June 19, 2017: “Simple and subtle” embellishments; 5 years of blogging!

Greetings!  It’s hard for me to believe that it was 5 years ago this month that I started this blog.  I had been reading various blogs for some time and decided this was something I’d like to try, having no idea if I would like it enough to stick to it – obviously I have!  I have very much enjoyed getting to know other quilters through my blog and web site – people I would almost certainly never have gotten to know otherwise.  I have enjoyed sharing my thoughts and my creative processes.  It was weird at first, not having any idea if anyone was reading what I was writing.  That was before I knew there was a way to check how many views my posts were generating.  I seem to have a relatively small readership that has grown over the years and have gotten positive feedback from those who enjoy reading what I write and the pictures I post so I will continue!  My main hopes are that I have something worthwhile to say, work that is worth sharing, and that I don’t repeat myself too much!  To my regular readers – thank you for sticking with me!!

Because the silk quilt has been on my design wall for quite some time and I can’t ignore looking at it while I’m in the room, I have been thinking off and on for a while whether or not, and how, to embellish it to add interest.   That time arrived.  This is a star quilt.  I’ve been thinking about stars and galaxies.  I thought about spiral galaxies and the idea of embroidering spirals came to me.  I also thought about how intense/dense the embellishments should be and decided they should be simple and subtle – nothing too fancy to detract from the overall design.  I looked up spirals – symbolism and how to draw them.  Spirals are an ancient symbol with lots of different meanings – balance, progress, direction, centering, expansion, awareness, connection, journeying, development, etc.  There are lots of examples of spirals in nature too.  There are numerous types and different ways to draw them, including use of the “Fibonacci ratio.”  I decided to draw them freehand!!!  My spirals are the “logarithmic” type with the space between the lines increasing as they spiral out.

From a distance, you don’t notice the embellishments much (click on pics to enlarge):

But when you go closer you can see the spirals and also the little star rays in the centers of the actual stars:

Closer still:

I’m happy with the look so far.  I’m using one strand of DMC floss.  The spiral colors match the center circles but I’m going for contrast inside the stars.  I like the slightly wobbly look of the spirals done freehand – long live wabi sabi!!!  I have never used beads on a quilt, but am actually considering whether they might add further interest – stay tuned!  Of course, even this simple embroidery is going to take a while!

I made one more pastel quilt block:

Here are the 4 of them so far crowded into the little space left on my design wall:

I am taking a bit of a break from hand quilting “We Are Stardust” because of the recent heat wave we had – 3 days of 90+ temps early last week.  I knew I wouldn’t want a big quilt on my lap under those conditions!  Hopefully I can catch up soon.  Love the embroidery and appliqué hand work when it’s warmer.

Love watching my 2 hibiscus plants flower – buds that are ready open slowly over a few hours on one day:

My star quilt has inspired 3 of my recent haikus:

Endless galaxies

Dot the night sky if you look.

Who else is out there?

 

Spirals and clusters

With billions of hot, bright stars –

Profound mystery.

 

Moon viewing and star

Gazing put me in my place –

Microscopic speck!

 

I am very much looking forward to going to the Vermont Quilt Festival this Friday – yay!!  I haven’t been to a quilt show since my own guild’s show last October so am really excited.  I’m hoping my knee holds out as I will be standing and walking a lot, but realize I may have to rest more often and pace myself more.  I will be taking lots of pictures and will start posting them on my next blog post.

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,  Gladi

 

12 thoughts on “June 19, 2017: “Simple and subtle” embellishments; 5 years of blogging!

  1. Peggy Norris

    Keep blogging! I get my daily “quilt fix” from blogs and enjoy seeing what others are doing and learning about the creative process. Love your embroidery and your haiku!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you so much for commenting and for your kind words. I, too, get a daily fix of quilting blogs first thing in the AM while I sip on my first cup of coffee – what a great way to start my days! Gladi

      Reply
  2. Marie Tymrak

    Thank ypu for sharing both your quilting activities and reflections on life. Frequently, I find myself with a mental response, like “Oh, I am not the only one……” I love that you share the reasons behind some of your decisions, such as the background related to spirals shapes. I look forward to the postings from the Vermont Quilt Festival and appreciate the many previous postings and the time and effort that you generously give to the blog readership!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you Marie for being a long time faithful reader and for your encouragement!! I enjoy hearing from you. Gladi

      Reply
  3. Evelyn Hatch

    Love the last haiku and, of course, all the embellishment embroidery on your silk stars. I AM inspired but, like you, waiting for cooler weather before I even start working on my silks. THANKS for sharing.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you so much, Evelyn. I’ve enjoyed hearing from you periodically and your comments provide me encouragement. Thanks for commenting on the haiku as well as my textile work. Since I’m new to the daily poems, it’s nice to know that some readers like them! Gladi

      Reply
  4. Susan from Germany

    Congratulations on five years of blogging! I only discovered your blog about a year ago, but it is now definitely one of my favorites. Love your quilts and your thoughts on the creative process going into each quilt. Also, your thoughts about life in general and the haikus are inspiring. Thanks so much!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Hi Susan. Thank you for your support! Your positive comments help to keep me going with the blog. I really like the idea of international readers, too! Gladi

      Reply
  5. Rose in VT

    Are you going to the Judges Panel on Friday afternoon? Best wishes for the walking and standing. Yesterday I survived an afternoon of volunteering at setup and realized it was only 3 months since my cast came off the foot. Felt good to be able to do it though. I’m loving the progress on your silk!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Hi Rose. Unfortunately I won’t be able to go to the judges’ panel on Friday because I have to leave the show at 4:00. I was able to go to this once several years ago and found it helpful and enjoyable. Good for you for volunteering to help with the setup! I would too if I lived close enough. Thanks for the vote of confidence on the silk quilt. Gladi

      Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      That would be nice! I’ll watch for you. Am looking forward to seeing your latest work! Gladi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

