January 2, 2017: 1. Beginning the year with an exciting adventure! 2. Quilting goals for 2017 3. Log cabin quilts from the NEQM

Happy new year!  My 2017 is starting with an exciting adventure – I am traveling to Thailand on January 22 for a 16 day trip!  I’m going with a girlfriend – neither one of our husbands (who both were in southeast Asia serving in the Viet Nam war back in the ’60’s) had any interest in going with us.  That’s not stopping us!!  We’re traveling with OAT – Overseas Adventure Travel, a highly regarded travel company.  There are only 14 of us in the group, we have a local guide for the entire trip, and we visit a lot of off-the-beaten- path places and interact personally with the people, having some meals with locals in their homes, meeting monks, visiting Buddhist temples, etc.    We explore Bangkok and Chaing Mai, the latter city known for its silk fabrics some of which I’m hoping to buy.  In between those cities we explore the countryside.  An elephant ride is scheduled!   Right now I’m in high gear getting everything ready for the trip and I look forward to sharing the adventure with you when I’m back.

Meanwhile, I’m thinking about the rest of the upcoming year and what I want to accomplish.  In terms of quilting,  projects can be divided into the following groups:

HAND QUILTING:  I have 4 hand quilting projects lined up.  I should be able to complete the quilting on Spirit of Japan #3 by spring and I’m pretty sure I will enter it into the Vermont Quilt Festival this year.  I should be able to relatively quickly hand quilt my granddaughter Sveta’s lap quilt.  Then I can tackle We Are Stardust and I hope to complete that in time to show it at the Cocheco Quilt Show in October.  I doubt I’ll get to the hand quilting of the Japanese circles quilt until after that.

APPLIQUE:  Finish appliquéing the border on Twinkle.  Finish the appliqué blocks for Sweet Journeys – that means 2 more 12 1/2 inch blocks and a central 24 inch block.  I may also do a simple appliqué sashing between the blocks.  I hope to eventually hand quilt both of these quilts but that certainly won’t happen until 2018.

NEW PROJECTS:  I’m very tempted to join Barbara Brachman’s new quilt along – Yankee Diary (I think that’s what it’s called.)  It’s a sampler style quilt but combines piecing and appliqué and looks like something I might really enjoy.  I’ll get a late start as I’ll be in Thailand when it begins!  I also want to start a paper pieceing project – haven’t decided on a pattern yet.  I want to try trapunto – maybe will make a pillow so it’s a manageable size.  I want to make a “community” or “comfort” quilt to donate for a good cause.  Our guild has a committee who manages, collects, and distributes these each year.   I’d like to make another trio of doll quilts and for one of those, I would like to English Paper Piece the “Inner City” pattern.  And I may or may not do the guild challenge quilt this year – depends on whether the challenge, which we will get at the January meeting, excites me.  I’d love to have this year be the one I finally start making a silk quilt, perhaps including silk purchased in Thailand!  Who knows if I can accomplish all this or whether plans will change, but I’m looking forward to the journey!!

I have more thoughts on personal goals and challenges, but will share those next post.  I’m closing this post with pictures of Log Cabin quilts that were on display at the New England Quilt Museum when I went to see those fabulous appliqué quilts.  Click on the pics to enlarge and enjoy the closeup details:

dsc04569dsc04570dsc04571dsc04572

 

dsc04567dsc04565dsc04568dsc04566

dsc04573dsc04574dsc04575

dsc04579dsc04580dsc04581

dsc04578dsc04576dsc04577

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,  Gladi

 

 

4 thoughts on “January 2, 2017: 1. Beginning the year with an exciting adventure! 2. Quilting goals for 2017 3. Log cabin quilts from the NEQM

  1. Wendy C. Reed

    How wonderful! You will have a fabulous time in Thailand. Everyone I know who has been there says it is beautiful and would go back again in a heartbeat. Have a wonderful time!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thanks! I look forward to sharing pictures and stories when I return. Hope you have a wonderful 2017. Maybe we’ll find a way to meet again… Gladi

      Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      I’ve spoken with several folks who have traveled with OAT and have yet to hear anything negative! Thanks for endorsing them, Gladi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

