March 20,2021: “Circle Love”

Greetings dear readers! Today is the first day of spring and it’s a lovely, sunny day here in NH – feels so good! I’ve been doing a lot of appliqué and appliqué prep this week and have been sewing my quarter square triangles together on the donation quilt, so even though I’ve put in a lot of hours, there’s not much to show.

I’ve also been working on my March mini and don’t want to share it until the end of the month. I’ll give you a little “tease” though. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know that for a lot of years I collected Asian style fabrics and I’ve made many quilts featuring them. Right now they are out of style, but I still enjoy using them. I’m currently trying to organize these fabrics and here are just the Asian “gold” fabrics:

They are beautiful!! I believe they are mostly Hoffman and Kona Bay and I collected the golds because they make great backgrounds and accents for the colorful Asian prints. So – I’m using bits of some of them in my March mini. And, of course, there’s hardly been a dent in the collection!

This past Sunday, the 14th was my birthday – 72!! The days, weeks, months, and years keep rolling by and I’m trying to cherish every minute. Al made me a fabulous Osso Bucco with polenta dinner:

And a cake. Maybe next year we can have a family get together!! We got our second vaccines the day before yesterday – so glad!

For the first time ever, the daylight saving time change was on my birthday so I lost an hour of it :). My birthday also falls on Pi Day: 3.14…….. Maybe that’s why I’ve always had an affinity for and love of circles. I’ve used circles in SO MANY quilts, either as the main design element or as added detail, so I decided to share pictures of these circles as the feature of my blog post today.

A block from my Mariner’s Compass quilt – not sure why I haven’t made another quilt with compasses as I LOVE them!:

Indigo River- center circles featuring vintage indigoes, plus the moons over Mt. Fuji:

Some of my doll quilts featuring circles:

My Asian quilts featuring circles:

My Japanese quilts featuring circles:

And a potpourri of other circle images in my quilts:

That’s a lot of circles and it doesn’t include my current sunflower project! It also doesn’t include several of my quilts that use “fan” designs, which are really partial circles!! Yes, I think being born on Pi Day has had an influence on me!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day, Gladi

29 thoughts on “March 20,2021: “Circle Love”

  1. Mrs. Plum March 20, 2021 / 7:32 pm

    Thanks for sharing your gorgeous quilts, Gladi! Lucky you, getting Osso Bucco for your birthday dinner. I’m glad you had an enjoyable day, even though you lost an hour of sleep.

    • gladiporsche March 21, 2021 / 1:17 pm

      Thank you!

  2. Chris K. March 20, 2021 / 8:54 pm

    What a gorgeous body of work! Belated happy birthday.

    • gladiporsche March 21, 2021 / 1:17 pm

      Thanks so much!

  3. mvquilters March 20, 2021 / 11:25 pm

    Beautiful collection of circles! Belated birthday wishes.

    • gladiporsche March 21, 2021 / 1:17 pm

      Thank you!

  4. Pat in WNY March 20, 2021 / 11:42 pm

    Your posts never fail to inspire with your love of color and pattern! Happy belated birthday!

    • gladiporsche March 21, 2021 / 1:18 pm

      Thanks Pat!

  5. Maga March 21, 2021 / 5:52 am

    Belated Happy Birthday from me too. Your quilts are stunning and always have me in awe of your craftsmanship. I love visiting your blog so Thank You very much for sharing your work here and many wishes for a happy and healthy new year.

    • gladiporsche March 21, 2021 / 1:22 pm

      Thank you so much for your kind words! So glad you enjoy the blog.

  6. Terry March 21, 2021 / 2:39 pm

    Oh my….. what wonderful eye candy. Your talent has no bounds. And Happy Belated Birthday from a fellow Pisces girl.

    • gladiporsche March 24, 2021 / 4:28 pm

      Thank you Terry and happy birthday to you!

  7. Kyle March 21, 2021 / 3:36 pm

    Your quilts are always amazing and seeing so many of your circle designs is a treat.

    • gladiporsche March 24, 2021 / 4:29 pm

      Thanks Kyle!

  8. Lynn Jarzombeck March 22, 2021 / 2:24 pm

    Well I have 2 years to make 200 quilts to catch up to you at your age. Ahhhh. Happy Birthday and thank you for the wonderful quilt show!

    • gladiporsche March 24, 2021 / 4:30 pm

      Thanks Lynn! Don’t try to catch up – just enjoy the process! 🙂 🙂

  9. Jocelyn Thurston March 23, 2021 / 11:51 am

    Belated Happy Birthday! That meal looks delicious. A man that cooks is definitely a keeper! Tony can manage to get a bowl of cereal but then needs help finding the milk in the fridge! And this has nothing to do with intelligence as he is a smart man.
    Well, I also enjoyed your photos of all those glorious quilts. I will keep returning to this post as I too love circles. You certainly know how to use the Asian fabric beautifully. And any fabric for that matter. Amazing work, Gladi.

    • gladiporsche March 24, 2021 / 4:33 pm

      Thanks Jocelyn. I know how lucky I am to have Al! For a long time, though, I did almost all the cooking, but when he retired before I did I insisted he start to do some of the cooking and now we share pretty equally. If he didn’t cook, I would have burned out a long time ago! 🙂

  10. Wendy C Reed March 23, 2021 / 3:56 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday! What a treasure Al is. That dinner looks amazing. What a wonderful display of eye candy! Circles are wonderful. I think we could both applique circles all day. We get our second Pfizer vaccine on Tuesday so I am hoping by mid April I will be willing to head down to the museum to check out the Pilgrim Roy quilts. I am hoping we could meet for an outside lunch!

    • gladiporsche March 24, 2021 / 4:38 pm

      Thank you Wendy! I love your latest circle quilt and look forward to seeing it soon! When you think you are going to the NEQM, let me know – would love to see the exhibit with you and have lunch!! Hope you did OK with the second shot – Al and I had no problems.

  11. Paul McKenna March 23, 2021 / 7:54 pm

    First of all, Happy (Belated) Birthday to you Gladi! We let the day go by without proper acknowledgment. Your quilting efforts are superb!! Stay well and healthy. Please pass our regards to Al and the rest of your fine family….

    • gladiporsche March 24, 2021 / 4:42 pm

      Thanks Paul! Can hardly believe I’m the age I am – don’t even want to say it! But am thankful for good health so far. Your books with the marbled paper are looking terrific!! Hi to Lee and the rest of the family from Al and me!

  12. LoriD March 25, 2021 / 2:00 am

    What a delightful post!
    Happy belated birthday!

    • gladiporsche March 28, 2021 / 8:14 pm

      Thank you Lori!!

  13. gladiporsche March 25, 2021 / 10:18 am

    Thank you!

  14. barbvedder March 27, 2021 / 7:41 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday! I’m glad you got your vaccine too wonderful.
    Thank you for sharing all of your stunning circle quilts. You are an incredible inspiration.
    I’ve been sharing your blog with lots of my quilt friends.

    • gladiporsche March 28, 2021 / 8:13 pm

      Thank you Barb! So glad you enjoy the blog and share the info with friends!

  15. Cathie J March 28, 2021 / 5:05 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday! I just found your blog through Jocelyn at Canadian Needle Nana. I am a math teach so I like pi day and circles also. I really enjoyed looking at all of your beautiful quilts. I dabble in quilting every now and then. I love those gold fabrics.

    • gladiporsche March 28, 2021 / 8:12 pm

      Thank you Cathie! Glad you enjoyed the blog!

Leave a comment