April 22, 2017: A finish!; Back to the machine and my silk quilt; projects’ progress

Greetings!  The first thing I did as soon as I could use my sewing machine again was put the binding on “Spirit of Japan #3:  Kuruma”.  This quilt is finished (except for a hanging sleeve and label).  It has been accepted into the Vermont Quilt Festival where it will show for the first time in June.  Yay!  Since I don’t have the hanging sleeve on yet, here she is on the kitchen floor (click on any pics for enlargements):

I’m happy with how this came out!  This is a situation in which I finished “Spirt of Japan#4: Many Moons” before I finished #3.  That apparently used to happen with symphonies – famous composers would get bogged down with a symphony and go on to the next one and finish it before coming back to the earlier one.  In case you are new to my blog, here is #4 which I finished last year, now hanging in my entryway:

You can go to my web site (gladiquilts.net) to see #1 and #2 in the series.  I’m waiting for inspiration to strike before starting #5!!

Also, since liberated to use my machine, the silk quilt has surfaced and I’m making progress.  I paper piece smaller “units”:

4 units are sewn together to make a “block””

I am making 4 blocks at a time, but not sewing them together yet as I want to embellish them before I sew the pieces together – much easier to embellish is smaller units.  Here’s what I have so far:

And here is my design wall right now:

I have 7 of the  9 units of “Sunshine and Shadow” hand sewn via EPP technique and you can really see better how it’s going to look now, though I do plan to add borders:

I sewed the borders onto “Inner City” and it’s now ready for layering and hand quilting though doubt I’ll do that before the summer:

In the hoop (with 22 of the 56 Baptist fans via hand quilting completed):

I am enjoying spring – crocuses are up and I love looking at the lacy patterns tree branches make against the sky as the buds and leaves start to come out:

Love this quote that I saw somewhere on line recently, “Having a thing is not as satisfying as making a thing.”

I’ve always been a “maker.”  When I was a child I loved making paper dolls and clothes for them – I filled shoe boxes!!  Then I discovered sewing and making clothes at about age 12 and all through adolescence sewed clothes, knit, and did embroidery.  After a long hiatus during which I went to med school, worked and raised a family and didn’t sew, I got back to needlework when I turned 40 with cross stitching and then 4 years later tried and fell in love with quilting.   Now, 24 years after that, I can’t imagine life without “making” and I hope that I can continue to be creative and inventive in making quilts and can continue to discover new techniques and designs that inspire me for a long time to come!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,  Gladi

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “April 22, 2017: A finish!; Back to the machine and my silk quilt; projects’ progress

    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you! A big reason I blog is to share my work and it always feels good to get positive feedback! Gladi

      Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thanks! I think the Baptist fans are looking good for this quilt, but so time consuming! Should be worth it, though, when it’s done. Gladi

      Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thanks, Janet Ann. As I said in the post, I love “making” – and I feel good when others enjoy looking at what I make. Gladi

      Reply
  1. Wendy C. Reed

    I wholeheartedly agree. Making things is essential to my personal happiness. I am so happy to hear you are able to sit at your sewing machine again. I know hand work is your first love, but it is nice to have options. I am planning on going to VT this year and I look forward to seeing your quilt there. Your “Stardust” quilting is coming along beautifully. Thanks for a great and inspirational post. P.S. I still have a box of paperdolls that I made as a child. They do bring back great memories.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Hi Wendy. Wow – you still have paper dolls from your childhood – that’s amazing! I have not turned out to be much of a pack rat over the years, which is a good thing because my husband more than makes up for it. I’ll be at the Vermont show all day on Friday. If that overlaps with when you are there we should try to meet. I’m happy with “Kuruma” but don’t think it’s an award winner. The thick fabrics made for uneven hand stitching and I think the edges are going to be a bit wavy, so the judges probably won’t like it, but it’s meant to be a lap quilt and is perfect for what it is intended to be. I really like how it displays unusual ethnic fabrics and I like how I balanced the colors in it and hope that others will enjoy seeing something different. Gladi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

