December 19, 2016: Gift projects; hand quilting; More appliqué quilts from NEQM!

Greetings!

The tree is up:

dsc04651dsc04646

The Nutcrackers are on guard:

dsc04652

And the table was set on Saturday for our annual dinner party for close friends:

dsc04648

I had so much fun at the party that I forgot to take any pictures while it was happening!  We’ll now have quiet until family descends on Christmas day.

I can finally reveal the recipient of the Blue Star, “special occasion” quilt I made this fall. (See previous posts for pictures.) On Tuesday I delivered it to Pat Lang, a nurse with whom I worked for many years at UNH Health Services and who recently retired.  It’s a “retirement quilt” with signatures of all the employees at Health Services.   Pat was great and made my job easier because she was so good and so reliable.  She loved the quilt, of course!   And I finished the quilt  made of his wife’s clothes for my neighbor and delivered that yesterday (pictures also on previous posts).  He, too, loved his quilt.  It will trigger many happy memories for him.   So happy I had time to make these quilts!!  Now I’ve moved on to layering and starting to machine quilt the second of the two baby quilts I’m making this year:

dsc04659

When this is done in the next couple of weeks, I will finally be finished with the several quilts I made for gifts this year.  I should then have more time for my own projects, though I think a goal for next year will be to make at least one “community” quilt to donate to a worthy cause.

I’ve been concentrating on hand quilting Spirit of Japan (click on pics for enlargements):

dsc04653

dsc04657dsc04656

With the cold weather we’ve been having, it’s been perfect to have this heavy quilt on my lap, warming me as I work on it!  I am guessing that about 2/3 of the hand quilting is complete.  “Stardust” is currently at the longarmer’s studio awaiting basting and I should have it back by the end of the month ready for hand quilting.  It will be interesting to see if I hold off on quilting Stardust until Spirit of Japan is complete or whether I temporarily abandon SOJ for Stardust….

Here are several more appliqué quilts from the New England Quilt Museum’s current exhibit:

I really liked this lovely small red and green quilt:

dsc04526dsc04525dsc04527dsc04528

This one had a unique border and the flowers point downward which is strange…

dsc04428dsc04427dsc04431dsc04430dsc04429

Beautiful quilting on the “President’s Wreath” quilt:

dsc04470dsc04471dsc04472dsc04473dsc04474

A lovely princess feather, 4-block with some interesting quilting motifs:

dsc04492dsc04491dsc04493dsc04495dsc04494dsc04498dsc04497dsc04496

Classically beautiful!:

dsc04389-1dsc04386dsc04387dsc04388

And here are 2 dark blue and white “2 color” appliqué quilts, both outstanding:

dsc04513dsc04514dsc04517dsc04516dsc04515

dsc04501dsc04499dsc04500dsc04504dsc04503dsc04502

There are many more of these quilts still to share in future posts.

Wishing everyone a wonderful holiday season!!  Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,  Gladi

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “December 19, 2016: Gift projects; hand quilting; More appliqué quilts from NEQM!

  1. Wendy C. Reed

    Gladi, your house is simply elegant! It looks like a page out of Town and Country. I love the quilt on the dining room wall. I have seen the quilt before, but it looks so beautiful in the dining room. Have a very Merry Christmas with your family.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thanks, Wendy. About 11 years ago we did a lot of renovations to the house to make it more the way we like it after the kids grew up and moved out! We opened up some space so the baby grand piano (playing it is my husband’s main hobby) wasn’t so cramped. I’m very happy with it and it is heavily decorated with quilts! We even had the tiles in the fireplace specially made to match the dining room quilt border! Merry Christmas to you! Gladi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

