June 14, 2024: “Stormy Weather: Shine A Light” is quilted and bound!!; Basket top center done!; Earthly Delights

Greetings dear readers! “Stormy Weather” is finally quilted and bound!! Completed except for a label and sleeve:

Martha Wilson did a wonderful job on the long arm quilting:

I started this quilt in July 2020, very early in the pandemic, when we had no vaccine, no treatment, and no idea of what was to come. The gray background represents the “Stormy Weather” we were experiencing because of all the fear and uncertainty. What to do? Shine a light!! Be kind and helpful to others and find comfort and joy where you can. The lighter and brighter colors of the appliqué are the lights shining through the darkness. The appliqué was all done by hand. The top was actually completed in November 2022, but it took me over a year to decide I didn’t have time to hand quilt it. It has a wool batting and is quite heavy and big – 96 inches square. It will eventually live on our bed, but not until cooler weather returns in the fall!😊

I love this quilt and it was a joy to make, from start to finish!

Another accomplishment: all the baskets for the “basket quilt” are sewn together with sashing! It happened gradually over 2 months, sections done now and then when I had time:

So, it is now on to the border for this, though I think I will take a rest for a few weeks before starting. The basic border fabric is what I used for sashing and I plan to use the darker turquoise of the cornerstones for a narrow strip between the center and border and for the binding. I will most likely do a – typical for me 😊 – simple vine and leaf border and will probably do it via machine appliqué so it won’t take so long.
With the basket quilt getting a rest, the 9 Patch project will go back on the design wall and I’ll start sewing more rows together. Here are this week’s patches:

Earthly Delights: I’ve taken some lovely walks recently – these are major stress relievers for me, especially since I often go with a friend and I’m lucky to have several friends that also enjoy walking and sharing conversations. I discovered a new, much larger pond in a woods setting a few miles away:

We saw a beautiful large heron fly over the pond and, when it landed, I was able to capture a picture with the telephoto lens of my new phone’s camera:

We saw a turtle on the path:

Another walk by the Atlantic on a gorgeous morning:

Also enjoying flowers, of course 😊:

Finally, ending this post with another humble creature seen on today’s walk – incredible camouflage!😊:

Happy weekend to all!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day, Gladi

17 thoughts on “June 14, 2024: “Stormy Weather: Shine A Light” is quilted and bound!!; Basket top center done!; Earthly Delights

  1. Marie Tymrak June 14, 2024 / 5:40 pm

    A lovely treat: a blog filled with both a completed masterpiece and a 2 in the wings toward finishing. Thanks for sharing the meaning of the “Stormy Weather” name. Oh, that camouflage example, with the heron…. real gifts. Thank you

    • gladiporsche June 15, 2024 / 7:23 pm

      Thank you so much, Marie!

  2. Kelley Secrest June 14, 2024 / 6:09 pm

    Congratulations on a beautiful finish! I’m sure you will be toasty warm this winter with this lovely quilt wrapped around you. I love all of your sweet nine patch blocks – so many wonderful color combinations. Wishing you a wonderful week ahead!

    • gladiporsche June 15, 2024 / 7:23 pm

      Thanks Kelley and I wish you a good week as well!

  3. Pat in WNY June 14, 2024 / 7:57 pm

    Stormy Weather is such a glorious quilt! Congratulations on another beautiful finish!

    • gladiporsche June 15, 2024 / 7:24 pm

      Thanks Pat! It always feels so good to finish something!

  4. Merrie Star June 14, 2024 / 11:22 pm

    Your workmanship is always superb and quite inspiring!
    You are so very lucky to live in and around a beautiful part of our country.

    I never tire of seeing your finished and WIPs ! Same with your wonderful photos.

    Many thanks!

    • gladiporsche June 15, 2024 / 7:26 pm

      Thanks Merrie! So glad you enjoy the blog. I truly am grateful I live amongst such beauty!

  5. Rainy Stevens June 14, 2024 / 11:44 pm

    All are gorgeous!!!

    <

    div>Rainy

    <

    div>

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

    • gladiporsche June 15, 2024 / 7:27 pm

      Thank you Rainy! Hope you’re doing well and hope to see you at a guild meeting soon.

  6. Janet Elia June 15, 2024 / 1:00 pm

    Oh my Goodness… as Always your work is amazing! Just LOVE Stormy Weather! Hope to see it in person one day!!

    • gladiporsche June 15, 2024 / 7:28 pm

      Thank you, Janet! Hope we cross paths again one of these days; will certainly contact you if we plan any trips to the Cape.

  7. Jocelyn Thurston June 15, 2024 / 1:25 pm

    Another delightful post, Gladi! What a joy to see your Stormy Weather looking so lovely in that setting! And your gorgeous baskets too. Along with lovely 9 patches too. You spy similar creatures as we do on our walks. I’ve counted four turtles in our little pond and many frogs which always make me happy to see. Happy Saturday!

    • gladiporsche June 15, 2024 / 7:34 pm

      Thank you Jocelyn! My northern New England and your, not that far away, Canadian landscapes are pretty similar. It’s lovely to observe the northern woods and woodland creatures 😊. I always enjoy your blog and seeing what you’re up to.

  8. marissthequilter June 16, 2024 / 3:16 pm

    Stormy Weather will bring you warmth and comfort and cheer when you sleep beneath it come winter. It is the most beautiful quilt. No wonder it brought you joy in the making.
    You are on a roll!
    And thank you for sharing your earthly delights photographs

  9. lhmosley3 June 17, 2024 / 4:34 pm

    Gladi, As always, I enjoy reading your blog. Your finished quilt is absolutely beautiful and a great inspiration to me in my work. I’m just a beginner in appliqué, but hope to improve over the next few years. And such great pictures of flowers and the pond and ocean. Amazing how good the pictures are now that are taken by a cell phone. Thank you for being a faithful writer! Laurie Mosley

  10. lynnjarzombeck June 18, 2024 / 1:45 pm

    Wow! You just keep on creating masterpieces. I’m in awe.

Leave a comment