September 26, 2017: “Twinkle” comes out of hiding; EPP while traveling; more Prague; World Quilt Show pictures, Part 3

Greetings!  I took 2 English Paper piecing projects with me while we traveled in Europe.  In the evening and early morning when I didn’t feel like reading, they were the perfect way to relax.  I finally – FINALLY – have the lower border of “Twinkle” planned using the English Paper pieced pentagon flowers I made on the trip.  Here is a “mock up” showing an idea of how it’s going to look and pictures of all the little “flowers” I made on the trip.  Am also including a couple pics of the rest of the quilt since I haven’t shown it in a while (click on pics to enlarge):

I also started an EPP project using reproduction fabrics and showed a few of these in my post just before the trip.  I made about a dozen more on the trip:

I have another dozen cut out and ready to carry around with me as a portable project.  I’ll be shopping soon for a background fabric to start joining all of these.

All three cities we  visited were very involved in the Art Nouveau movement at the turn of the 20th Century.  In Prague I took a tour of the Municipal Building which is known as one of the most beautiful art nouveau buildings in Europe.  Here are some pictures of some of the features in some of the rooms:

The Alphonse Mucha room – everything in it done by him:

Textiles with art nouveau designs:

I loved the fact that we literally stumbled across this plaque of Beethoven in Prague while out wandering, having no idea that we would come across a place where he stayed for several months and composed some of his pieces!

Here are a few more pictures of quilts from the World Quilt Show, as promised!

Lovely design in machine appliqué:

 

An honorable mention in the Traditional quilt category:

Award for best quilt from Israel – love the details on this one!!:

Like this design a lot:

I thought this was the best of the 4 (only 4, sob!) Japanese quilts in the show and I liked the hand work:

Next post I’ll show pictures from Cesky-Krumlov in the Czech Republic where we spent 2 nights and maybe get to some Vienna pictures.  I hope to have the center of my silk quilt completed within the next few days!  There are still more pictures from the World Quilt Show.  Stay tuned!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,  Gladi

 

2 thoughts on “September 26, 2017: “Twinkle” comes out of hiding; EPP while traveling; more Prague; World Quilt Show pictures, Part 3

  1. Mrs. Plum September 27, 2017 / 2:06 am

    Oh, Gladi, your posts are always so inspirational, whether it is your own work or someone else’s! I was especially taken with your Twinkle quilt, the Israeli pomegranate quilt, and the doors on the building where Bethoven stayed in Prague. Thanks so much for sharing!

    • gladiporsche September 28, 2017 / 11:26 am

      Thank you! I plan to feature pictures of doors from my trip in another post! There were many incredible doors – maybe used for inspiration for a quilt some day?! Gladi

Leave a comment