November 12, 2021: Project Updates and More Quilt Photos!

Greetings dear readers! It’s a gray, rainy, and windy day here and the remaining leaves on the trees are swirling and falling, bringing to mind the snow that is sure to come within the next several weeks. Most of our color is gone, but I’ve been enjoying the last bits of amber and copper:

I’ve had so much to share of other people’s work in my last few posts, that I haven’t posted about my own work so I think a quick update is in order! I’ve been working on 4 projects, my mood determining which one at any given time. I am determined to finish hand quilting ”Golden Glow” within the next 1-2 months and am making good progress!

I am quilting the last of the 9 center blocks and recently finished the 3rd border and all the corner blocks. The end is in sight!😊

I have been working almost every day on Maple Leaf Rag borders:

In the photo above, moving left to right: The first 2 strips are the left and right borders and are completely finished – all the applique and embroidery. The third strip is the upper border and all the applique is complete; all the embroidery needs to be added. The 4th strip is the lower border and all the leaves are basted on and awaiting both applique and embroidery. Great progress! I will still need to design something for the corners and have started playing with some ideas. Here are 2 closeups, the first without, the second with, the embroidery embellishments to show how much the latter adds:

I recently finished adding the vines to the 4th border of Stormy Weather:

It looks like I have more done than I really do because the applique is complete on only about half of the 3 borders with the leaves, but there is slow progress! I’m going to start choosing fabrics for and preparing the leaves for the 4th border before finishing the applique on the others.

The 4th thing I’m working on is my November Mini. It’s Janet’s (Rogue Quilter blog) ”Baggie Challenge” and I’ll tease you with a photo of the baggie of fabrics I’m working with. All will be explained and revealed at the end of the month!

Today I want to share a few more of the photos from my trip to Rochester, NY. My fabulous host, Christine Wickert, shared one of her prized possessions with me – a special quilt she had admired from a show vendor for a long time and was finally able to purchase. It’s beautiful and meaningful! Sorry I didn’t get a good full view, but you can enjoy the lovely details:

I find it fascinating that mushrooms/fungi were found in some areas of the quilt – this culture recognizes their ecological importance!

What a truly gorgeous work of textile art; the photos don’t quite do it justice!

I also want to share the Genesee Valley Quilt Club’s new raffle quilt revealed at the meeting at which I spoke:

An original design by their own members and the quilting was wonderful – sorry, I don’t remember the name of the quilter, but it’s likely on their web site:

And here are 2 photos of fun quilts I snapped from the show and tell portion of the meeting:

Here are 3 more quilts from the Cocheco show – all blue and white:

Maybe I can get around to showing all the quilts from the special red and white quilt exhibit in the next post!

I’ll finish this post with 2 more wonderful quilts from The Fabric of a Nation exhibit at the Boston MFA. Take time to enjoy the details!!

I still have many more quilts from the exhibit and the Cocheco show to share. Hope your November is going well!

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day, Gladi

29 thoughts on “November 12, 2021: Project Updates and More Quilt Photos!

  1. clairewitherspoon November 13, 2021 / 1:56 am

    Thank you so much for posting pix of these historic quilts. They are so interesting an just seeing some of their details I feel I learn so much from their lives and interests!!!!

    • gladiporsche November 16, 2021 / 9:04 pm

      Thanks for commenting! I’m glad to enjoy the photos.

  2. Nann November 13, 2021 / 2:53 pm

    So much beauty packed into one post! Your applique projects are wonderful. The Hmong quilt is remarkable. I’ve seen the C Winne/Crazy City quilt in books–what an opportunity to see it in person.

    • gladiporsche November 16, 2021 / 9:05 pm

      Thank you Nann for your kind words! I wish I could purchase a Hmong quilt like the one Christine has, but it’s one of a kind!

