August 30, 2019: A change of plans!; A few more silk quilts from the NEQM

Greetings!  Here is my new close companion:

A walker!   8 days ago I had a totally freak accident.  A step stool I stood on to reach into the top of a closet collapsed – a loose leg fell off (of course, I didn’t know it was loose) – and I was pitched off the stool hard onto a hard wood floor, landing on my left side.  Luckily Al was home. I could not put any weight on my left leg so had to go to the hospital in an ambulance.  I have 2 non displaced fractures of my left pelvis.  The good news is that  I don’t have a hip fracture and don’t need any surgery and I feel well overall.   I should heal completely in 2-3  months with no residual effects.  Already I am doing a lot better than I was the first few days.  I have virtually no pain at rest and it’s tolerable using the walker.  I’m hoping to graduate to a cane in a week or two.  My physical therapist says I am doing really well and am “ahead of schedule” with my healing.  I am very fortunate to have Al to help me with stairs, meals, and so much more!!!

Unfortunately Al and I have had to cancel our trip out to the Pacific Northwest.  I feel especially bad for Al because he spent 6 months planning this trip and now instead of going on an adventure he has become a caregiver.  There will be other trips and maybe we can “reschedule” this one.

So, what to do when one has to sit so much?  A lot of sewing and reading!  I had one border for the Hospital Sketches sew along all basted and ready to take on the trip to appliqué in occasional free moments.  Now it is almost done!  (click on pics to enlarge)

Just in the past day I am better enough to spend some time standing at my ironing station making parts for the next border – not for too long and with the walker always handy.  It is good, though, that I can stand for short periods of time without holding onto the walker.  Also I have a basket that attaches to the walker so I can carry some things from place to place.

The other sewing I’ve done is the hand quilting my tessellating whirligigs.  #2 is done with binding on:

Back:

I’m quilting all 3 with simple straight lines.  Will show the other 2 when the quilting is done and the bindings are on.

Today I’m sharing a few more of the silk quilts that were in the exhibit at the NEQM.  First are 2 beautiful quilts by Bethanne Nemesh, followed by 2 by Margaret Solomon Gunn.  These are 2 of the TOP machine quilters in the country – probably the world!!!  They do beautiful work with silk.  Be sure to enlarge pics for the wonderful quilting details.

And finally this lovely quilt:

Be kind, be grateful, and cherish each day,  Gladi

 

21 thoughts on “August 30, 2019: A change of plans!; A few more silk quilts from the NEQM

  1. barbvedder August 30, 2019 / 6:37 pm

    Oh My! how scary. I’m glad it wasn’t worse for you and I’m sorry for your husband. As you say, there will other trips.
    Love your Hospital Sketches!

    • gladiporsche August 31, 2019 / 7:43 pm

      Thanks, Barb. In the overall scheme of things, this is a minor bump in the road! Luckily I have good overall health and a great partner to help me! Gladi

  2. Mrs. Plum August 30, 2019 / 6:57 pm

    Oh, Gladi, i’m So sorry for your accident and cancelled trip! I’m glad you Are on the mend. Thank you for sharing your lovely quilts as well as those from the show.

    • gladiporsche August 31, 2019 / 7:41 pm

      Thank you Mrs. Plum! Gladi

  3. Evelyn Hatch August 30, 2019 / 7:05 pm

    Oh nooo! So sorry but thankful you have an excellent caregiver!
    Love that you’ve added dots/currants to your border. Since I’m using only scraps for my blocks, I still have lots of little options up in the air that hopefully will make it work colorwise. Haven’t decided if I want to add rows of sprouts top and bottom or keep it square. Afraid adding rows will destroy the overall design. We’ll see.
    Stay strong – sounds you’re well ahead of schedule both health wise and for all your quilt projects.

