May 27, 2024: Shopping; Project Updates; Earthly Delights

Greetings dear readers! When I travel with my husband, it’s never a priority to locate quilt shops and buy fabrics or supplies, but every once in a while there’s an opportunity to do so and it happened in Santa Fe. I had time on our next to last vacation day to explore Santa Fe Quilting, a lovely shop not far outside the downtown. This decoration had me laughing:

Actually, the only thing I was looking for was quilting needles 😊. It seems like a lot of my usual #10 betweens (John James, Roxanne, J. Kimball, Bohin) have been bending too easily with my current hand quilting project. This shop had these, which I’d never tried so I bought 2 packs:

Wow – these are fantastic!!! I’m totally in love❤️. They are super strong – no bending at all so far – and they really do glide through the fabric! If you are a hand quilter, I highly recommend them! But, of course, I did look at fabric too 🙂. When I’m not looking for something specific, since I have a sizable stash already, I try to buy only “unique” fabric that I’m unlikely to find anywhere else. This shop had a few shelves of authentic Japanese fabrics and I came home with 2 pieces that are interesting additions to my Japanese stash and already sparking some ideas:

The indigo is darker than in the photo. Both fabrics are lovely from a tactile standpoint and I look forward to incorporating each into something eventually!

When I got home from vacation, I realized that I was actively working on 6 – six! – projects. Too many! I can handle 3-4, but 6 is a bit much. So, I have put “Winterberries” and the “Red and White Crib Quilt” in temporary time out and am focusing on the following 4, for now.

Hand quilting “Time of Plenty.” This is the only one with a deadline- November. The center has 16 pieced blocks, 9 appliqué blocks, 12 appliqued setting triangles, and 4 corner triangles. Completed – 15 pieced and 8 appliqued blocks, 8 setting and 2 corner triangles! The center is almost done and then I’ll have several months to finish the border – doable!!

”Ursula’s Spring Baskets” – gradually getting the sashing made and connected and getting rows sewn together:

Once the top is together, I’ll get it outside for a photo so you can appreciate the lovely colors that don’t show off well in the poor lighting I have for my design wall. I have now formulated a good idea for the border and will share it when the center is together. It’s going to be more work than I was originally thinking, but that’s OK!

The Tiny Nine Patch Challenge. Latest photos – outdoors where the colors show better!

The latest batch:

I love how they look on black – I think I need to make a 9 Patch doll quilt with a black background 😊. A reader asked me to show the back. I am pressing all seams open and using a strip piecing method of making the blocks:

When I finish this week’s blocks, I’ll have 360 – 3/4ths of the 480 done.

The fourth project is my new “long journey” appliqué project, Kim McLean’s “Whimsical Vases”. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you might remember that I bought the pattern last summer and finally found the background fabric for it in March. There are 13 large 16 inch blocks in the center, on point, with 8 setting triangles and 4 corner triangles, all appliqued and 4 heavily appliqued borders so this will take a while! I’m using the “prepared edge” technique for the appliqué and have the first 2 blocks done!

I’m well into the third block and very much enjoying the process!

Earthly Delights: What a wonderful thing to come home from vacation to SPRING at long last! I’m reveling in the beautiful greens. Not far from the house the woods’ floor is covered in ferns – looks a bit like the northwestern rain forest on a smaller scale 🙂:

The ferns are unfurling:

The reddish sheaths of the shag bark hickory buds look like draped fabric folds as the leaves emerge:

The walk to the pond is all green:

At the pond I hear numerous “plops” as the frogs at the edges jump in as I approach. I’m unable to capture a photo. But I do see 2 separate spider webs!

I continue down to the river:

As I walk along, I see this:

It looks like a dinosaur!

I’m glad I got a photo because yesterday when I went back, the “head” was gone 🙁. But I got this photo on the path:

Another dinosaur with a horn! I’m going to call these “dinotrunks” 😊!

Lots of gorgeous textural lichens:

I saw this pileated woodpecker in my neighbor’s yard:

I hope you are enjoying whatever season nature is currently providing for you! I hope your stitching is bringing you comfort and joy.

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day, Gladi

17 thoughts on “May 27, 2024: Shopping; Project Updates; Earthly Delights

  1. acityquilter May 27, 2024 / 3:03 pm

    lovely spring photos….i too am suffering a bit with too many things on the ‘in process’ block…trying to move them along and NOT think about anything new altho….did pull stash for 2 small pieces that have been percolating in the gray matter for quite a while now…long hot summer ahead so will be hibernating in a/c…ideal sewing weather!

