December 28, 2021: Monthly Mini – “Christmas Forest”; Earthly Delights

Greetings dear readers! My perception of time is changing as I get older. It truly feels like it’s going faster and faster and here we are on the cusp of another new year, 2022! Let’s hope that 2022 is the year the pandemic is finally over. Not only is it not over yet, but the Delta variant is still causing a lot of illness and the new Omicron variant is running rampant and disrupting our lives. So frustrating! I’m eternally grateful for the vaccine and cannot comprehend why so many refuse it??? No man is an island. If we care for our fellow human beings, we get vaccinated. Period! End of discussion!

Because of the holidays, I wasn’t sure I would get a Mini done this month, but some things were cancelled and the time was found. I’ve been wanting to make a ”little tree” quilt for a long time. I don’t really have a Christmas quilt for myself and wanted to remedy that situation so I made a mini with Christmas trees! Here is ”Christmas Forest”:

I drafted my own little foundation paper pieced tree pattern. Tree blocks are 2 x 4 inches. I have a small stash of Christmas fabrics and tone on tones that go with them so had no trouble finding a different fabric for each tree:

That background fabric is a Moda Christmas print that has been in my stash for at least 15 years, waiting for the right project!😊 I used it on the back, too:

I combined machine and hand quilting – machine quilting for outlining the blocks and hand quilting for outline quilting the border leaves, quilting inside the trees, and for making trees in the open areas of the border:

The opposite corners have the vines and leaves:

I’m quite happy with my Christmas Forest!!

Final size is 16 x 21.5 inches. What a year it’s been for me participating in this wonderful group of quilters devoted to making minis! I’ve really loved the challenge and managed to make something every month! In an upcoming post I’ll be reviewing the year and showing photos of them all. Thanks to Wendy at The Constant Quilter for making the sharing of these happen; go to her web site to see the other December minis.

I’m sharing some earthly delights today! First, this amazing amaryllis with 8(!) blossoms blooming on it at once!

We had freezing rain much of Christmas day and the temps fell afterward, leaving a coating of ice on everything. It was beautiful!

The woods looked enchanted:

I liked how the snow accumulated on the trunk of this tree:

And how the ice on these branches created an intricate weave of lines:

Last week I was lucky to see a beautiful Mackeral sky:

If you are interested in seeing photos of some great quilts, here are 2 recommendations. Jenny Lyons shows a lot of great photos of quilts from the recent Houston Quilt Festival in 2 November posts on her blog at quiltskipper.com. There are many wonderful pictures of quilts from a recent Australian quilt show at victorianquilters.org. Enjoy!

Hoping to post again before the end of the year, but if I don’t, I wish all of us a healthy and satisfying year ahead, full of creativity and friendship!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day, Gladi

27 thoughts on “December 28, 2021: Monthly Mini – “Christmas Forest”; Earthly Delights

  1. juliekquilts December 28, 2021 / 9:44 pm

    I just adore your Christmas quilt…especially your border! It is perfect!

    • gladiporsche December 29, 2021 / 9:40 pm

      Thank you Julie! I’m happy with how it came out!

  2. Marsha December 28, 2021 / 9:47 pm

    Cute little quit. The background fabric is so precious. Loved all the winter photos. Our snow isn’t melting, we’re just getting more from the Arctic blast!

    • gladiporsche December 29, 2021 / 9:42 pm

      Thanks Marsha. So glad I finally was able to use some of that Moda fabric! Our snow is also staying, so far. I like it as long as the roads are clear!😊

    • gladiporsche December 29, 2021 / 9:42 pm

      Thanks Grace!

  3. Marie December 29, 2021 / 1:10 am

    Your Little Trees turned out beautifully, and just in time to celebrate with this season. Congratulations on a sweet finish! And that photo of the amaryllis is stunning!

    • gladiporsche December 29, 2021 / 9:46 pm

      Thanks Marie. I think that amaryllis is a mutant!😊. This mini was so much fun that I’m looking forward to exploring some different color and design layouts for another little tree quilt. Happy New Year to you!

  4. Janet O. December 29, 2021 / 1:50 am

    What a lovely forest of trees! Beautiful variety in the fabrics. And I think your appliqued border is the perfect finish.
    Gorgeous photos from the ice storm–and I am really grateful I didn’t have to go out in it to enjoy the scenes.
    Love the shots of the sky, too.
    Looks like I missed your last post. I need to go check it out.

