April 20, 2024: Quilt Expo photos!; Earthly Delights

Greetings dear readers! Today’s post is photo heavy because I attended the New England Quilt Expo in Manchester, NH last week. We used to regularly get national/international level shows at this venue – MQX (Machine Quilting Expo) and Mancuso shows – but that all disappeared during the pandemic. Last year a local organization stepped up to try to fill in the gap and put on a regional show. I didn’t get to that show, but heard it was marginally OK. The organizers learned from the experience and I heard this year’s was quite a bit better. I thought it was good! No jurying, judging, or quilts from out of the region, but there was some good local talent on display! My own “Sweet Journeys” was there 🙂. The vendors were decent, but, of course, not what you’d get at a larger show. Martelli was there and I treated myself to a badly needed new cutting mat – I love their mats and my old one was over 15 years old! They are relatively expensive, but very sturdy and last a long time.
Here we go with photos of some of my favorites- Enjoy!

Indigo Birds by Ramona Bateman – love the fabrics and the quilting!


2 quilts by Donna Viau: Under the Snow and Star of Fire:

2 quilts by Barbara Bergantz: Fade to Purple and Cottage Clover- Night Fancy (the second one is a Victoria Finley Wolf pattern that I love):

I really love this next one – the colors were gorgeous! Fire, Water, Earth by Donna Paxton:

It’s All About the Background by Jacqueline Soper – some day I’d like to make something like this because I love appliquéing circles!

This next one was a really unique color interpretation of this popular pattern by Edyta Sitar: “Spontaneous Alaska Sew Fun” by Nicole Merriam and Adam Rateliff:

I love the subtle colors in this next quilt and the piecing and quilting are amazing! Coral Reef by Norma Otero:

I have a few more to share in a future post, but that’s enough to absorb for now because I want to share photos from 2 recent lovely walks. We’ve had a lot of wet weather so the 2 nearby rivers are high and rushing. This one is the Oyster River:

The moss covering this stump looks like a tablecloth!🙂:

Tree down on the path to the river – from the recent snow storm:

On this walk to another section of the Lamprey River, my friend and I saw about 30 turtles sunning on trees that had fallen into the water! Hard to get good photos because the turtles slide into the water if they hear you coming:

Can you find them in the above photo?🙂. And here’s a typical forest “monument” – decay always coexisting with growth:

Have a great weekend! Hope you find time for stitching or whatever you like to do creatively.

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day, Gladi

8 thoughts on “April 20, 2024: Quilt Expo photos!; Earthly Delights

    • gladiporsche April 24, 2024 / 12:35 am

      Glad you liked them and, yes, there are more to come!!

  1. 107sophie April 20, 2024 / 4:06 pm

    Oh Gladi – another wonderful post! Thank you so much for sharing the quilts and the earthly delights. All the quilts were so impressive but I must say the quilting on the Indigo Birds was just incredible. Beautiful in itself but the perfect complement to those sweet little birds in that indigo fabric. The nature photos were just lovely and those dear little turtles have a sunning were a treat to see. 

    • gladiporsche April 24, 2024 / 12:36 am

      Thank you Sophie! So glad you enjoy the blog!

  2. Paul McKenna April 20, 2024 / 7:31 pm

    Great artistry on display here, Gladi. You’re among some highly talented quilters in NH (and beyond). What a creative milieu to operate within! I guess you know that Lee and I are heading (once again) to Lanciano starting Monday, April 22 until June 13th…I’ve been invited to fill in for a teacher who had to leave the School. What an unexpected adventure. We will keep you posted on our trip and, of course, if you and Al wanted to visit we’d be delighted. Cheers, Paul

    • gladiporsche April 24, 2024 / 12:40 am

      Wow – by the time I’m writing this, you should already be settling into your place in Italy! I know you folks will have a wonderful time! I wish we could visit, but it’s not in the cards at this time 🙁. Hope to see you in late June and look forward to stories of your Italian adventures!!

    • gladiporsche April 24, 2024 / 12:41 am

      Glad you enjoyed them!!!!

Leave a comment