August 15, 2017: 1. Doll Quilts completed! 2. Silk quilt update 3. Maine Quilt Show pictures

Greetings!  I completed my third and final doll quilt for this year’s “Trio of Doll Quilts.”  This means I have everything completed that I am entering into this year’s annual Cocheco Quilters Guild show in October.  It feels good to be ready this far in advance!  I’m entering Spirit of Japan #3, which was in the Vermont Quilt Festival, and my trio of doll quilts.  I’m so glad I decided not to torture myself and try to get “Stardust” completed by October!!  I know, the show is 2 months away – but I will be away on vacation for much of September (going to Prague, Vienna, and Budapest!!!!) and have plenty going on right now in my non-quilting world to keep my busy.  Here are the doll quilts and a closer look at the final one (click on pics to enlarge):

I sewed the upper and middle sections of the silk quilt together and have been adding the appliquéd circles and the embroidery that goes across the center where the sections meet:

The lower third section has a lot of work to be done before I will be able to add it to this section and finish the top.  Then I’ll have to decide how to hand quilt it!!!  I must complete “Stardust” before I start another hand quilting project!

Here are pictures from the Main quilt show I attended a couple weeks ago.  First I must mention that I cannot share pictures with you of my favorite quilt in the show!  It’s Wendy Reed’s quilt from the Shenandoah Botanical Quilt on-line quilt along and makers were asked not to show their completed quilts until there can be a special showing of these together.  So I’ll have to hold off until that time, but it is gorgeous!!  You can get glimpses if you check out her blog, The Constant Quilter.  Wendy had a second marvelous quilt in the show and I can share that one with you!  You can see it won an award!

This was a lovely appliqué quilt:

This quilt won Best of Show.  It was lovely and nicely done, but “my” BOS would have gone to Wendy’s appliquéd botanical quilt:

This is a wonderful hexagon quilt!

I thought this was an especially well done “low volume” quilt and I liked the Baptist Fan quilting!

I really do love star quilts and here are 2 excellent basic traditional star quilts, both well done!

As someone who loved chemistry – that was the reason I ended up going to medical school! – I couldn’t help but enjoy this very original quilt!:

I’m going to the World Quilt Festival in Manchester, NH later this week and will take many pictures to share!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,  Gladi

 

7 thoughts on “August 15, 2017: 1. Doll Quilts completed! 2. Silk quilt update 3. Maine Quilt Show pictures

  1. Paul McKenna

    Hello Gladi: such remarkable productivity of late! This will stand you in good stead as you and Al get prepared for your European tour. We wish you safe and satisfying travels!

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you Paul. To me it doesn’t seem like I’m accomplishing as much as I would like! Can’t believe our trip is less than 3 weeks away! When we get back, you can be sure I’ll be posting pictures on the blog. Enjoy the rest of summer. Have you gotten back to swimming? I have been swimming more regularly recently, but that will change to a lot of walking on our trip! Gladi

      Reply
      1. Paul McKenna

        You are a model of motivated effort Gladi…and your trip is coming up quickly indeed. We’re sure you are both well prepared for this great excursion and trust you’re going to have a superb time with many fine experiences. Of course, we’ll look forward to the photographic evidence of your fun! I must confess that my swimming visits are fewer than I’d like bug I have been rowing in our cove a fair bit and running around after Franklin and Milo a lot! Cheers, Paul

  2. Wendy C. Reed

    Oh how I love your trio of doll quilts! I do hope I can make it to the show this year. Cyndi and I will be going to AQSG seminar the following week, but I think we could make an effort to go to NH twice! Thank you so much for your kind comments about my quilt(s). Luckily I haven’t seen anyone posting the photo. I didn’t even think about that when I entered it. The museum gave me permission because it was so far away from VA and they aren’t planning on doing the exhibition until next spring. It was a fun one to do. Now I am doing another applique sew-a-long with Dawn from Collector with a Needle. Her Noah and Matilda quilt has been calling me for a while. Enjoy the day. And safe travels in September. My sister lived in Prague for a year and absolutely loved it.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Thank you Wendy. Your quilts at the Maine show were fabulous! I do hope you can get to our show – please let me know when you are going to be there if you can make it so I can be sure to be there then! I’m tempted by the “Noah and Matilda” quilt too, but would really like to complete some of my own projects first so hesitate to make such a commitment. Gladi

      Reply
  3. Lee

    Gladi: I am in awe at the quilts, both your own contributions ( well, I did have a sneak peek!) but also that amazing Sea and Shore piece. I’ve never seen anything like that in textiles! I should go with you to a show sometime.

    Reply
    1. gladiporsche Post author

      Hi Lee. I’m glad you like my work and I would love to go to a quilt show with you some time. Or if the timing isn’t right to catch one when you are here, perhaps it would be easier for me to take you to the New England Quilt Museum in Lowell where there are always exhibits of quilts on display. When my quilts are there in 2018 there will be an amazing exhibit of Japanese quilts there at the same time. I’ll let you know the dates when I find out. Gladi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

