July 13, 2017: Vermont Quilt Festival, Part 4

Greetings!  One of the things I love about the Vermont Quilt Festival is that they always have a wonderful exhibit of antique quilts.  This year’s exhibit was excellent, as usual, and focused on stars.  I would love to reproduce a couple of these!  (click on pics to enlarge and see closeups)

I’m not usually a big fan of sampler quilts, but really liked this one, especially the colors:

 

This (below) was one of my favorites.  I’d love to make this one in reproduction fabrics, but probably with lots of different colors rather than the muted reds and browns of this one.  I could see hand piecing the lemoyne stars in each block as a long term hand-work project.  Not sure it’s on the top of my long list of quilts to make, though!

This was my other favorite that I’d like to reproduce.  I love the combination of piecing and appliqué of the center 4 stars and if I make it some day, I’d probably use that combo in all the stars:

 

Enjoy the pictures of other antique star quilts in the exhibit:

 

So much inspiration!  So many quilts to make!  So little time!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,  Gladi

2 thoughts on “July 13, 2017: Vermont Quilt Festival, Part 4

Leave a Reply

