March 20, 2024: Birthday Getaway; Donation Quilt Completed; and More!

Greetings dear readers! Last week Al and I celebrated my 75th birthday with a 2 day getaway to the “Downeast” coast of Maine on western Penobscot Bay. We stayed in picturesque Camden and what really made it special was that our dear friends, Paul and Lee, were there from Nova Scotia with us! Highlights included a visit to the Farnsworth Museum next door in Rockland, which specializes in art by the Wyeths, and exploring both Camden and Belfast, which is up the coast a short way. I didn’t get a photo of all 4 of us together, but here are 2 photos from my very special birthday dinner. Lee and I look rather sedate, but the one of Al and Paul is much more representative of our happy time together!😊

I’m always inspired by art of almost any kind so it was a treat to spend some of my birthday at a good museum. On exhibit were some of Andrew Wyeth’s botanical paintings, an exhibit of prints and lithographs from the American Art Association, and some works from other collections including some by N.C. Wyeth. Some highlights:

I’m a big fan of etchings and lithographs; an example:

There was only one piece of textile art on view – cloth mounted on canvas, but it reminds me of a modern quilt:

I love the many shades, tones, and hues of blue in this N.C. Wyeth painting:

Another of his:

There was a room of interesting work by Marsden Hartley:

When we were walking around in Belfast, of course I had to go into one of my favorite quilt shops, Fiddlehead Artisans! I wasn’t looking for anything in particular, but I’ve been keeping my eye open for a background fabric for my next big appliqué project and found something! I bought this Kim McLean pattern last summer:

My plan was to use mostly Tilda fabrics on a yellow background, but after prepping some pieces for one of the blocks, I decided I didn’t want to use yellow 🙁. I found a dark blue in my stash but only had 1/2 yard and couldn’t find any more anywhere. So nothing has happened for months. At Fiddlehead I found a beautiful “peacock” color fabric for the background that I’m really happy with!

It’s a cotton/linen combo by Kauffman and slightly thicker than 100% quilting cotton so I will eventually likely use very thin batting – but that decision is a LONG WAY off! This is going to be one of those “long journey” projects 😊. I might not even get it started for a few more weeks.
Just before leaving for our little getaway, I picked up my library donation quilt from the long-armer (Sue Foster) and after returning I finished putting on the binding. So happy to have this done on time! It’s such a cheery, happy quilt – perfect for spring!

Here is my week’s set of 9 patches:

I also put my “leader/ender” quarter square triangle blocks (easy to make these with all the chain piecing for the 9-patches) on the design wall to assess where the project is; I like this setting:

The blocks are 3 inches square and will finish at 2 1/2 inches. 12 blocks across would be 30 inches. I think I will add a few rows to make it a rectangle and then keep it small – a crib quilt. I plan to add a border. However, this looks so much like autumn and I want to be working with brighter colors right now, so I think this will go into the “time out” pile for a while 😊.

I love “woods” walks, but sometimes I stick to the road and enjoy some open spaces and skies; those, too, are earthly delights:

I enjoyed all the “lines” created by the branches, trunks, and reflections in this view:

Happy spring to all my northern hemisphere readers! I’m truly looking forward to the return of light and color!
Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day, Gladi

23 thoughts on “March 20, 2024: Birthday Getaway; Donation Quilt Completed; and More!

  1. acityquilter March 20, 2024 / 8:15 pm

    a great post! the farnsworth is always a treat to visit… i’ve read about fiddlehead but never been, maybe this summer. good choice with the peacock blue and oh, love kim maclean’s patterns.

    • gladiporsche March 20, 2024 / 11:35 pm

      Thanks Grace! I strongly recommend the Fiddlehead Artisan shop if you are in the area!

  2. fauntiephillips March 20, 2024 / 9:16 pm

    Gladi, I so love following your blog and the breathtaking quilts that you make. When you start with quarter square triangles and then they turn into a masterpiece! I am curious as to how you are going to handle the intersections of all of those triangles meeting. Could you perhaps show us the backs and how you are going to make it so there is not a hump at the corners! Thank you so much. I live vicariously through you on your walks in the woods and the wonderful museums you are able to attend. I live in Saskatchewan, Canada and we still have a couple of feet of snow on the ground and mid May will be when we might think about putting out our annuals! Before that there is always a chance of frost.
    Thanks,
    Fauntie Phillips

    • gladiporsche March 20, 2024 / 11:40 pm

      Thank you so much for your kind comments! It is indeed unusual for us to have no snow on the ground in mid March! I think it’s the effect of climate change and, thus, worrisome. I will likely press those seams open to avoid those “humps” but I’ll try to remember to post about this when I finally get to sewing the blocks together, though it may not be till the fall! So glad you enjoy the blog!

  3. virginiaalavender March 20, 2024 / 9:35 pm

    Please unsubscribe me.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • gladiporsche March 20, 2024 / 11:40 pm

      I think that is something you have to do.

