June 27, 2017: Vermont Quilt Festival, Part 1

Greetings!  Over the years, in spite of an occasional grumble about the judging, the Vermont Quilt Festival has been very good to me, with quite a few nice awards.  This year, Spirit of Japan #3 got a BLUE RIBBON!  It actually hung straighter than I thought it would, the hand quilting looked pretty good, and it was UNIQUE – I don’t think another quilt in the show used the Japanese indigo style fabrics and pieces of old kimonos that I used.  The only thing I didn’t like is that the quilt, especially the upper and lower borders, did not show very well against the black backdrop.  Nothing to be done about that!  (click on pics to enlarge!)

And here I am with Pat who is married to my cousin Victor and whom I hadn’t seen for many years!!  She contacted me because she and friends were driving up from Pennsylvania to the show so we met there – what fun!

And the highlight of the Festival for me was meeting Bobbie Korengold!  She found me through my blog a couple years ago and we’ve periodically corresponded.  She is from the DC area and this was her first visit to the Vermont Festival so we decided to meet “at the Best of Show quilt at noon” and have lunch together.  I had seen pictures of her latest quilt on the net and was thinking it was highly likely we’d be meeting at her own quilt!   Sure enough – her quilt, “Threads of Friendship” won Best of Show.  Before I show some pictures and talk about this quilt, let me say that it was delightful to meet and spend time with Bobbie  – she is the nicest person and so humble about her work!  And we were incredibly fortunate to run into Christine Wickert in the lunch area and have lunch with her too!  I met Christine last year at Vermont when she won Best of Show.   This year she won for best miniature quilt – I’ll have pictures of that one today too.  We were also joined by Pam Weeks, the curator of the New England Quilt Museum for lunch.  Whew – what a lunch full of quilt talk!  Pure heaven!

Without further ado, here are picture of Bobbie’s Best of Show quilt – WOW!   Absolutely click on these for enlargements/closeups!!:

I thought I had a few more pictures, but apparently not, unfortunately!  Here are what I love:

Visual impact – it is drop-dead gorgeous!!  It’s one of the most beautiful quilts I’ve ever seen.

Exquisite workmanship – superb applique, embroidery embellishment (with the thin silk threads given to her by her friend), trapunto, and hand quilting

Design – avoids the typical row-by-row block arrangement of the majority of album quilts, which is refreshing!

The ribbon is a touch of genius!

So much detail to see – could look at this quilt for hours!

Congratulations, Bobbie!  Best of Show was so deserved!!

I also want to show you Christine Wickert’s winning miniature quilt, which is also astounding – incredible workmanship!  Sorry I didn’t get better pictures, but the quilt was hanging low, well below eye level, and there was always a crowd around it making it hard to photograph!

I have a LOT more picture of quilts from the show to share over the next several posts, but this is all for today.  Here are my purchases from the show:

That’s right – not one single piece of fabric!!  This must be a first.  Honestly, I didn’t think the fabric selection at the show was very exciting or interesting – seemed to be mostly “same old” stuff.  It seemed like the vendors were trying to get rid of inventory, rather than introducing new.  And there was a serious dearth of reproduction fabric – not that I needed any more!  There seemed to be a lot of wool, which I’m not into.  I bought 2 spools of “Bottom Line” from Superior Threads which I use in my bobbin most of the time – medium brown and gray to go with lots of colors.  I bought one spool – med. gray – of the new 80 weight Aurifil thread to try for appliqué and EPP.  I tried it out on this block for the pastel quilt:

My initial assessment is that it is good – very similar to silk.  The thread melts into the fabric and doesn’t show.  It is less slippery than silk and perhaps handles a bit better, but the end curls easily tho not sure it tangles any more than other threads.  One blogger didn’t like this thread, saying it broke to easily, but I didn’t find this to be true for me, at least so far.  I think the jury is out on whether this is any better than silk.  It’s a better value – I think you get at least twice as much of the Aurifil 80 weight for the money.  I like it enough to consider buying a few more spools, but I am going to try doing a more serious comparison with silk first.