  3. acityquilter November 13, 2021 / 5:46 pm

    gorgeous quilts you are working on…and oh that tree of life…astounding work and such a beautiful result….all the quilt show pieces are gorgeous too…

    • gladiporsche November 16, 2021 / 9:05 pm

      Thank you Grace!

  4. Juliana Ellington November 14, 2021 / 2:28 am

    Your appliqued quilt is just incredible. I was thrilled to reach the end of your post and discover the silk applique and embroidery quilt that I saw over two decades ago in Boston!! You have shared such amazing quilts in this post, including your own. Thank you!

    • gladiporsche November 16, 2021 / 9:06 pm

      Thank you Juliana for your kind words! When you first mentioned that silk quilt, I thought this might be the one!!

  5. Janet O. November 14, 2021 / 4:09 am

    Each of your projects leaves me in awe! The patience and skill required for each one is incredible by itself, but the quality of workmanship is over the top.
    I am thrilled that you are participating in the baggie challenge. Can’t wait to see your creation!
    That Hmong Tree of Life is jaw-dropping. Thank you for the close-ups. It was fascinating to study the details.
    Corona Blues really spoke to me. Blue and white quilts are so soothing to me, and that one was a visual treat.
    It was really fun to look closely at the pictorial crazy quilt.
    Thanks for sharing so many inspiring quilts.

    • gladiporsche November 16, 2021 / 9:08 pm

      Thanks so much Janet for your kind words! Really glad to hear you enjoy seeing all the photos. I have almost finished the “Baggie” mini – nice to have it done early for a change! Thanks for proposing this – I really enjoyed it!!

  6. mahi patel November 15, 2021 / 3:01 pm

    I have seen that every person wants to express their feelings but they are not able to express their feelings properly in words but the content you have written in your post is very beautiful, it seems that you have expressed your feelings Has expressed. Hi, you are a person who writes a very beautiful post, in the same way, you keep writing new posts in your life, our best wishes are with you.

  7. Cynthia November 15, 2021 / 11:03 pm

    It’s nice to see all these quilts! Just such a treat! The Hmong quilt is just amazing and beautiful. I love seeing what you are working on. Your borders are simply amazing.

    • gladiporsche November 16, 2021 / 9:10 pm

      Thanks Cynthia. That Hmong quilt is gorgeous!! I can hardly believe all the time and energy that has gone into making the borders for those 2 quilts, but I’ve enjoyed the process.

  8. Wendy C Reed November 16, 2021 / 1:34 pm

    You are such an inspiration! Your work is always stunning. I can’t wait to see what you do with your little “baggie” of scraps. That is the most amazing Hmong quilt I have ever seen. I am so glad it is in the hands of Christine who will cherish it forever. Thanks for sharing all these wonderful photos.

    • gladiporsche November 16, 2021 / 9:11 pm

      Thanks so much Wendy! I agree – the Hmong quilt is amazing!!! Christine deserves to have it.

  9. barbvedder November 17, 2021 / 12:28 pm

    Your ragtime quilt is coming along and perfect for this time of year. I’m looking forward to see where your baggie project is going. I still need to find a baggie in my SR. There are many!
    Thank you for sharing more photos of the guild visit, show and museum.
    Crazy City is one of my favorite quilts of all time. I MUST get up to Boston!

  10. marissthequilter November 19, 2021 / 2:34 pm

    Your work is exquisite. I am in awe of the large and intricate pieces you are making. The borders alone would defeat me! Couldn’t but think that the mini quilt (in the bag) would offer some respite from that fine applique work.
    Thank you for sharing the other remarkable quilts made by other quilters.

  11. Pihubansal November 30, 2021 / 9:17 pm

    Your awesome topic is yours. I like these topics very much. I would like to have such topics daily, this post is really good for you. There are people like you in the world who put their views in front of everyone. Thank you from the heart.

  12. Chekzi February 11, 2023 / 4:22 am

    Exact Topic That I needed and I have found it here. Excellent work on sharing your point of view with us. Check mine also with Chekzi

Leave a comment