  4. Jill March 20, 2024 / 10:38 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday Greetings! Sounds like you had a great celebration which included a visit to a quilt shop. On our Maine trip we visited the charming seaside towns of Camden and Rockport on the way to Acadia. Lucky is the recipient of the donated library quilt. I’m curious on how all the pinwheels intersect at corners as well. Perhaps you press seams open. Kim Mclean patterns are beautiful with the brightly colored fabrics. Admittedly, I gave up on doing her Flower Pots pattern.

    • gladiporsche March 20, 2024 / 11:43 pm

      Pretty sure I pressed those seams open, but now that the quilt is together I can’t look to be sure! The Maine coast is beautiful!

  5. pamdempsey March 20, 2024 / 11:38 pm

    Oh, my! Looks like a very happy birthday dinner! Happy birthday 🎂!!! What did y’all get to eat? I’m glad you had a great time. Loving the new appliqué pattern and the peacock blue background will really let it pop! 😻I’m going to look for the pattern, I love the animals on it. I think our spring has sprung, trees flowering and leafing out and temperatures varying from 50s through the low 80s some days.

    • gladiporsche March 20, 2024 / 11:48 pm

      Thanks Pam! The food was delicious all around. I had lobster fritters for an appetizer and beautifully prepared Arctic char for my main course. The wine was very special and a gift from my friends. Let me know if you do start making Whimsical Vases. It will still be a few weeks here before spring is in full swing!😊

  6. Megan F March 21, 2024 / 12:55 pm

    Another “wow!” for that peacock blue fabric!

    • gladiporsche March 21, 2024 / 7:48 pm

      Thank you! It really is pretty!

  7. Paul McKenna March 21, 2024 / 1:41 pm

    Pleased to see you back at your blog, Gladi. Lots of quilting insights, scenes of Nature and adventures out and about. Lee and I were delighted to have shared your most recent birthday celebrations. In fact, we found it a “perfect” getaway from our own routines and were delighted to have the opportunity to enjoy this special time of the year with you and Al. We shall stay in touch and please keep us posted on further adventures. Paul & Lee

    • gladiporsche March 21, 2024 / 7:49 pm

      Thanks again to both of you for a fabulous time!!!

  8. Marsha March 21, 2024 / 3:44 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday! What a wonderful way to celebrate your birthday. The donation quilt is so cheery. I would have never thought of using the dark fabric for a background for the Tilda fabric. It will be stunning. I have a stash of Tilda to use but don’t know when I’ll get to it. My Di Ford stash is calling to me too…

    • gladiporsche March 21, 2024 / 7:53 pm

      I’ve had a fondness for darker backgrounds ever since I started quilting. They add drama to certain quilts and really seem to intensify the colors.

  9. Sharon Messmore March 21, 2024 / 4:49 pm

    Your work leaves us breathless. Every project is an inspiration.
    Could you please tell us what preparation method you use for appliqué?

    May the next year bring you health and satisfaction.
    Sharon M

    • gladiporsche March 21, 2024 / 8:04 pm

      Thank you Sharon! For my appliqué, I go back and forth using either needleturn (with freezer paper on top) or “prepared” edge (also called “turned edge”) in which the edge is already turned under before the appliqué stitching. Whichever I’m in the mood for, though needleturn is easier for intricately shaped pieces, IMHO.  For prepared edge, I use freezer paper templates and sizing to turn the edges under; I think I did a tutorial in a blog post in February 2021 if you want to check my archives.

  10. Robin March 21, 2024 / 7:27 pm

    The Peacock blue fabric is fabulous. It will make such a lovely quilt. I made the Roseville Album quilt by Kim McLean and it was quite a lengthy journey but I’m glad I had that experience. I, too, have Tilda fabric I’m not quite sure what to do with. Seeing your lovely background fabric is helping me see other options that I normally wouldn’t be thinking of. Would love to spend a birthday in Maine someday. . .

  11. gladiporsche March 21, 2024 / 8:07 pm

    Thank you Robin! The Roseville Album is a fabulous design and I did consider it, but decided on this one instead. I loved making McLean’s Stars and Sprigs design so am looking forward to this one.

  12. Kelley Secrest March 22, 2024 / 8:31 pm

    Gladi,  The beautiful peacock colored fabric will be the perfect backdrop for the Whimsical Vases.  Perfect choice!  Your local library is very blessed to have such a beautiful donation quilt and I am sure it will fetch a nice sum.  The leader/ender project is stunning!  Another commenter asked if you would show us how you plan to handle the intersections and I am looking forward to learning your process.  Glad you had a fun birthday!  Hope this will be a very special year for you!

  13. marissthequilter March 24, 2024 / 10:07 am

    Congratulations on a significant birthday and thank you for sharing your celebratory getaway with us.
    I am overwhelmed by the scale of your next project and love the colours of your quarter square triangle piece.

  14. nbhilyard58c5182215 March 25, 2024 / 2:04 pm

    You celebrated in style! We are long-time Wyeth fans–all generations. The Farnsworth is a gem. Your new quilt is (will be) beautiful. I plan to tune in regularly to admire your progress.

Leave a comment