November 16, 2016: 1. Helping a neighbor 2. Closeups of Lorayne Dodge quilts

Greetings!  Our next door neighbor of 32 years, Alma, recently passed away.  Her husband of 59 years (!!!) asked me to come over and take a look at some bags of her clothing, wondering if I could recommend someone to make a quilt out of them.  Of course, I knew I had to take on the job.  Almost all of Alma’s summer, cotton, clothing was blue and white with a few pink polo type shirts thrown in.  Jerry included some of his own blue stripe and check shirts in the mix.  I’ve never made a quilt out of clothing before, but figured I had enough experience to do it, especially since Jerry wanted something “simple.”  I decided random squares was the way to go and used my rotary cutter to chop apart the clothes, following that with using a ruler to get even squares.  A queen size quilt was requested so I cut 196 six inch squares.  With pieces of clothing that weren’t big enough for the squares, I cut 6X3 inch pieces for top and bottom borders.  In order to include a few pink squares, I had to stabilize the fabric from a pink shirt with some fusible interfacing.     I have many of the squares now sewn together and here is what my design wall looks like (click on to enlarge):

dsc04339

 

dsc04340

Jerry came over 2 days ago and is very happy with how it’s looking.

We plan to have it machine quilted and I’ll soon be shopping for backing and binding fabric.  I know Jerry is going to love having this remembrance of his wife and I’m so happy to have the time to do this for him!  In the meantime, of course, my projects are on hold though I have continued to hand quilt the Spirit of Japan when I’m tired of cutting and machine sewing the squares.

Here are the closeups of Lorayne Dodge’s quilts from her special exhibit at the Cocheco quilt show that I promised to share a couple of posts ago.  Don’t hesitate to click on them to enlarge them so you can enjoy the hand quilting.  Lorayne has been heavily influenced by the work of Kumiko Sudo.

dsc04096 dsc04095 dsc04094 dsc04093 dsc04091 dsc04083 dsc04082 dsc04081 dsc04079 dsc04221 dsc04220 dsc04219 dsc04218 dsc04217 dsc04215 dsc04214 dsc04213

My Japanese maple was spectacular this year!  I just love this red.  Unfortunately the picture below was taken a couple of weeks ago and now the tree is bare (as are most others as well!).

dsc04310-1

Loved my cabbage plant today with droplets of water from the rain.  Aren’t these purple and green colors beautiful!:

dsc04343

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,  Gladi

 

 

4 thoughts on “November 16, 2016: 1. Helping a neighbor 2. Closeups of Lorayne Dodge quilts

  1. Lee Simpson

    Love the story of Jerry and Alma’s quilt. Seeking stories of small comforts in this month of big drama. Thanks! Lee

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thanks, Lee. I’m so glad I have the time and energy to do this! I’m looking for any opportunities to be kind and generous in this crazy world! Gladi

      Reply
  2. Wendy C. Reed

    What a wonderful thing for yo to do for a treasured neighbor. It can be daunting cutting into clothing and trying to fit it back together to form a quilt. you have mastered it beautifully. I have made a few such quilts and they are never easy, physically or emotionally. Great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

