May 23, 2021: A Visit to the Quilt Museum!

Greetings dear readers! I had a most wonderful visit to the New England Quilt Museum last week and I have some great quilt photos to share with you. My friend Wendy Reed (“The Constant Quilter” blog) was honored with an exhibit of her quilts and I was able to join Wendy to see the exhibit. I was also able to finally meet 2 blogging friends in person. So fun!

That’s Wendy on the left. In the middle is Barb Vedder (“Fun With Barb” blog) and on the right, Randy Danto (“Barrister’s Block” blog). After seeing the exhibit, we were joined by curator Pam Weeks and Lara Lane for on outdoor lunch. I can’t emphasize enough how wonderful it was to gather with friends to share our passion for quilting and not worry about the possibility of getting ill!!

Wendy makes amazing quilts, usually hand appliqued and quilted and it was such a treat to see many of her pieces again. Here are some more pictures of that great quilt in the above picture, called “The Grapes of Bath” because she lives in Bath, ME.🙂

I adore Wendy’s use of the color “cheddar” in many of her quilts. The next quilt uses the “potholder” method of construction which she is known for. Each block is bound separately before they are stitched together:

Wendy collects feedsack fabrics and used cowboy themed feedsacks on the border of this fun quilt:


One more for today (saving more for future posts):

The museum also had a wonderful show of quilts from the “Pigrim/Roy” collection that feature the color cheddar and I’ll be sharing some of those over the next few posts. Here was one of my favorites:

Another unique one:

Before the pandemic I used to love going to shows and museums and sharing photos with you and it feels like one more step towards normalcy to share these pictures with you today! More coming! The museum also had an exhibit of modern quilts which I’ll be showing in future posts.

The day I was gone to the museum, this happened at my house:

Amazing that this was the wood from only 5 pine trees, but they were huge- 90 feet tall. We now have less danger to the house and a bit more light 🙂. The folks who do this work are incredible and it is quite something to watch them maneuver huge cranes and other equipment and dangle from ropes as they take the trees down starting from the top.

We’ve had some great walking weather and I am immensely enjoying watching all the plant life spring forth. I’m also enjoying tree bark textures. The first one here is a hickory tree – many of these line a nearby road:

Love the shape of this next one – doesn’t it look a bit like the walking trees from Lord of the Rings?:

I recently revisited my favorite “forest monument” :

Baby oak – nice subtle warm colors:

And finally some brighter colors as the rhododendrons start blooming:

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day, Gladi

21 thoughts on “May 23, 2021: A Visit to the Quilt Museum!

  1. pamdempsey May 23, 2021 / 2:47 pm

    Beautiful! I have not heard of the potholder quilt method before and will check them out 🙂 Love the tree pictures and especially the shagbark hickory, we have plain bark hickory in East Texas.

    • gladiporsche May 23, 2021 / 8:18 pm

      Thank you Pam. One advantage of the potholder method is a smaller area to handle for quilting and also the quilting is all done when you’re ready to put the pieces together. I have not used this method – don’t think it’s right for my style of quilting – but Wendy does beautiful work with it!

  2. Evelyn Hatch May 23, 2021 / 2:56 pm

    Can you tell me the difference between split wool and wool batting?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • gladiporsche May 23, 2021 / 8:16 pm

      Hi Evelyn. Wendy uses Quilters Dream wool which is quite thick so she actually splits it into 2 thinner layers so that hand quilting is easier. It can be done if one is very careful to go slowly and not tear the batting. I’ve done this for quilting doll quilts, but have never tried it for a large quilt. I think the Hobbs wool batting is thinner than the QD and can be used without splitting it.

  3. acityquilter May 23, 2021 / 9:39 pm

    love wendy’s quilts….esp the happy trails…lovely post….sounds like an idyllic day….

    • gladiporsche May 23, 2021 / 11:26 pm

      Thank you! Sending healing wishes your way!

  4. barbvedder May 25, 2021 / 11:20 am

    It was such a joy to meet you in person and see quilts together. I remember your exhibit and how inspiring it was.
    I’m glad we were able to have lunch together.
    What a great Quilt Day.
    Wow – that is a lot of tree trunks. I don’t think I’ve seen a hickory tree in person that I can think of.
    Beautiful blooms.

    • gladiporsche May 25, 2021 / 8:05 pm

      It was a joy to meet you too and I hope we’ll be able to get together in the future! So much to talk about and share!!

  5. Randy Danto May 25, 2021 / 1:59 pm

    It was great seeing you at the quilt museum and having lunch together. Such a great trip for me to see all of Wendy’s quilts and to meet you and others in person.
    Your stars and sprigs quilt is going to be fabulous. I’m extremely impressed with all your leaves. I’m not likely going to do them.
    Always love your nature pictures!

    • gladiporsche May 25, 2021 / 8:08 pm

      Thanks Randy! I hope we meet again and can spend a bit more time together at some point. Meanwhile, I’ll enjoy your blog and have fun seeing where your “stars and sprigs” goes. 🙂

    • KinNJ May 28, 2021 / 2:41 pm

      Thank you for sharing these photos of incredible quilts and your walk. As my quilt friend always say, ‘ Everything is betta with a little chedda!’

      • gladiporsche May 28, 2021 / 7:42 pm

        Glad you enjoyed the pictures and I love that saying – hadn’t heard it before! 🙂

  6. Kyle May 26, 2021 / 12:06 pm

    Thanks for sharing the great close up pics both of the quilts and always the natural beauty along your walks.

    • gladiporsche May 26, 2021 / 12:15 pm

      Thank you Kyle for reading and commenting!! I enjoy doing it.

  7. Cynthia @ wabi sabi quilts May 27, 2021 / 4:37 am

    Thank you for sharing these great photos of Wendy’s quilts! She is a master quilter and I agree – her use of cheddar is spectacular. How fun that you all got together. A great Quilt Day is such a treat.

    • gladiporsche May 28, 2021 / 7:20 pm

      Wendy is indeed a master quilter and it was so nice to see her honored at the museum! I’m happy to be able to share the pictures. And “gathering” was wonderful, finally!

  8. Wendy C Reed May 28, 2021 / 12:29 pm

    I’m really behind on my blog reading and commenting! I am so delighted that we were able to get together last Wednesday! Such a treat to be out with friends. I think you for your kind comments about my quilts. You are such an amazing inspiration to me (and everyone!). It was a glorious day. And, wow! Seeing Al standing by those pines is so dramatic. I do love watching tree work, but from a safe distance. I’m guessing it will be great to have the added light too.

    • gladiporsche May 28, 2021 / 7:23 pm

      Thanks for your kind words. It was so wonderful to see you (and the rest of the group!) and your exhibit!! Wish we could do these kinds of things more often and that “life” and “distance” didn’t get in the way so much. But my motto is “cherish each day” and that day was special!

  9. A. Bouwman May 29, 2021 / 3:53 pm

    Loved all those beautifull quilts

    • gladiporsche May 29, 2021 / 9:19 pm

      So glad you enjoyed them! It was wonderful to see an exhibit in person again!

  10. Quilter Kathy June 6, 2021 / 2:23 pm

    Oh how lovely to see Wendy’s quilts! Amazing work! My Dad would sure love the Happy Trails quilt!

Leave a comment