As for the new book – I would like to try some of Debra Kemball’s flowers in silk on silk for a pillow for my living room.  Not sure when that project will start given everything else I’m working on!

My 34 year old son lives in Brooklyn, NY so I don’t get to see him much.  He was a theater major in college and has written and given me poems in the past.  I recently challenged him to join me in writing daily haiku and he accepted!  We are texting each other our haikus each day.  This is so much fun and I am loving this way of connecting with him better and more often.  I have a “sewing” related haiku for this week, written the day after attending the festival:

I am a maker

Cloth, color, pattern, and stitch

Feed my searching soul

 

One more:

Time is a river

There’s no stepping out or back

Enjoy the currents

 

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,   Gladi

 

 

13 thoughts on “June 27, 2017: Vermont Quilt Festival, Part 1

  1. Annette Johnston

    First of all, thank you Gladi for sharing your wonderful quilt with us. Regarding those backdrops it seems that just when you finally complete a quilt with a white background , the display company switches from black to white and vice versa. ‘Twas ever thus. I love that you share photos of these wonderful shows with us. I live in Alberta where we have a lot of wonderful shows, but they are not quite there yet with our sister quilters in the States. So thank you.
    I really like Barbara’s quilts. Although I’m on my 5th Baltimore, her work always makes me catch my breath. Have a wonderful summer…and no breaking anymore bones please. Warm Regards,. Annette J

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you! Yesterday I looked at pictures from the recent Canadian Quilt Show in Toronto – shown by Luana Rubin on the E-Quilter web site – and there were a lot of absolutely gorgeous quilts! Seems to me Canadians are doing very well and producing great work! Is there any way I can see any of your quilts? I can’t believe you are on your 5th Baltimore! Gladi

      Reply
  2. Mrs. Plum

    Congratulations on your well-deserved ribbon! Your quilt is stunning, as are the others you shared.

    Reply
  3. Susan from Germany

    Your blue ribbon was certainly well-deserved! “The Spirit of Japan” is so special and beautiful– it seems almost magical. And as far as the backdrop is concerned: I thought at first that you chose it on purpose. It seems to me to underline the mysterious beauty of the quilt.
    I recently bought the Euphoria book too. I have all her books and love her tips and her way of going about appliqué.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you so much! I do like the quilt a lot and look forward to snuggling under it next winter! Gladi

      Reply
  4. Polly Greene

    So glad to “see” the show through your eyes. Unable to get there this year even though there was a bus trip from Nova Scotia. And congratulations on your ribbon!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you so much! What part of NS are you in? We have good friends in Lunenburg. We’ve been up once for a visit and hope to go again. We toured around Cape Breton while there. NS is so beautiful!!! Gladi

      Reply
  5. Barb Vedder

    congratulations on your Blue Ribbon! your quilt is gorgeous! how nice to meet up with blog friends. I have met Christine several times and she is the nicest lady! congrats to you BIS friend on her Baltimore.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Hi Barb. Thank you – so glad you liked my quilt. I loved seeing your “Alice Payne”. I’d seen it on your blog but it’s really lovely “in person” and has great quilting. So sorry I didn’t get to meet you; I was on the lookout but it wasn’t to be. Maybe next time! Gladi

      Reply
  6. Paul McKenna

    Gladi, congratulations on your blue ribbon entry! No surprise there & the winning quilt is a stunning study of intricate detail. Clever to engage Michael in the haiku ritual and we are looking forward to our visit in a short while. Take care and keep getting your knee back to full strength…

    Reply
  7. Wendy C. Reed

    Oh Gladi, how exciting! A well deserved blue ribbon! I have vowed now to never miss the VT Quilt Festival again! I have had a very busy summer and have been away from Blogland for a bit, but will hopefully jump back in soon. Enjoy your blue!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thanks, Wendy. I look forward to a new post from you soon. I am working on trying to figure out how to respond directly on your blog – we’ll see if that happens! Meanwhile, I am aware of the Maine quilt show coming up in about 2 1/2 weeks and am hopeful of getting there, but not sure yet. Gladi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