    • gladiporsche December 29, 2021 / 9:47 pm

      Thanks Janet for all your kind comments! I’m really glad you enjoy the different topics in my blog.

  5. Pat in WNY December 29, 2021 / 5:23 pm

    Your little forest of Christmas trees is wonderful, the border seems a perfect match with the amaryllis! I love to see the morning sun shining on icy branches after a storm, as long as it’s a thin layer. Lovely nature photos as always.

    • gladiporsche December 29, 2021 / 9:50 pm

      Thanks Pat! Without color to focus on in the winter, I look forward to exploring and photographing the beauty of ice and snow!😊

  6. Randy Danto December 29, 2021 / 6:33 pm

    Nice job on getting that mini done and it’s wonderful. I do love your background/backing fabric. It’s perfect. WOOHOO. Great finish for the year.
    I always enjoy your nature shots and this installment didn’t disappoint. Are you using your phone or a camera? The close ups (for instance the ice on the branches) is pretty spectacular.
    thank you for always enlightening me.
    Happy New Year to you as well!
    xxx

    • gladiporsche December 29, 2021 / 9:54 pm

      Thanks so much Randy! All my photos are taken by my iPhone; it’s not even a new one. I’ve started to play with the editing function – this helps me improve the colors and lighting. The editing is fun.

  7. Kyle December 29, 2021 / 8:36 pm

    Christmas Forest is the perfect ending to 2021. Love the fabrics you chose for the trees, just enough sparkle and spunk. I’m ready to do some trees too.

    • gladiporsche December 29, 2021 / 9:58 pm

      Thanks Kyle. Choosing fabrics is one of my favorite aspects of making quilts and choosing for this one was fun! Do make some little trees!

  8. marissthequilter December 30, 2021 / 3:30 pm

    Your Christmas forest is delightful and so beautifully stitched. Glad you made a Christmas quilt for yourself and also used that lovely 15-year-old Christmas fabric !
    Your photographs of the snow and ice are exquisite.
    Happy New Year to you. I agree that time seems to be gaining momentum and that none of us is an island.

    • gladiporsche January 3, 2022 / 8:06 pm

      Thanks Mariss for all your lovely comments!

  9. audrey December 31, 2021 / 3:52 am

    What a sweet little mini! The vine and leaves are perfect for the border.:) Love all your winter pics too!

    • gladiporsche January 3, 2022 / 8:06 pm

      Thanks Audrey!

  10. Paul McKenna December 31, 2021 / 11:49 am

    Christmas, in all its many colours and forms, is all over this recent post. Your work is lovely and the nature photography is charming. We both miss you and wish we could have seen you over the holidays leading up to New Year. However, we see delicious dishes on your table, fellow musicians around your baby grand, and lots of good cheer in your home. Wishing you and Al an auspicious 2022. Perhaps things will permit some closer exchanges during the New Year. We can but hope! Best Regards, Paul & Lee

    • gladiporsche January 3, 2022 / 8:13 pm

      Thanks to both of you for your kindness and support and friendship! I hope your holidays went well! Now we hunker down and hope that the trajectory of the Omicron surge shows as rapid a fall as has been the rise🤞and that by spring at the latest we are out and mingling with little worry. It would be great to see you in 2022!

  11. Wendy C Reed December 31, 2021 / 2:08 pm

    Oh what a happy quilt to end this crazy year. I adore the background fabric. It really sets off those beautiful trees. And, of course your gorgeous applique makes the quilt! Thanks for hanging in there in this tumultuous year! I have high hopes for 2022 and I wish you and your family a very Happy New Year!

    • gladiporsche January 3, 2022 / 8:16 pm

      Thanks Wendy! Let me know if you plan to go to NEQM to see Barb’s exhibit – perhaps we could meet there to see it and have lunch! Happy new year!

  12. Cynthia @ wabi sabi quilts January 2, 2022 / 1:31 am

    I absolutely love your Christmas forest – what a festive and beautiful mini. And I agree with you wholeheartedly about the vaccine! Thank you for the stunning photographs – what beauty in your area and you really have an eye for photographing nature. The ice! The sky!

    • gladiporsche January 3, 2022 / 8:16 pm

      Thanks Cynthia!

  13. barbvedder January 4, 2022 / 2:20 pm

    Delightful Christmas Mini!
    What lovely amaryllis blooms and those icy photos are surreal and beautiful

Leave a comment