July 24, 2017: 1. Doll Quilts update 2. My sewing room 3. A couple more NEQM pictures

Greetings!  After I gave myself permission to stop quilting “Stardust” I moved on to hand quilting the first of this year’s Trio of Doll Quilts and now “Sunshine and Shadows” is complete! (Click on picture to enlarge!)

I challenged myself to use contrasting thread so the quilting could be seen.  It was tough quilting through all the seams in the center so my stitches aren’t as even as I would have liked, but I’m satisfied with it and with the cables on the borders:

I played with the idea of adding hexagons between the fussy cut hexagon “flowers” on this doll quilt and, after trying several options,  finally came up with the idea to use fussy cut hexagons from the border fabric.  Here’s the quilt without the added detail:

And here’s how the additions look (not sewn down yet):

I’m happy with the look!  I’m currently hand quilting the second doll quilt – picture next time! – and then will do this one last.

I made one more block for the pastel quilt:

Here are my 9 block so far all together (keep in mind they are 8 1/2 inches right now and will be cut down to 6 1/2 inches, 6 inches after being sewn together):

Not great color rerpro in the picture above.  My design wall has been taken up for a long time with the silk quilt so it’s hard to get a look at eye level at anything else!

We recently had good friends visit for an overnight and, as part of getting ready, I straightened up my sewing room.  I thought it might be nice to share pics, esp. for newer readers.  4 1/2 years ago I moved into this unused bedroom and redecorated it for use as my sewing room.  I had outgrown a smaller bedroom – in particular it didn’t have room for a design wall.  I could still use more space, but overall it suits me quite well.  Here’s what it looks like from the doorway – you can see the sewing table on the left and my combined cutting and ironing table on the right.  The furniture is Koala brand.

Turning to the right, you can now see my design wall:

The cutting and ironing spaces are not large, but they work well for me.  It is very rare that I wish they were larger.

Here’s the room looking in from the other way.  The door hides a closet that hides a lot of my quilting stuff:

And here is a view a bit more to the right, showing the sewing area better:

It’s not a huge room, but it works very well.  I’m a strong believer that a bedroom in most houses can make an excellent sewing room and most of us do not need larger studios.

Finally, today I am sharing 2 more quilts from the New England Quilt Museum current show – it ends in a week so get there if you can!

Noriko Masui is a quilt hero of mine.  I am amazed by the complexity of her designs and the fussy cutting she does is incredible.  Enjoy the pics of this quilt:

I’ve always loved Suzanne Marshall’s work – incredible appliqué and hand quilting!  My picture of her write-up came out blurry, but here’s the quilt and a couple closeups:

I still have Parts 5 and 6 of the Vermont Quilt Festival to share in the next couple posts so stay tuned!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,  Gladi

2 thoughts on “July 24, 2017: 1. Doll Quilts update 2. My sewing room 3. A couple more NEQM pictures

  1. Wendy C. Reed

    Oh my! Your quilt room is so “neat”! So impressive. I need to tidy mine immediately! My main sewing room (as opposed to my annex of fabrics and quilts) is upstairs in my old farmhouse and the walls slant at the eves so I don’t have a design wall. Like you, I think I have too many quilts going for just one design wall! Your doll quilts are beautiful and so are the images from NEQM.

    Reply
  2. gladiporsche Post author

    Thanks Wendy. Of course my sewing room doesn’t always look this neat! Our guests were a great incentive for me to tidy up. I do really like being in the room, though, when it’s clean. GladI

    Reply

Leave a Reply

