March 29, 2024: Hexagon Stars top complete! The color brown; Earthly Delights

Greetings dear readers! The hexagon stars EPP project has been my intermittent companion for 6 1/2 years and I finally took the last stitch in the top – the last appliqued border diamond – 2 days ago. I put it back on the design wall for some final photos and to take a little time to savor my accomplishment! I did not count hours spent, but it was a significant amount of time and effort. Every stitch by hand. No pattern; just figuring it out as I went along.

I’m happy with how it has turned out! Now it goes into the “to be quilted” pile. Given that I have several months to go on my current 2 hand quilting projects and 2 more in the “to be hand quilted” pile already, I think this is destined for long arm quilting, but we’ll see…

Here’s my latest batch of 9-patches, looking great on a black background:

I now have 240 patches – exactly half of the 480 needed for the center of the quilt! I’m still enjoying making these and not bored at all. The antique quilt the sew-along is based on has a lot of brown in it; I don’t believe I’ve shown it here before so here’s most of it:

Screenshot

Some makers in the sew-along are trying to match the colors of the original, but clearly I’m not. In a recent Instagram post Taryn (@reproquiltlover) talked about the beauty of the color brown and asked participants to share some of their quilts featuring brown. I love brown and use it a lot! My stash includes a drawer of contemporary browns and a drawer of reproduction browns and blacks:

I use these frequently!! Especially in my fall themed quilts. Maple Leaf Rag – which is one of those quilts waiting in the “to be hand quilted” pile – is a good example:

Rather than show other quilts of mine with brown, today I’d like to share a beautiful brown quilt that caught my eye as I was looking online at winners in recent AQS shows. Isn’t this winner by Ruth Ohol gorgeous?!

Screenshot

I’m always on the lookout for earthly delights to share. The weather has been a hindrance recently, but I slip out in between the storms. After no snow for weeks on end and not a flake on the ground in mid March in the first time in memory, it snowed last weekend and then rained and everything iced over – the trees sparkled!

Then the rains persisted and washed all the snow away again but left everything wet and streams and rivers overflowing. I’ve never seen the bog so full of water and creeping over the path through it:

The clouds were lovely that day:

The green mosses and lichens were vibrant with color:

Do you ever question why you make quilts? Or create anything? I’ve mentioned before how much I enjoy reading the blog of textile artist Judith Martin. There was a quote in a recent post from an interview with artist Vija Celmins that I loved and am sharing: “Why do it? The older I get, the more mysterious that seems. It’s some kind of impulse inside you, and when you are working well there is a feeling of connectedness to the world, and occasional feelings of bliss.” I identify!🙂

With that lovely thought, wishing all readers a lovely week ahead as we move into April!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day, Gladi

14 thoughts on “March 29, 2024: Hexagon Stars top complete! The color brown; Earthly Delights

  1. Kelley Secrest March 29, 2024 / 8:36 pm

    Your hexagon stars quilt is stunning and I love the border treatment you designed.  Every star is so beautiful and unique – especially those with bright blue!  The quote by Vija Celmins is interesting.  There are recent studies in research journals that show that crafting, especially all types of needlework, is beneficial for our mental health in that it brings a sense of calm. I truly enjoy hand piecing for the sheer pleasure of the gentle rhythm of the needle pulling through fabric and doing something that has been passed down through generations. Wishing you a blessed week!

    • gladiporsche March 31, 2024 / 7:22 pm

      Thank you so much Kelley! I’m aware of those same studies and agree wholeheartedly about the mental health benefits of stitching, making, and using one’s hands. You have a great week too!

  2. acityquilter March 29, 2024 / 9:24 pm

    excellent flimsy finish….the work involved is evident. i have a lot of browns as well and am looking at them more closely now as i too have some some very nice brown quilt examples. enjoy the beautiful mosses…i hear snow is coming…

    • gladiporsche March 31, 2024 / 7:24 pm

      Thanks Grace! I think we’re getting a couple inches of snow Wednesday evening, but, at this time of year, it won’t last long 🙂.

  3. Martina March 30, 2024 / 8:50 am

    I always enjoy reading your blog and seeing your wonderful quilts.
    I sew and quilt exclusively by hand and a very wise woman once said to me: Every stitch heals a wound.
    I wish you a wonderful Easter.
    With best regards from Germany
    Martina

    • gladiporsche March 31, 2024 / 7:26 pm

      Thank you Martina! I’m so glad you enjoy the blog and I love your quote about the healing powers of stitching. ❤️

  4. Shary Fellows March 30, 2024 / 10:52 pm

    Gladi, every one of your posts is enjoyable and this one especially so. Taking the time to admire each of the hexagon stars in your photos brought to mind the times I’ve stood in front of a quilt at a show, admiring the choice of fabrics and construction. Thanks for sharing.

    • gladiporsche March 31, 2024 / 7:29 pm

      Thanks so much for your kind and supportive comments; so glad you enjoy the blog! It was a lot of fun choosing the fabrics and creating the star designs for this project!! The more tedious part was sewing all the stars together with the connector pieces, but my perseverance paid off!

  5. brownpandc March 31, 2024 / 5:34 pm

    Gladi, is the Judith Martin you mention the Judy Martin of many quilt books?

    I love the finished handmade quilt…..such a wonderful gathering of fabrics! Congratulations on the completion of a long term project! Carol in Texas

    • gladiporsche March 31, 2024 / 7:41 pm

      Thanks Carol for your kind comments! No, the Judith Martin I’m referring to is a Canadian textile artist. I actually have a link to her blog – Judy’s Journal – in the right hand column at the top of my blog under the heading “quilt inspirations.” Her work is very different from mine, but I admire her artistry and her thoughts about art. She has won awards at Quilt National, the premier show for art quilts, and is having an exhibit of her work at the big international quilt show in England this August – I forget the name of it.

      • brownpandc April 3, 2024 / 4:26 am

        Thanks Gladi. I went searching and found the Canadian artist you mention. Her work is quite different. 

  6. fletcherjean April 1, 2024 / 2:47 am

    When you show all that beautiful budding mossy greens and your bog, I can almost smell the scent of it all! Now we live in a rather dry climate, and moss, etc are not here to lend their colors and scents to things. Time for a drive up into the mountains! Thank you for sharing!

  7. Elizabeth E. April 1, 2024 / 9:18 pm

    From top to bottom, with the color brown as a star, this post is eye candy as well as nourishing to the soul. We don’t have lichen around here, so I lingered on those pictures, as well as the beautiful quilt you just finished. Congratulations on your finish, and thank you for the wonderful post.

  8. marissthequilter April 5, 2024 / 3:10 pm

    Your hexagon star quilt is superb. You must be well-pleased and proud — it’s an enormous accomplishment. Enjoy just looking at it. (I do hope you can quilt it yourself. I don’t suppose that there is an equivalent of hand quilting ‘long armers’).

    That’s a lot of brown fabric!

    I too follow Judith Martin.

Leave a comment