September 21, 2016: The joy of finishing

Greetings!  Seems like I have been focused very much on finishing things the past few weeks.  I’m sure the upcoming Cocheco Quilt Guild show is a major reason, but I am a “finisher” anyway. When I started making my first quilt 23 years ago, I thought I needed to hand piece it in order for it to be “authentic.”  I did not enjoy the process and put it away after 5 months, thinking I would never be a quilter.  Luckily a work colleague showed me how to machine piece my blocks and once the top was together I could proceed with teaching myself hand quilting which I enjoyed a lot.  The feeling of exhilaration I had when I finished that first quilt 2 months after starting to hand quilt it was amazing and is what really propelled my quilting avocation.  To this day, I thoroughly enjoy the satisfied feeling I have when finishing projects.  Over the past few weeks I’ve finished “Joyful Noise,” my “Trio of Doll Quilts,” and now the first of 2 baby quilts is 99% done – only 1/4th of the binding left to do! (click to enlarge pictures)

dsc03847

I pin basted the layers together:

dsc03841

Then machine quilted in the ditch with variegated thread around all of the blocks and triangles:

dsc03848

My machine quilting is mediocre at best but it’s the best I can do and I figure it is a baby quilt that should be used and is not an heirloom quilt!  I did hand quilt around the circles and blocks in the borders to add a more personal touch:

dsc03851

Here’s the back:

dsc03852

Now all that’s left after finishing that binding is a small label.  In fact, I need to set aside a day in the near future to make labels for 6 quilts!

I finished the next block for “Sweet Journeys” the start of which I showed in the last post.  Here is a close up and how it looks with the rest of the blocks:

dsc03846dsc03845

I’ve picked out the next block I’m going to do – a simple basket of flowers from Ellie’s first book – will show a picture next time!

I’m still showing pictures from the shows I attended this summer!  At the AQS show in Syracuse there was a special exhibit of small quilts that were made to showcase the styles of various famous artists.  For each of the famous artists a quilt was made by a quilter from the USA, a quilter from France, and a quilter from Japan.  Following are pictures of many of the quilts.  For a few I didn’t get the famous artist’s name in the picture but I think they will be obvious.  I got most of the quilt makers’ comments either with the quilt or separately.  Enjoy!!  (Click to enlarge for details!)

dsc03414 dsc03422 dsc03424 dsc03425 dsc03426 dsc03427 dsc03428 dsc03429 dsc03430 dsc03431 dsc03432

dsc03433 dsc03435 dsc03436 dsc03437 dsc03438 dsc03439 dsc03440 dsc03441 dsc03442 dsc03443 dsc03444 dsc03449 dsc03450 dsc03452 dsc03453 dsc03455

dsc03456 dsc03457 dsc03458 dsc03459 dsc03460 dsc03461

Thoughts on retirement so far:  I’m so loving not having to follow a rigid schedule every day!!  I’m enjoying my life and activities – quilting, reading, music, exercise – a lot!  I’m totally happy with my decision.  I’m glad to give up the pressure of having to be on my toes and vigilant and thinking medical thoughts all day long.  The main downsides I see are that the extent of one’s “relevance” diminishes (i.e. still mattering to family and friends but not to work colleagues and patients) and the aging body cannot be denied (though this latter is not dependent upon retirement).  Luckily I have no major medical issues, but I do have some dental problems I’m dealing with.   Retirement is allowing me to enjoy walks during the week in the beautiful part of New Hampshire in which I live.  Al and I took advantage of a gorgeous day recently to walk along the ocean:

dsc03827dsc03829dsc03831dsc03836

Looking forward to the fall season!  Happy autumn to all!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,  Gladi

 

4 thoughts on “September 21, 2016: The joy of finishing

  1. Anonymous

    Congratulations on all your “finishes”! They are lovely. And also I’m so glad to hear you are pleased with your retirement decision. Congratulations on that, as well. Finally, thanks as always for posting pictures of the quilts you see at quilt shows you visit. Those are such a treat. Your blog is always a favorite to read — I really look forward to your posts. Carla 🙂

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thanks, Carla. Nice to hear from you. I know that I enjoy seeing photos of quilts, especially from shows, on other blogs so I’ve always felt it would be nice to share mine. I make a special effort to get good pictures for future inspiration for myself and for others! Gladi

      Reply
  2. Wendy C. Reed

    Such wonderful and colorful baby quilts. Yes, it is always comforting to have a few “finishes”. I love your Sweet Journeys” blocks and look forward to seeing the next in line. Thank you for sharing the little “artist” quilts. I would love to have seen these in person. I am working on something similar in a very whimsical way. It has been in the UFO pile for quite some time and you have inspired me to resurrect it! So happy to hear you are enjoying retirement. I can see that you might have conflicting thoughts since your career was so rewarding. I like my job and the men and boats that I work with, but I love my quilting far more and I am looking forward to spending more time in my sewing rooms!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you, Wendy. I look forward to seeing your “whimsical” quilt eventually. I was happy to see that Pam Weeks got your “Stars” quilt. Pam is a member of my quilting “bee” which meets monthly so I know her reasonably well. I can’t think of a better person to have your gorgeous “potholder” quilt! Gladi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