    • gladiporsche August 31, 2019 / 7:37 pm

      Thanks, Evelyn. Al is so good to me – couldn’t do this without him! Are you posting pictures of your HS project on the Facebook page? If so, I have failed to make the name connection with you. Let me know as I’d love to see what yours looks like. Gladi

  4. Marie Tymrak August 30, 2019 / 9:03 pm

    Oh my, oh my…….. I sure hope the healing
    continues and you & Al return quickly
    to your regular activities. As usual, viewing
    your images & thoughtful comments is a
    positive part of my day. These particular
    pictures were sharply defined on my
    phone screen and lovely. Here’s to some lovely days ahead for all of you.

    • gladiporsche August 31, 2019 / 7:33 pm

      Thanks, Marie. I’m sure I will be back to “on my feet” quickly. Glad you enjoyed the pictures. Gladi

  5. Dee August 31, 2019 / 2:01 pm

    I am so sorry to hear of your accident….and your disappointment at having to cancel the trip. Just wanted to let you know how much I have enjoyed your blog over the years. You are indeed a master quilter…..and you make it look so easy! Thanks for all the sharing.

    • gladiporsche August 31, 2019 / 7:29 pm

      Thanks Dee. I’m glad to hear you enjoy the blog! Cancelling the trip is a disappointment, but I am sure I’ll heal and there will be other trips. I’m focusing on the positive! Gladi

  6. Robin August 31, 2019 / 6:59 pm

    So sorry to hear you missed your trip. I’m glad you are on the mend. It could have been so much worse. You were lucky to have all that sewing prepped and read to do while you are spending so much time sitting down. You work is so lovely.

    • gladiporsche August 31, 2019 / 7:26 pm

      Thank you Robin. I am focusing on the positive and have a lot to be grateful for. I’m so happy I have so much appliqué prepped and ready! Gladi

  7. Lin McQuiston September 1, 2019 / 1:01 am

    Gladi, I’m so sorry to hear of your accident and wish you a speedy recovery. Bless your hubby for being so helpful. Your next trip will be something to look forward to. Love your Hospital Sketches. I’m making one too.

    • gladiporsche September 1, 2019 / 4:52 pm

      Thanks Lin. I haven’t been paying really close attention in the Hostpital Sketches posts as to whose work belongs to whom but I know I haven’t seen any that I don’t like! Next time I go to the Facebook page I’ll keep an eye open for yours! Thanks for the well wishes, Gladi

    • gladiporsche September 1, 2019 / 5:03 pm

      Hi Lin. Just went to the Facebook page and found your blocks – fantastic! You are doing a great job with the blue and brown/tan colors and your fussy cutting is amazing!!!!! Gladi

  8. Wendy Coffin September 1, 2019 / 3:28 am

    You sound like you are in good spirits Gladi, but omg 😲how scary. Hard to be laid up & using a walker but fortunate you didn’t hit your head or need surgery. Take it easy, be careful, & get well soon.💐💐💐

  9. gladiporsche September 1, 2019 / 4:48 pm

    Thanks for the well wishes Wendy! You are right – a head injury, hip fracture, or any number of other things could have been worse and I’m grateful that I seem to be doing pretty well at this stage of my recovery. Gladi

  10. Viva September 1, 2019 / 8:02 pm

    I’m so sorry your trip has to be put on hold but I’m VERY glad for you that you don’t need surgery. Wishing you the best.

    As always, thank you for sharing your projects and pictures from quilt shows. I especially love the leaves you’re cutting out, the fabrics you chose make them look like little jewels. So beautiful.

    • gladiporsche September 2, 2019 / 11:55 pm

      Hi Viva – thanks! I’m glad you enjoy my blog. We all love looking at quilts so I try to share as many of the ones I see as I can. I’m confident that I’ll be back to normal soon and I know there will be other trips! Gladi

  11. Laura Lane September 6, 2019 / 2:35 am

    Black-and-white. I’m so sorry to hear about your fall. I hope you have a speedy recovery!

    • gladiporsche September 6, 2019 / 3:54 pm

      Thank you Laura!

Leave a comment