru friend, Craig, to come over and help me some time soon!  I still have a lot more pictures from this summer’s quilt shows to share so stay tuned!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,  Gladi

6 thoughts on “September 13, 2016: “Sweet Journeys” progress; Trio of Doll Quilts completed

    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you! I enjoyed hand appliqué from the first moment I tried it and have always tried to do my best in terms of craftsmanship whenever I’m working on a project. I’m not perfect and there are always things I can work on doing better! Glad

      Reply
  1. Wendy C. Reed

    Oh my! Those two on the design wall couldn’t be more opposite and yet both incredibly beautiful in their own right. Funny you should say you might take a break from making doll quilts and move on to something different. Your fabulous quilts have inspired me to make MORE small quilts this year. I just finished one last night for a friend and I had a ball with it.

    Reply
  2. gladiporsche Post author

    Thanks, Wendy! On the other hand, maybe I won’t take a break from doll quilts – I’ll have to see how I feel come winter. They are, indeed fun to make. I love that I have the freedom to do whatever I want with quilt making and follow my muse wherever it might lead me! Gladi

    Reply
  3. gladiporsche Post author

    Thanks! I’m loving the extra time I have since I retired and find that sewing and working on quilts is something I really enjoy doing with it. I’m truly grateful for the opportunity. Glad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

