May 31, 2021: May Monthly Mini

Greetings readers! For 2/3 of the month I had a hard time coming up with an idea for a mini that would engage me enough to start making. By May 20th it was pretty much “now or never” time and luckily inspiration struck! The day before I had been to the NE Quilt Museum to see Wendy Reed and her exhibit and I remembered being struck by her use of black in her wonderful half square triangle quilt, “Kathy’s Fabric (Boudreau’s Surprise)”:

Obviously I wasn’t going to make anything as elaborate as Wendy’s quilt with the beautiful cheddar appliquéd center and that gorgeous border fabric, but I could make a mini half square triangle quilt featuring black in half the squares and using brighter reproduction fabrics. I decided to limit myself to pink, green, blue, and yellow colors and to make the HST’s 1.5 inches finished. I’d use 8 different fabrics of each color and find a reproduction black print that I had enough of. Here’s my fabric pull:

And here is the finished quilt!

It is 17 inches square and the colors radiate out in order in each quadrant, rather than being randomly placed. Placing the yellow HSTs where they are highlights the vision of the on point square in the center.

I also didn’t want the “flying geese” effect of the blacks coming together in the middle of each side so I added the pink strips down the center vertically and horizontally to separate those squares:

I finished it with the black fabric for the border, with pink squares in the corners and a poison green/black fabric for the binding, and then hand quilted it very simply with straight lines, on point. You can see the quilting best from the back:

The center of the quilt, without the borders, is 12.5 inches. I could see how several of those blocks together could make an interesting larger quilt. Maybe even set on point:

Will have to put that idea in my “some day, maybe” list…. 🙂 For now, I am grateful to have been inspired by my trip to the museum, by all of Wendy’s quilts, and especially, in this case, by her wonderful half square triangle quilt. Go to Wendy’s blog, “The Constant Quilter” to see all the Monthy Minis for May!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day, Gladi

24 thoughts on “May 31, 2021: May Monthly Mini

  1. Carol in Texas May 31, 2021 / 1:23 pm

    Glad I, what a wonderful pair of quilts to show us. This is a terrific blog entry! I love the quilt of Wendy’s, which I had never seen, and I love the mini quilt it inspired! Black and those colors are just terrific! And your work is of such fine quality. This entry is a lesson for all quilters to look for inspiration in many places. Thanks! Carol in Texas

    • gladiporsche June 1, 2021 / 8:53 pm

      Thanks Carol! I do love those brights with black!

  2. Pat in WNY May 31, 2021 / 8:28 pm

    Beautiful interpretation of Wendy’s quilt! The black background fabric is the perfect foil for the bright prints. I’d love to see a larger quilt in this design.

    • gladiporsche June 1, 2021 / 8:54 pm

      Thanks Pat. I’d be tempted to start something larger if I didn’t already have so many projects going!😊

  3. Kyle June 1, 2021 / 2:41 am

    I always enjoy reading your creative thought process in designing your monthly mini. Those bright repro are exciting against the black background. Wendy’s quilts and imagination are an inspiration to all of us. Great job!

    • gladiporsche June 1, 2021 / 8:56 pm

      Thank you Kyle! I love using those bright reproductions!

  4. Angie June 1, 2021 / 10:49 am

    Using the black contrasting fabric adds a whole new twist to this style of quilt! Now I want to go make one for myself!

    • gladiporsche June 1, 2021 / 8:57 pm

      That black is really what caught my attention and inspired me!

  5. Wendy C Reed June 1, 2021 / 11:39 am

    Oh my! Needless to say, I love it! But, I can’t believe you pulled this off in just 1/3rd of the month! And, hand quilted to boot. We definitely have an affinity for these colors. Thanks for another great mini. I have linked you in.

    • gladiporsche June 1, 2021 / 9:00 pm

      Thank you so much Wendy for your inspirational quilt! I might use this idea again one of these days 😊.

  6. Janet Elia June 1, 2021 / 11:58 am

    Beautiful!

    • gladiporsche June 1, 2021 / 9:00 pm

      Thanks Janet!

  7. Mary June 1, 2021 / 2:09 pm

    I loved seeing both these gorgeous quilts. Eye candy and inspiration for the day.

    • gladiporsche June 1, 2021 / 9:01 pm

      Thanks Mary. Glad you enjoyed the post!

  8. pamdempsey June 2, 2021 / 12:44 pm

    Very pretty!

    • gladiporsche June 4, 2021 / 12:27 am

      Thanks Pam!

  9. Cynthia @ wabi sabi quilts June 3, 2021 / 1:52 am

    How wonderful to make a mini with Wendy’s gorgeous quilt as inspiration. Both are so rich and radiant (your colors literally radiate).

    • gladiporsche June 4, 2021 / 12:29 am

      Thank you Cynthia! I’m so lucky that Wendy’s quilt was there to inspire me!

  10. barbvedder June 3, 2021 / 12:44 pm

    Wonderful mini and great inspiration quilt.
    A nice reminder of her exhibit. Both quilts have wonderful luminosity.

    • gladiporsche June 4, 2021 / 12:31 am

      Thanks Barb. You’re right – this mini will be a nice remembrance of that exhibit and that fun day!

    • gladiporsche June 4, 2021 / 12:31 am

      Thank you Jocelyn!

  11. Quilter Kathy June 6, 2021 / 2:28 pm

    What a treasure you made! I love the colours you chose and the quilting is perfection!

Leave a comment