November 9, 2016: So disappointed!!; Stardust top complete and other retreat pictures

Greetings!  I write these blog posts mostly for sharing my quilting activities and occasionally there’s a little sprinkling of commentary on and pictures of family and friends and other activities.  Mostly I avoid political commentary, but I have to vent that I am disappointed – actually, horrified – with the results of our election.  HC was not an ideal candidate, but clearly superior to DT and qualified to lead.  In fact, I was hoping to celebrate the election of our first female president.  We need change to move forward from the gridlock in Washington, but DT isn’t the change we need.  Based on what I saw during the campaign, I am seriously worried that DT is unfit for the presidency.   I firmly believe that character matters.   I don’t understand how we elected someone who boasts of predatory sexual behavior, sees women as objects, judges solely on appearances, makes fun of those with disabilities, insults freely, is severely narcissistic, doesn’t read, doesn’t think deeply or carefully, has no idea of the complexity of both foreign and domestic issues, doesn’t believe in climate change, wants to build a wall instead of bridges, is proud of not paying taxes, and is a racist and bigot.  I hope I’m wrong, but I’m worried about the future of the country and the planet.   What to do?  Take deep breaths, be kind, be grateful for life, and cherish each day, as I say in every post.   But we also need to stay hopeful, continue to work for what’s right and decent, and work to undo this in the next election.

I enjoyed a lovely retreat this past weekend!  No one talked politics as we were all sick of the long campaigns and it was great.  I accomplished all my goals!  The best one was finishing the top of “We Are Stardust.”  I had a floor space big enough to spread it out and then I had a couple friends hold it up so I could get a picture (click on pic for enlargement):

dsc04333dsc04334

dsc04335

Next I have to sew some fabrics together to make a backing for this – I’ll use larger size pieces of reproduction fabrics that I already have rather than buy one large new piece.  That will be less expensive and keep me using fabrics I already have.

I cut and sewed all the fabrics for the back of the Blue Star gift quilt and yesterday took the quilt and back to the long armer for quilting.  I think you can see the signature blocks if you enlarge the picture:

dsc04328

I’ll next show it after it’s quilted and I get the binding on!

I also made a bag as a gift for a friend who is retiring and has a party this Saturday.  Here it is without the grommets and tie for closing the top (finished those today but forgot to get an updated picture!):

dsc04332

My other 2 goals were to sew the blocks for my second baby quilt together – did that, but no picture – and get some more hand quilting done on my Spirit of Japan quilt – did that too.  A very productive retreat!!!!  And so much fun to talk and laugh with other quilters.  Here are some pictures of the retreat and projects others were working on:

dsc04314dsc04316dsc04338dsc04319dsc04320dsc04322dsc04325dsc04326

Be kind, be grateful (takes extra effort today!), and cherish each day,  Gladi

21 thoughts on “November 9, 2016: So disappointed!!; Stardust top complete and other retreat pictures

  1. Tamara Hutchinson

    I agree completely with your thoughts on the horrifying outcome of the election, and what we must do in response. And I’m glad I have enough fabric to keep me distracted for a while. Gorgeous “We Are Stardust” !

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you for commenting and for agreeing. I, indeed, “distracted” myself for a while today by cutting up some fabric! Gladi

      Reply
  2. Marie Tymrak

    Your description of Donald Trump matches my on completely. What a delight to read a list of what has been bouncing around inside my head. Your words gave the my thoughts an airing. We may live across a continent, but your expectations of presidential qualifications resonate across the distance. Like you, I am using sewing as therapy today.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Hi Marie. I hope that once we absorb what has happened we can figure out practical ways to protest and bring about positive change. Thanks for reading and commenting. Gladi

      Reply
  3. Evelyn Hatch

    Thank you so much for this post. I’m not into recovery mode yet perhaps because I couldn’t spend the day piecing all my Christmas star blocks together. Can wait for the weekend to have quiet time to assimilate all that’s happened. Love your We are Stardust. Perhaps I’ll add an applique border to my star quilt too. Thank you SO much.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you! Let’s do our best to somehow peacefully bring about positive change and support those who are terrified by the things DT threatens, e.g. deportation of immigrants, muslim bans, etc.etc…. Gladi

      Reply
  4. Lady Locust

    You have a right to your opinion, but speaking of character HC laughing at getting the bloody underwire of a 12 yr old dismissed in order to set a rapist free speaks volumes to me. I will unfollow your blog so will not offend you if ever I have an opinion that differs from your own. How unfortunate, your quilts are beautiful.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      I forgot to include the constant lying and the bullying. It’s depressing. I’m hoping for a pivot to civil and respectful behavior now that he’s won, but not sure he’s capable of it. Gladi

      Reply
  5. Susan Ainscough

    Hi Gladi, Is the name of your beautiful quilt taken from Woodstock, by Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young.? It’s one of my favourites. You look as though you had a great time at the retreat, what a lovely big room. As for DT, I sat up all night and couldn’t believe it. The world holds its breath..

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Hi Susan. Yes, the phrase “we are stardust” is from Joni Mitchell’s song, “Woodstock,” which was also sung by CSN and Y. I love it too! I saw a beautiful item in the NY Times right around the time the quilt along began which included this phrase and that was the inspiration. I put it in a blog post a year and a half ago and it will be on the label of the quilt. If I haven’t put it in my blog again recently, I’ll do so soon. I know I was thinking about doing that, but can’t remember if I actually did! I think because of the Brexit vote we were worried, but I still didn’t really think a similar shock would happen here. Gladi

      Reply
  6. lynn jarzombeck

    Enjoy your blog and beautiful projects. Also your commentary. Despair swoops over but must look ahead and hope for the best.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you! I agree that we have to move ahead with hope that we can each find our own ways to make the world a better place. That usually involves kindness and compassion. Gladi

      Reply
  7. Wendy C. Reed

    I wholeheartedly agree with your disappointment. I just have to move forward and hope for better things to come. I love “We Are Stardust”. This one is a winner for sure. Hope to see it in person in VT next June. May we all get more time to quilt and remember the good things in life in the coming year.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Hi Wendy. I agree with your comments. I’m not sure, however, if Stardust will be quilted in time for Vermont, but retirement could make that possible! Gladi

      Reply
  8. Rose in Vt

    Thank you for this post! I was at a retreat in Waterville Valley NH on election night, and we did not discuss the election either. Can’t think of a better place to be than in front of my sewing machine with wonderful friends during such a time.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Hi Rose. Thanks for commenting. I’m still trying to make sense of and understand what happened and figure out what my role should be going forward to try to counteract bigotry, racism, sexism, anti-intellectualism, etc. etc. Sewing has always been a great stress reliever for me and will continue to play that role!! Gladi

      Reply
      1. Rose in Vt

        I just read the post on Fabric Therapy. Great comments on going forward and ‘keep on swimming.’

      2. gladiporsche Post author

        Thanks for sending me to the Fabric Therapy site. I read her blog posts a couple times a month and hadn’t seen this. Since I swim regularly for exercise, the “keep swimming” – and the “keep sewing” – advice works for me. However, unless/until DT renounces and apologizes for all the hateful, denigrating, and insulting things he said during the campaign, stops lying, and shows some wisdom, evidence of deep and clear thinking, and kindness, and compassion, I remain very concerned for us, the country, and the planet. And I’m not too hopeful he’s going to do this. Gladi

  9. Nancy

    Your We Are Stardust quilt is stunning! I love the bright leaves on the brown background around the edges and the stars — they are just gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