    • gladiporsche May 28, 2024 / 4:09 pm

      Thank you Grace! We all have to figure out individually how we work best, what pace, how many projects at once, etc. I’m sure you’ll find your joy!

  2. Eileen May 27, 2024 / 4:14 pm

    I love all your projects. I am a slow quilter these days, enjoying the process with no deadlines at all. I’m also doing the tiny nine patch challenge. It’s so much fun making all the different combinations. Still have not decided on a background. I tend to agonize over those type of final decisions!

    I also love looking for “faces” in tree trunks and nature in general. I was struck by your photo of the split trunk- the dinosaur with a horn. It almost looks like a little skeleton head or skull in the end of the other piece of wood. Do you see it?

    I enjoy all your posts immensely! Thanks!

    Eileen

    • gladiporsche May 28, 2024 / 4:11 pm

      Thanks Eileen! I didn’t see the skull until you mentioned it!! Stitching for joy, without deadlines sounds wonderful to me!

  3. pamdempsey May 27, 2024 / 7:28 pm

    I have the black gold needles, very nice! Your spring baskets are my favorite ❤️. Your Loch Ness monster and the other one are fun! We are in the 90s here for highs 🥵.

    • gladiporsche May 28, 2024 / 4:13 pm

      Thanks Pam! Hope you’ve got some AC

  4. Joan (Optional) Herrick May 28, 2024 / 1:58 pm

    Everything you do is beautiful. Kim McLean’s designs are not for the faint of heart. I look forward to seeing your progress on this project. Your fabric choices for the appliques are so much fun! Could you recommend some source material(s) for doing prepared edge applique? Thank you.

    • gladiporsche May 28, 2024 / 4:27 pm

      Thank you Joan! There are actually several different ways to do prepared edge appliqué and several different types of tools and products available. I use the method described and illustrated by Jeanne Sullivan in her book, “Simply Successful Appliqué”. I make my own freezer paper templates (triple layer)and iron the seam allowances over onto the “sticky” side of the freezer paper. I don’t use the special Appliquick tools or any other type of special paper for templates. If you don’t have or want to purchase the book, I think there are videos online you could search for. Best wishes!

  5. Rosemarie Castonguay May 28, 2024 / 3:30 pm

    You have four beautiful projects to work on and to keep you busy! I will have to look out for those hand quilting needles.

    • gladiporsche May 28, 2024 / 4:28 pm

      Thanks Rosemarie!

  6. Maggie Hawk May 28, 2024 / 4:16 pm

    Wow!

    Everythng you do is gorgeous! Thank you for sharing. And, thank you for backs of the nine patchesw.
    Except….. They look like tiny seams in the middle of the blocks instead of in the seams. Is it my bad eyesight? Am I just seeing the raw edges and not the seam?

    maggie

    arizonaroma@gmail.com

    T

    • gladiporsche May 28, 2024 / 4:35 pm

      Thanks Maggie! Try clicking on the photo to enlarge it and then , if your computer allows, enlarge it even further. With all the seams pressed open, it can sometimes be hard to see what’s going on. Without showing you in person, this is the best I can do. Because the blocks are so tiny the seams pretty much cover the backsides.

  7. Marie Tymrak May 28, 2024 / 4:34 pm

    All your comments and insights are appreciated, but oh the shag hickory blossoms are a picture of the literal unfolding of a miracle. If I’m exceptionally lucky, I may see this tree species. You’ve shared pictures of the unfolding blossoms of an earlier spring & I loved this spring’s image. Thank you!

  8. gladiporsche May 28, 2024 / 4:39 pm

    Thanks Marie! So glad you remember my previous series of photos on these amazing trees/leaves! One of the highlights of spring for me 😊.

  9. fletcherjean May 29, 2024 / 4:37 pm

    Oh, to be a painter and wander your woods with canvas, easel, and brushes, catching a bit of this or that in the painting! You have such lovely things to look at and walk leisurely through. So calming.

  10. Maggie Hawk May 30, 2024 / 3:36 pm

    Hey Gladi,

    Now I see the back the way it is. 🙂 Thank you again. You share a lot for your readers and you’re very much appreciated.

    maggie

  11. marissthequilter June 3, 2024 / 8:02 am

    Such fine work. I am particularly swept away by the whimsical vases and amazed by the narrow sashing on the nine patches.
    Size 10 quilting needles! I wouldn’t be brave enough. Size 9 is my limit

Leave a comment